Home » Creativity » A Kind of Magic

A Kind of Magic

When the time comes I’m want to say, “Chapter So-and-So is history,” and that’s pretty much a given with Chapter Twenty-One.  I finished it last night about the time that I was down to T-minus thirty minutes before the last episode of The Walking Dead aired for 2015.  When I finished up writing last night, I discovered that my writing for the day produced one thousand, two hundred and thirty-four words, or 1,234 words, which is the first time that particular number combination has happened to me.

Here is the hello-goodbye image of Scrivener:

Hello Chapter Twenty-Two; goodbye Chapter Twenty-One.,

Hello Chapter Twenty-Two; goodbye Chapter Twenty-One.

And Chapter Twenty-Two doesn’t take place over a long period of time.  The first scene is a few days after the events shown before; and the second, third, and fourth come the following week.  But before I can get into those, I have to show you what happened on the rest of the walk to the tower.  And it’s good–

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

Annie turned to face Kerry. “She has you helping her, yes?”

Kerry took a moment before answering. “Yes.”

“Then she has nothing to fear, my love.” She traced small patterns in the skin under Kerry’s neck. “Just don’t show her anything more complicated that those spells.”

“Not a chance.” Kerry waved open the door to the coven tower’s lower levels. “You saw how she was in Sorcery last week; I don’t think I could ever teach her how to do a Morte spell.”

 

Right here Kerry pretty much puts the slam on his wingmate, and we gather that (1) Emma was a bit freaked out by trying to zap zombies, and (2) Kerry doesn’t think much of the idea of trying to level her up as a sorceress.  Think there was any chance Emma was gasping when Annie bled out her homunculus?  Ummm . . . probably.  But right here is confirmation that Kerry ain’t helping her with death spells unless he’s ordered.

Now they’re back in their tower–what next?

 

While the coven towers were always quiet after midnight, their lower levels were notorious for being eerily silent. They made their way through the bowels of the tower towards the stairs leading to the ground floor and were almost there when Annie brought Kerry to a halt. “Come here.” She tugged Kerry a few meters down a short corridor and stopped him before a door. “I want to go inside.”

Kerry opened the door and commanded the lights on inside their private lab as he led Annie inside. The door whisper closed behind them while they stood the small space that was given to them last year so they’d have a place to practice common spells without distractions. “We haven’t been here in a while.”

“No, we haven’t, my love.” Annie disengaged herself from Kerry and made her way to the sofa. “Please sit and keep me warm, moyata srodna dusha.”

Kerry joined her and slid back against the sofa arm so Annie could rest against him. “It’s nice having these late night moments.”

“Especially as we don’t have class tomorrow.” She touched his chin. “Just racing in the cold.”

“Yeah, well, I knew that was going to happen.” He raised her hand so he could kiss her fingers. “Did you speak with Helena while I was in class?”

“Yes, I did.”

“What did she say?”

“That she understood what happened to you during class the other day was a one-time thing—” She snuggled against Kerry’s body, getting comfortable. “She agreed with me that she doesn’t see this as a problem.”

“Good.” He wrapped his arms around Annie. “Because it won’t.”

 

Annie had her discussion that Kerry knew was coming, and it’s no biggie:  the Mistress of All Things Dark is sure Annie’s right, and there isn’t anything that going to cause Kerry any issues in the field–the next time they’re in the field, that is.  Which they’ve been promised won’t happen this year.

Now that Annie’s getting all cozy, what next?  Well . . .

 

“I know it won’t.” She held out her left arm and a second later the comforter and pillows they’d requested last winter and kept set in the corner of the lap floated towards her. She pulled a pillow out of mid-air and handed to Kerry while she spread the comforter over them. Once they were covered and comfortable she ordered the lights into into night mode, throwing them into darkness with just indirect illumination to keep the room from becoming pitch dark.

Annie slid up until her head was on the pillow and she was face-to-face with Kerry. “There, my love: right where I want you.”

“I figured that was what you had in mind when we came here.” They embraced for almost ten seconds, their thoughts on each other as they once again grew warm under their comforter. “I didn’t think you wanted to do spells.”

“Oh, you never know—” Annie giggled coyly. “Maybe I wanted to do magic.”

Kerry kissed the tip of her nose. “That special kind of magic?”

“One day; I’m not ready for that yet.” She lightly brushed his lips with hers. “But I do want to sleep with you, my love. I want you to keep me warm.”

He was aware they were once more skirting with danger by doing something that would likely get their detention if they were caught, but he wanted to sleep next to Annie as much as she wanted to spend the evening with him. “I can’t say no to you, Sweetie.”

“I know, my love.” She twisted around so her back was pressed against Kerry. “We’ll be back up to our rooms before anyone knows.”

“Um, hum.” He draped his left arm over Annie. “Months almost over. One down, four to go.”

“Don’t think about that—think about our time together.” She closed her eyes and exhaled slow and content. “Think about me; think about us. Think of our love.” She smiled as she took her own advice. “There is nothing but good ahead of us, my love. Nothing but good.”

 

These two:  they should get a room.  Oh, wait–They Did!  But, still:  they’re still a lovely couple, and they know being together, like this, is all they need.  Besides, Annie says no to the special magic, and that means Kerry will agree because he can’t say no to her.  One of these days these kids are gonna get caught, but since it appears that all just about everyone knows they’re sneaking off to have a private moment together now and then, maybe no one is a hurry to catch them–

So, nothing but good ahead of them–

Yeah, Annie, about that . . .

2 thoughts on “A Kind of Magic

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

