Home » Creativity » Conversations in the Bay Redux

Conversations in the Bay Redux

Writing happened again, but so did research, which is just a valuable a component to writing as, well, writing.  Now, I research a lot of different things, but as any of you know who follow this blog–and this ongoing novel–one of the things I love to look up is weather.  Because while this is a magical world in which my kids live, it’s also part of the real world, and sometime I’m a bit of a butt about keeping some events real.

So for the first chapter of Part Five I spent a good chunk of the evening–well, maybe forty minutes–looking up weather conditions for certain parts of Eastern Seaboard while keeping The Beach Boys’ Kokomo on repeat because that’s how I roll.  And what did I discover?

Someone's gonna be cold when they're camping out.

Someone’s gonna be cold when they’re camping out.

That’s the camp site that’ll be used in my Salem Overnight chapter.  And not only will it be cold, but it’s gonna be dark:  sunset at 3:51 PM but the chapter takes place at 8:00 PM.  Yozza.  Actually, most of the flight will take place at night, which is why there are experienced fliers leading the pack.  Hey, no one said you get to set up your tent in bright daylight, and do you know how fast it gets dark in Northern Canada?

But what about the writing, Cassidy?  Well, I did that as well.  I finished the scene and then did my research.  Really simple, yeah?  And here is the simple:  what happened in Bay #1 after my little cliffhanger yesterday.

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

Annie watched carefully from her bed, the covers pulled nearly to her neck. Kerry said nothing for almost a minute, and she thought that perhaps he had only spoken in his sleep. As she started to close her eyes he spoke again in the same, sleepy voice. “No, I don’t want to . . . Just go away; stop following me.” He slowly sighed as the air leaked from his lung, then shook his head quickly. “I don’t know you. Why do you keep asking?”

She pulled back the covers and sat up slowly. He’s not talking in his sleep—he’s dreaming. She swung her legs over the edge and eased her feet into her slipper. It’s the same thing that happened on the flight from Berlin . . .

Annie was standing next to his bed in three short steps. Like last year there was just enough light that she could make out his facial features, and she saw his cheeks and the corner of his mouth twitching while his eyes moved beneath his eyelids. What is he seeing? She touched his hand, wondering if he’d feel her hand against his. Who is he seeing?

Kerry’s breath hitched again: once, twice, then on the time he moaned—not softly, but in a normal voice. “No, I don’t want . . . I don’t want to see that. No—” He turned his head to the right, slightly wincing. “I know what that means—I know, I know . . .” His breath turned to a slight wheeze as he returned to mumbling. “Go away, please. Just go away—” Annie flinched as he screamed. “Go away.”

She couldn’t take any more. Annie squeezed his hand as she leaned close enough that she expected he could hear her whisper. “Kerry. Kerry, darling.” She lightly shook his shoulder. “Wake up. Wake up.”

Kerry’s eyes were open instantly. His vision shifted left and right before he settled on Annie. “Sweetie—” His voice was soft and still possessed a dreamy quality. “What time is class?”

She nearly snorted. I’m not certain he is fully awake— “You were dreaming, my love.”

“I was dreaming.”

“Yes, you were. You were speaking to someone.” She touched his cheek. “Are you all right?”

Kerry seemed to see through Annie. “Should I get up? I have practice in the morning.”

Annie couldn’t help but chuckle softly. “You’re grounded for the week, love.” She touched him on the tip of his nose. “Flying is what got you here.”

He stared vacantly for a few seconds then yawned slowly. “We can go flying this weekend.” His eyes fluttered as his speech grew more slurred. “I was dreaming . . .” Kerry’s eyes closed and a matter of seconds later his slow, measured breath indicated he’d fallen back into deep sleep.

Annie watched him sleep for almost a minutes before she was convinced he wasn’t waking up any time soon. She didn’t know what to make of what she’d just seen: the last time Kerry was disturbed by a dream in this bay, he’d awakened in a state of extreme distress and she’d soothed him back to normalcy.

But that was a far different situation. She gazed down upon his soft, relaxed features. Then he’d faced death for the first time, and the pain and medication began breaking down a barrier of his own makings that affected his subconscious memories and emotions

She kissed the fingers of her right hand and touched them to Kerry’s lips. “Spete dobre, moeto momche dzhindzhifil kosa.” She quickly leaned down and kissed them. “Obicham te mila moya.”

Annie returned to her own bed and was soon under the covers, snug and warm. As her consciousness began to ebb, she focused on her soul mate beside her. I wonder if he’s going to remember his dream this time . . .

Doesn’t get much more simple than that.  Kerry dreams, Annie wakes him up, he is out of it, and they both go back to sleep.  Not a very long scene, but it’s about the same length as the prior scene.  So I have a feeling that this chapter won’t end up being too wordy.

However, I did a little more research, and discovered that last night Act Two passed the novel tipping point:  just over forty thousand words were reached.  Need proof?

Not really, but I'm going to show you anyway.

Not really, but I’m going to show you anyway.

I’m just half way through the penultimate scene, and there’s maybe–hum?  Another ten thousand words to write?  Needless to say, Act Two is gonna be big.  And as I did further checking, Act One clocked in at eighty-one thousand, four hundred words, so this part is half as long as the first act.  And there are, let me see . . . yeah, three parts to go.  Big Act.

Don’t worry:  I think I can top it.

10 thoughts on “Conversations in the Bay Redux

    • It’s also very true. It’s one thing that always seems to get missed in a lot of stories like this, and it’s that the kids really are part of the real world, and they have to interact with it from time to time. Even Annie gets to go into cities and shop every once in a while.

  1. Either it’s the girl in his dreams, the one who told him about Annie, and the one wearing a witch’s garb. I remember I guessed she was his great, great relative who disappeared.

    or it could be the Phoenix.

  2. Geeez, I so want the identities of those two revealed. I did guess Kerrys ancestor and The Phoenix are one and the same.

    I hope Annie asks him about the dream. They are so into dreams I cannot even imagine Annie ignoring that. Guess what, I’m sure Kerry won’t remember. And the mystery goes on.

    By the way, do you have plans of writing about the massacre at Salem ? Like, why they didn’t see it coming , how the leaders managed to convince some students to do the deed, and what were the motives ? The motive must have been so diabolical the perpetrators almost decimated the student population. How come no one had an inkling of what was about to happen ?

    • Did you guess that? Only I know for sure, and . . . well, I guess you find out in the D Level novel.

      “Guess what, I’m sure Kerry won’t remember.” Ummmm . . . maybe. But Annie will ask. She asked him on the flight over, and she’s sure it’s the same dream.

      I already did write “The Scouring.” I did that during Camp NaNo, 2013. 53,000 words, and you get to see Jessica, Erywin, Maddie, Ellison, and Ramona as instructors, and Isis, Wednesday, and Deanna as students. Coraline and Helena put in cameos at the end.

      As for the reasons it happened: Helena spoke a little about that being The Foundation got to complacent thinking they had the Deconstructors on the run, and they didn’t see they were getting burned from the inside by moles. In one of the later books you’ll see where the Deconstructors came from, too.

  3. Yes, I do remember a bit. Someone did a shadow something, Erywin ? Okay, I’ll reread that. That’s the title, right ?

    Yes, I remember Helena was worried about the site of the venue… The twin Towers. She said it was too open.

    But there was another massacre incident that happened in April, right ? I t was a different one from the Scouring. These two are already overlapping in my mind.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

