Home » Creativity » Magically Distracting

Magically Distracting

First off:  thanks to everyone who commented on yesterday’s picture, which, if you weren’t aware, was from the movie The Craft, which brought to life the notion that if you wanted to do magic, you needed to be an emo-goth girl and learn how to do the sexy walk in slo-mo.  Most of the comments were to remind me that there was a show with witches on television called Charmed and that I could have showed them some love as well.  Guess what?  I am.  Here they are.

Though it took me a while to find a picture that didn't have them magically keeping their breasts inside their silky tops.  I kid.

Though it took me a while to find a picture that didn’t have them magically keeping their breasts inside their silky tops. I kid.

Actually, I’m pretty sure there are a few witches like these ladies at my fictional school.  You know:  driven women who won’t take crap from anyone once they discover their powers.  And since my school is pretty much a school for young girl run by the Matriarchy, they grow up fully in charge of their lives, ready to not only take on the world, but to reshape it to become a better place.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to write as much as I would have liked last night.  There was a friend who was having a problem, and I was there lending as much of a hand as I could, while I was also conversing with a couple of other people at the same time.  This kept my word count to just under five hundred words, most of which I present to you below:

 

(All excerpts, this page, from The Foundation Chronicles, Book One: A For Advanced, copyright 2013, 2014, by Cassidy Frazee)

In many ways the hall didn’t look much different from a normal Saturday night leading into the Midnight Madness. There was sofas, love seats, chairs, and tables everywhere, though the beds were away for the night. The instructor’s area was, for the most part, missing, and the podium before the fireplace supported a table with a mixer and three computers feeding music to unseen speakers. The center portion of the floor in front of the music podium—an area maybe twelve meters by fifteen—acted as the dance floor, where currently maybe forty students moving to a song Annie didn’t recognize.

Everyone visible was in costume, even the instructor. Annie saw Professor Semplen, wearing some kind of older military uniform complete tall hat and sword, chatting with professor Salomon, who was dressed in something hard and futuristic that Kerry pointed out looked like powered armor. Headmistress Laventure was decked out like a cross between a Victorian lady and a person with mechanical parts. Wednesday and Isis Mossman were dressed casually, almost like high school girls, though Isis—who was now blond instead of her normal brunette—wore a pouch with sharpened stakes around her waist, and Wednesday’s hair was auburn, her top had long, flowing sleeves, and she wore a pentacle necklace. Kerry whispered that he thought they were Buffy and Willow, which meant nothing to Annie, but she thought they did look nice.

They had managed to walk to the far end of the dance floor when they were approached by Nadine, who was wearing a dark pink bodysuit, lighter pink leggings, dark pink boots and gloves, and what looked to Annie to be an incredibly uncomfortable head band. They stopped before each other and spend a few moments looking each other over—though it seemed most of the looking was occurring between Kerry and Nadine.

He was the first to break the silent stalemate. “Having a good time, Wanda?”

Nadine nodded. “As best I can, Captain Tight Pants.” She turned to Annie, a big smile on her face. “Annie, I love that gown. You are simply gorgeous.”

She blushed, because even though she knew she might receive complements, she wasn’t used to hearing them. Even though she knew they were true . . .

Her gown was satin, the color of soft, creamy gold. It was sleeveless with keyhole shoulder pads, and she wore matching fingerless lace gloves on each hand. The gown pulled in slightly at the waist and spread away in a modified semi-tight A line. The original design of the gown has a plunging V line in the front and a scoop back; the back on this gown was normal, which the front dropped only low enough to allow her heart pendant to rest against bare skin. “Thank you, Nadine. I . . .” She leaned against Kerry. “It was all his idea, really.”

 

Yes, she is.  And I hope you picked up on the clues for their costumes.  I’m sneaky that was.  Extra points if you can figure out the Headmistress’ costume.

I’m hoping to get re-energized tonight, to get into the dance an rip off a thousand words.  Then again, I did write up a two thousand word blog post yesterday–that you can find here–so I suppose I can’t be blamed for only getting down five hundred words in my novel.

Dammit, though:  I need to do better there.

7 thoughts on “Magically Distracting

  1. HA. I can brag that last night, I finally beat your wondrously, dedicated, sky high daily word count, LOL. I popped out a surprise 600 and some change on my WIP. Ahem, back to work. :-).

  2. Silky tops be damned–you may kid, but I’m a firm believer in that old phrase, “Let the–um, er–breasts fall where they may.” (I’m sorry for that, but not sorry enough to refrain from clicking “post comment.” See:

    • It’s okay; I know what you mean. There were a lot of promo shots from the show of the women wearing revealing tops, and while I have no problem with this, this being the Internet, I didn’t want to sic Wonka on them because they were offended. :)

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

