Home » Creativity » The Dream Annalists: The Hiding

The Dream Annalists: The Hiding

First off let’s get this out of the way:  there wasn’t a lot of writing yesterday.  Why?  Because I had a major bobble on a program that I thought was right, it bobbled the schedule a little, and that led to a talk where . . . let’s just say the stress and depression of the last couple of months caught up with me and I had a major breakdown at work.  Like, you know, the sort of breakdown that happens in front of people.  It wasn’t pleasant and it wasn’t pretty.  I managed to get things corrected, but still:  it wasn’t a good moment for me, and I was still way down in the depression dumps when I arrived home.

On top of that I needed to run out and mail a few things so by the time I actually got back home and was ready to write, my window was small due to needing to get off the computer by ten to watch Fargo.  Put all this together and not a lot ended up on the page.

"Wasn't it about now I was supposed to be independently wealthy and have all this behind me?"

“Wasn’t it about now I was supposed to be independently wealthy and have all this behind me?”

But . . . a little something was noticed in the story.  It seems there has been a bit of hiding going on . . .

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

What?” Annie couldn’t keep her surprise hidden. “Are you sure?”

“Yeah.” Kerry didn’t need to give it much thought. “It was the night before my first Red Line race.”

“I remember that day—” Deanna looked out of the corner of her eye in Annie’s direction. “And so should you.”

“I do.” Annie couldn’t forget that day, for that morning she visited Deanna to discuss her first successful dreamwalking experience. And to also see something special about Kerry and I . . . But something else returned to her memory. “’It won’t be much longer’.”

Kerry sat up as if poked. “That’s what she said.”

Annie nodded. “I know: I heard it.”

 

Let’s remember that while Kerry knew Annie was trying to dreamwalk him–she’d told him so in a couple of her letters–she didn’t tell him she was trying at school, and she never mentioned this attempt–until now.  Nor did Annie mention the video she watched with Deanna, but that’s another story.  Needed less to say she heard a snippet of this conversation, and decided not to tell Kerry–though I expect Deanna had something to do with that decision.

Ah, but let’s get a little further down this conversation–

 

“How?”

“I dreamwalked you that night, but I was unable to get into your dreamspace.” Annie reached over and took Kerry’s hand in hers. “I didn’t tell you, either. But I did go and see Deanna about what happened.”

The seer nodded. “Yes, we had an interesting conversation.”

Kerry turned to Annie, then glanced at Deanna. “Oh—” She returned Annie’s hand squeeze. “Okay.”

“You’re not upset?”

“Naw.” He chuckled as he shrugged. “I guess we both kept it from each other.”

Annie was aware there was more than just her aborted dreamwalk and what she heard that she’d kept from her love, but now wasn’t the time to bring it out. “It would seem so, my love.”

“Now that we have that out of the way—” Deanna was eager to get the discussion back on track. “What happens in these dreams?”

“The first few times we’d talk.” Kerry didn’t look away from anyone as gave his explanation. “She’d tell me stuff like I knew her, and that I needed to understand her—one of the things she’d tell me, at least in the first couple of dreams, is that I held her life in my hands.”

“Really?” Coraline glanced at Deanna. “Damn strange thing to say in a dream.”

“Even more so in more than one.” Deanna tugged at her sweater, adjusting it. “What else did she say?”

“She’d ask me stuff like how I was feeling, had I thought about what we’d talked about in the last dream . . .” He turned towards the girl on his left. “She’d ask about Annie, too.”

Coraline perked up once more. “What did she say?”

“Uh, huh. She’d, um . . .” He looked away from everyone at the table for a second, then refocused on Annie. “It was the third dream, when I was in the hospital, that she started asking about how much I’d said to Annie about the dreams, and that—” He broke eye contact and looked down as his lap.

Annie gave his hand another squeeze. “What did she want to know?”

He let out a faint breath and he faced her. “She said it was only a matter of time before you met, and that she wanted to be ready for you.”

“We did meet—” Annie twisted her face around into a vicious smirk. “Apparently she wasn’t ready.”

 

Okay, then . . . the girl in Kerry’s dream knew she was going to meet Annie and she wanted to be ready.  And when they did meet, Annie got a Kick Out and told that it was way too soon.  Which raises the curiosity factor a little more each time as to what is going on here.

I’m feeling better this morning, which means I should be able to get into the story more tonight, and maybe even finish off this scene.  Because there’s still some good things to come, even in this mess–

19 thoughts on “The Dream Annalists: The Hiding

  1. The heck ! Kerry’s Mom ?
    It’s 3:20 AM right now….. I fell asleep in the couch watching The 7 Deadly Sins, a Netflix Original Anime.

    Anyways….. I’m getting confused now. These new info about Deanna and Annie watching keryy on video while sleeps is not mentioned in any of the exerpts.

    Can you give me a short summary of what transpired here ? Please ?

    • Where do you see Kerry’s mom?

      And the video Annie is think of is when she went and saw Deanna after the first time she dreamwalked Kerry. I gave you all the information in this blurb; do a search on Sabrina and you’ll find the post.

      • Okay, I read the Sabrina part. I’m surprised There weren’t any comments from me. I think that was the time I was real busy, and read your stuff real quick, and nothing actually registered. I thought that merging auras was rather important, and I didn’t make any comment.

        And my comment above… it’s clear I was half asleep. I don’t know why I wrote about Kerry’s mom. LOL

        Well, I guess the merging auras, nd the dreams and visions just prove they are totally and absolutely connected as one.

        Now why did Deanna show that ?

          • I know why Annie wanted to see Deanna. She tried going to Kerry’s dreamspace. At that point, she actually didn’t know how to, but she did manage o get close enough that she heard a bit of what the girl , ( I assume carrot girl ) was saying. ” Is it her ?Is it that girl? ” ” It’s almost time…. ” Or, ” The time is near….”

            I have some speculations swirling on my mind, but I don’t think I’ll write them out here.

            And I’m surprised Deanna knew Annie would come to see her. And why did she show their merging auras.

            maybe that’s to reassure Annie not to worry about any girl, ha ha.

            That said, who is carrot Girl, really? In Kerry’s first dream with that girl in it, she was quite positive about Annie…. but here, she was like, Is it that girl ? Is it her ? ” The tone is accusing. And also, it seems Kerry already knows what the dream is all about.

          • You’re surprised Deanna knew Annie would come and see her? Like the other times the kids would walk in Memory’s End and before they’d say something Deanna would tell them to join her? 😉

  2. Erm… Now I’m really curious about who the Carrot Girl is. I hope it’s not another Soul Mate possibility. I wonder why her life is in his hands and how come she kicked Annie out if she’s been preparing to meet her. GAH!!! So many questions! I’ll figure it all out some day…

        • Do you remember Kerry’s great relative who left kerry almost half a million Euros ? She’s supposed to be deceased, and she disappeared from family because she didn’t age like a normal person. He was a wtch, of course, and I assume , had red hair green eyes,like Kerry’s mother and Kerry. In his first dream, Carrot girl wore a witch’sgarb, ( I remember , she even wore the pointy hat ), then in second dream, she wore T-shirt and jeans, and when I read that, I thought she was wearing Kerry’s T-shirt. She was very positive about Annie….. so it confuses me now that she seems to have changed her tone. ” Is it that girl ? Is it her ? ” The tone was somewhat hostile. She knows Annie’s name, so calling her ” that girl ” sounds hostile.

          • Very true. I don’t what to think. It will be interesting to see it all play out.

            The hostility can be explained I guess. If Carrot girl is a past relative who doesn’t age, it’s possible she’s old – like… really old – and has dementia, so while she’s receptive of Annie at first, could feel hostility another time. Actually, that could just be a bi-polar issue too. Hmm… It could be a number of things really.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

