Home » Creativity » Off Into the Wild Black Yonder

Off Into the Wild Black Yonder

Yesterday I was in the middle of relaxing mood, and I was doing my best not to stress out my left shoulder, which was acting up again.  This coming weekend, for sure, I’m going to get a new chair; I think that will go a long ways towards helping the pain.

I also needed to save up the shoulder ’cause I knew I’d write about a thousand words during note taking for my recap, and that helped because I wasn’t in any for the most part.  But it’s still bothering me a bit, and I do believe I stressed something out bad there, ’cause even now I feel a little twinge while typing.  Maybe a heating pad would be a good investment as well.

I did manage to get almost six hundred words out–well, five hundred sixty, allow me this little fib–and it’s a bit of on-site recollecting:

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

Kerry waved his hand in the direction of one of the camp fires and crafted a spell to pull oxygen away from the flames and smother them, which was far better than dumping water and using up fluids that could be needed later. It didn’t matter that there was a lake only a dozen meters away: Kerry not only knew it was easier to use magic to put out a fire, but he didn’t feel like filling up a container and bring it back to do the job he was now performing with the wave of his hand.

He looked up through the slight gap in the trees seeing if the stars were out. At the moment there was nothing but overcast, something they were told to expect after twenty-one. It was like this when they left the school: cloudy, dark, and growing colder.

He tidied up a few things and stored what little trash there was in a lock bag that he’d stuff in his backpack before heading off to bed. Kerry adjusted the collar of his flying jacket as the cold once more encroached upon the campsite as his mind drifted back to their flight north—

They departed the school at seventeen-thirty sharp, as they were told in the briefing. As they flew beyond the school walls the weather was mostly cloudy and was already a degree below zero Celsius, but rain wasn’t in the forecast, and the only winds they needed worry about were the ones they’d produce on their two hour flight to Baxter State Park in Central Maine.

While he’d flown at night around the school, and during his A Levels the Beginning Flight class had taken a couple of Monday night flights to get them used to being on a broom in the dark, this was the first time he’d take a long flight in full darkness. Besides the eight flight teams of Advanced Flight One, Vicky was leading the team with held from Erywin, and they were being assisted by Nadine and Rivânia Suassuna, both from Advanced Spells and racing.

They followed I-95 north, keeping the highway below and the Atlantic to their right. They didn’t exactly fly one team after the other, front to back, but rather kept their teams in a loose grouping more like a flattened sphere kept ringed in by the two instructors and their minions.  Upon reaching Lewiston, Maine, the interstate shifted a bit to the east, and they paralleled the road until passing Palmyra, where they kept going straight as I-95 turned right on its way to Bangor, and they entered the area south of Baxter State Park and Mount Katahdin known at the 100 Mile Wilderness. Soon the distant glow of Bangor faded into the distance, and darkness enveloped them.

Kerry kept Emma close on his right and they chatted a little as they braced themselves against the wind chill they created. There were enchantments on the broom to keep nearly all the wind from hitting them, but they were still flying in the open, and the colder air that surrounded them pressed against them. They were still amazed they were out flying into a night time wilderness, and that excitement kept the cold away, but it was there just enough to remind Kerry that when they flew the Polar Express, the chill they felt now would be far worse.

Just west of Millinocket they turned nearly due north as they skirted the eastern border of Baxter State Park and Mount Katahdin.

 

Yes, I did just end right there with “and Mount Katahdin.”  Why?  Because I was really trying to hit my goal for the day, and that was my next milestone in my story.  As you can see . . .

Because I see to record everything.

Because I see to record everything.

The “they” right after Millinocket is word one hundred forty thousand.  I wanted to hit it to keep my ten thousand every two weeks streak going, and I just did.  Thank you, Saturday morning!

With the image above you can see a little of the map behind the Scrivener program, as I was using it to make sure I had my route down.  You can also see notes on the right, and so what is all this team stuff?  Well, I figured if I have a team for Emma and Kerry, then I should have one for everyone, and that also took up a bit of time.  Also, teams indicate sleeping arrangments, because those who wingmate together sleep together.  And so we have–

 

Sleeping arrangements:

Team Myfanwy (pronounced “muh-van-wee”)
Kerry Malibey, Cernunnos
Emma Nielson, Mórrígan

Team Sulaco
Mesha Tomasko, Ceridwen
Daudi Gueye, Åsgårdsreia

Team Azso
Sutou Takara, Ceridwen
Elisha Tasköprülüzâde, Åsgårdsreia

Team Arafura
Edelmar Brodney, Blodeuwedd
Fidele Diaz, Blodeuwedd

Team Zanzibar
Shauntia Okoro, Åsgårdsreia
Shadha Kanaan, Ceridwen

Team Castle Book
Dariga Dulatuli, Åsgårdsreia
Loorea Barling, Ceridwen

Team Picante
Kalindi Kartodirdjo, Mórrígan
Felisa Ledesma, Blodeuwedd

Team Manga
Franky Smith, Ceridwen
Koyanagi Jiro, Ceridwen

Minions and Instructors
Nadine and Rivânia
Victoria and Erywin

 

Pretty simple, I’d say.

Tonight I get electrolysis, but I will attempt to write as much of the scene as I can when I get home, because there are things that need writing.  By the time this scene is over they will have covered the ground on this map:

Because you know I have them.

Because you know I have them.

And you may just find out a little more about what they did in the air . . .

 

10 thoughts on “Off Into the Wild Black Yonder

    • Everyone thinks Emma gonna try something. They don’t have time for that. However, since they are the *only* co-ed tent, the few guys along–a couple of whom have indicated they kind of resent Kerry–are like to either be jealous of him, or just talk shit. If they do the later, they better do it out of earshot of Annie.

      • I don’t really think they’ll have time either. I also think she’s still pondering everything she’s learned about Annie and Kerry’s relationship of late. If she’s going to try something again, she’s got to get smart about how she does it, and so… if she wants to do anything… she’ll spend more time planning it out – like she did when she trapped Kerry in the hall and kissed him the first time.

        Still, I can see how the others are jealous or even resent him. He is one of the “teacher’s pets” after all, and he’s a damn good flier. Even if they are talking shit, I don’t see Annie outright calling them out on it. She’s matured a bit, and she might let Kerry handle it his own way.

        • She fools around with Kerry, or tries to, and Annie *will* have that private talk with her, and it *won’t* be pleasant. There are no other warnings, ’cause Annie doesn’t play that game. Annie wouldn’t say anything about the others. She knows if it gets too bad, Kerry will just call them out and beat them up when they get back to the school. She’s sure he can handle himself.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

