Home » Personal » Fear the Walking Dead, Season 1, Episode 4: “Not Fade Away”

Fear the Walking Dead, Season 1, Episode 4: “Not Fade Away”

The recap is up!

Rachel Tsoumbakos

Jamie McShane as Lt. Moyers and Cliff Curtis as Travis - Fear The Walking Dead _ Season 1, Episode 4 - Photo Credit: Justina Mintz/AMC

Welcome to the Occupation.  You’re safe: would we lie?

Nick resting on a pool float and Travis is out jogging like it’s no big deal, and Lou Reed reminds us of what’s going on:

Just a perfect day
Problems all left alone
Weekenders on our own
It’s such fun

But it isn’t, really. The military is present, there’s a patrolled fence, supplies coming in from somewhere, we’re told in voice over it’s been nine days since the power went out, and we can see smoke rising from over a hill, probably something in downtown L.A. still burning. While we watch someone who looks like Carl Grimes enter the neighborhood—and, man, is he really out of the house!—Chris sits on the roof of his house with a video camera and thinks he sees someone signaling in the distance from the “dead zone”, but we know that can’t be true because…

View original post 1,843 more words

6 thoughts on “Fear the Walking Dead, Season 1, Episode 4: “Not Fade Away”

  1. I just wanted to say a couple of things. One: I’m wondering how you’re doing, as my depressive fog is beginning to lift, and was hoping that things were moving in the right direction for you.
    Two: I can’t help thinking about you because it’s Wednesday, and that’s Panera day. AND there is now a Panera near the university where I teach, so I come here on Wednesday, just at the other end of the day. Being here trying to get focused on my writing makes me think of you.
    And it’s more than two, but it’s sort of related. Three: do you ever encounter that person at Panera who can’t seem to talk to the person across from her at the table without somehow broadcasting to the whole section of the restaurant? 🙂
    Hope things are going well.

    • One, I’m doing better. The depression is lifting bit by bit, and it’s not as debilitating as before.

      Two, I haven’t actually been out to Panera of late to write, though I should get back into that habit.

      Three, no, I haven’t encountered that sort of person. Few people, if ever, speak to me at Panera.

      • These aren’t people who speak to me. These are people who speak to someone else at their own table, but speak loudly enough that they may as well be speaking to me. 🙂

        I’m glad the depression is lifting. I’m finding the same thing for mine. Thankfully.

        I’ve only done Panera two Wednesday mornings so far, but I’m thinking it’s going to be an ongoing thing. Other than the woman who liked to make sure everyone else could tell how important she is, it’s quite conducive for my focus. 🙂

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

