Home » Creativity » Beyond Because

Beyond Because

First off, Happy Solstice, first day of winter, shortest day of the year.  Around here that happened about twenty minutes before midnight, or twenty-three forty-two, as my kids would say.  But winter is here, so we’re ready for all that comes with that–

Any moment the winter wonderland I've promised every year should pop up.

Any moment the winter wonderland I’ve promised every year should pop up.

However, it’s raining like hell outside right now, and will throughout the morning.  Because it’s 44 F/7 C outside right now, and it’ll get up to about 60 F/15 C by midday.  I blame my witches.  They’re probably behind this.

Speaking of those little rascals, they didn’t get a lot of page time last night, but there were good reasons.  First, I had to work, then came home and took a very short nap before heading out to get my nose re-pierced.  After that happened I ran over to buy my weekly food supply, and then stopped off at Panera to finally get dinner.  By the time I returned home it was inching towards eight-thirty, and I was tired and dealing with a brain full of mush.

I did have time to snap a couple of pictures, however.  Um, yay?

I did have time to snap a couple of pictures, however. Um, yay?

What eventually happened was I managed to rip off three hundred and forty words before deciding I wasn’t really going to get much most than that down, because my fingers weren’t working real well, and most of the time I was back spacing to fix something I messed up.  That happened, right?  Sure does.

What did come out is a section where Kerry and Helena begin their dialog, and we discover why he’s there . . .

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015 by Cassidy Frazee)

Helena motioned him forward. “Certainly.” She waved the door closed the when Kerry was about half-way to her desk. “What’s up?”

“Oh, you know.” He looked down again, shaking his head. “I just thought . . .”

She didn’t have to play Twenty Questions with this boy: Helena saw there was something on his mind. “Come here and sit down.” She waited for him to unzip and hang up his coat and sit before going on. “You want something to drink? I’ve got water, but I can order something from the kitchen.”

“Naw, I’m good.” He looked around the office like he was there for the first time. “I think this is the first time we’ve ever been alone.”

“You’re right.” Helena sat in her chair and smiled back at the boy sitting across from her. “Normally it’s your significant other sitting in your seat.”

“That’s sort of why I’m here without her—”

Helena leaned forward against her desk. “What’s bothering you?”

“I—” He shrugged. “I don’t know, just feels like there’s some strange stuff going on in my life of late.” He sighed, seeming to fold in upon himself for a few seconds before sitting up straight. “Last month, when we did puppeteering for the first time, you did the big snap on us—”

“I remember that.”

“When I was over I asked if that’s what dying’s like—”

“I remember that, too.” Helena nodded slowly. “I told you it wasn’t.”

“You said it was a lot easier.”

Helena sat back in her chair and folded her arms across her torso. “I remember saying that, yeah.”

Kerry inverted his gaze as he asked his next question. “You know that for a fact?”

Helena said nothing for almost fifteen seconds. She was fully aware of what Kerry wanted to know, and she was also aware of what he ultimately interested in hearing. “I do.” She relaxed, trying to put him at ease. “You want to know if I’ve died before, don’t you?”

Kerry waited nearly five seconds before giving his simply reply. “Yes.”

 

Let’s talk about death, shall we?  That’s exactly what’s going to happen, and once they start, you’re going to learn a few things about this world that you may not have expected . . .

3 thoughts on “Beyond Because

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

