Home » Creativity » Somnolence at the Bequest

Somnolence at the Bequest

There are more than a few things going on in my life at the moment, and depression is one of them.  It’s been weighing sort of heavy on me the last couple of weeks, and yesterday, after returning from work, it was on of the first times that I fell asleep in my recliner for about thirty minutes, and when I awoke I sort of lay there staring out the window for another twenty minutes.  Really sucky, let me tell you.

And when that happens in your life, it’s sort of hard to kick start the writing engine and get your butt in gear.  Last night I had a bit of cleanup work to do, changing what I knew to be an incorrect work into the correct phrase.  How long does something like that take?  Well, I went through a seven minute song twice before I’d completed the task, so there you are.  Then I set about changing the names of some of the scene in Chapter Fifteen, because after a while they aren’t making any sense, so you gotta switch thing up, right?

And you try to come up with something that seems a little more realistic for your fantasy world.

And you try to come up with something that seems a little more realistic for your fantasy world.

That was done and out of the way.

As you can probably see if you’re examining the above graphic, I didn’t write a lot.  In fact, this scene is short, really short.  Probably not the shortest I’ve ever written for a story–in my story Echoes there is a chapter that runs right around seven hundred and fifty words–but this has to be one of the shortest scenes ever written in this series.  But, you know, that’s okay, because you write what’s needed and move on.

And what is happening?  Annie’s trying to dreamwalk.  Let me tell you, when you’re trying to image how something that’s never happened before in real life actually works, it’s a pain in the butt.  That’s one of the reasons one, it took me about two hours to write five hundred and twenty words, and two, why the scene is so short.  What is there to say?  You imagine how Annie is crafting the spell and you put that down in the document.

Simple.  Kinda.

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

She understood the concept: in order to dreamwalk one needed to place themselves in a proper meditative state of mind and then, visualizing their surroundings within the dream realm, use magic to fall asleep and transport their consciousness to this tiny subsection of the Astral Realm.

Like all magic the process, as described, appeared simple. The practice was something completely different. Not only was Annie trying to perform magic designed to make her fall into sleep, but she was attempting to project her magical essence into a realm which she’d never seen. She’d read a much as possible about the Astral Realm, but imagining herself there was difficult, and it was one of the reasons Dreamwalking wasn’t taught until students were at least D Levels and had found some success with Astral Projection.

Only Annie had never performed Astral Projection, so trying to craft the spell for something she’d never seen made visualization that much more difficult. Not that this dissuaded her from doing her best . . .

 

Yepper Prepper, Annie doing her best is usually a hell of a lot better than nearly everyone else at school.  After all, she’s a very methodical girl . . .

 

She took one final breath and held it for a few seconds before releasing it, purging it and her thoughts from her body. Annie’s eyes shifted behind now-closed lids as she concentrated her willpower upon the image and sensations in her mind. As her body relaxed she wrapped her willpower around the other two elements of her spell and pushed with the last remnants of her consciousness mind as she slipped away into peaceful sleep . . .

 

And where does this lead us?  Well . . .

Here perhaps?

Here perhaps?

The first image has most of the answers.

It’s like searching for something in a dream, let me tell you.

16 thoughts on “Somnolence at the Bequest

  1. +-Its exactly 3 AM. G’morning, Cassie.

    This is a very intriguing scene. I’m so eager to know what happens.

    Been busy these past few weeks. That’s why I;m in early morning mode again.

  2. The scary thing is the image you used kind of describes the way I described magic and learning to use it in another novel I wrote. A boy, transported to another world, discovered he had empathy and could use it to pinpoint dragon riders, but… Wow… That image is perfect for the mind and how magic connects. 🙂

    Glad to see we got to see another excerpt. 😉 I hope you’re feeling better. What song did you listen to that was 7 minutes long. The only thing I can think of that’s remotely close is by Genesis. I have listened to “Mama” on repeat on many an occasion. Probably will again soon. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    • There are several Genesis songs that are seven minutes and longer. You have “Tonight, Tonight” and “In the Heat of the Night/Domino”; “Mama”, like you said, but the “Home by the Sea” suite is just over ten minutes if you do both songs; “Burning Rope” is just under seven minutes long. And then, in the old catalog, “Cinema Show” for sure, “Unquiet Slumbers/In This Quiet Earth/Afterglow” is over ten minutes when all put together; “Eleventh Earl of Mar” is over seven; and, for sure, “Supper’s Ready,” which is twenty-two minutes long. If you listen to “The Duke Suite” from “Duke”, which Genesis performed live during that tour, that clocks in at twenty-seven minutes long. (How does Kerry know all these songs? Now you know.)

      But the song I was listening to was the original 12 inch version of Simple Mind’s “Don’t You Forget About Me,” which is actually just over six and a half minutes, but I swear the video on YouTube says a little over seven minutes. I’m going with what I said. 🙂

      It’s interesting to put magic together in this series, because it’s all on the user; there’s none of this, “You got a bad wand” foolishness. You either can or you can’t. And depending on a variety of factors, you may be able to do a lot of crazy magic long before you should–just like my kids. I mean, if you want to see how Annie and Kerry are so advanced, look at Annie: she’s full of determination and, yes, willpower–and that last is what’s needed to make everything work. And she so wants this to work . . .

  3. I don’t know about you, but when I am looking out the window, I keep hoping to find an answer out there. Something that will explain why. But so far, I haven’t found it yet. I keep searching though. Keep moving forward Cassidy. It’s all we can do.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

