Home » Creativity » The Night Air: Enter Madness

The Night Air: Enter Madness

There are a lot of things happening this morning, but most of them seem to involve getting ready for work.  Which sort of sucks ’cause it feels as if the weekends have come and gone and I did nothing worth while the entire time.  Let’s hope there isn’t as much of that in 2016.

Last night I finally decided on something I’ve wanted to do for a while.  As soon as I’m finished with this current novel, I’m going to take a break and edit another novel I wrote back in 2012.  That story would be Suggestive Amusements, and since finishing I haven’t done anything at all with the work–which is a shame because I loved writing the work and enjoyed the characters.  While I’ve discussed the work here on the blog, I’ve never shown it, but that’s going to change.  I think I’ll do my edits and then put out each chapter, one at a time, for all to read.  Whether it’ll ever get published is hard to say, but I feel it needs to see the light of day.

Which is something I can say for all my stuff, yeah?

Yes, walk towards the light, little novel, and let everyone get a good look at you.

Yes, walk towards the light, little novel, and let everyone get a good look at you.

After yesterday’s huge scene dump I didn’t write much at all at night.  A few hundred words leading up to something that I’ve seen in my head for a long time, so not a lot happening here, but tonight–oh, man, I hope I can get out what I want to get out the way I want it down on paper.  I’ll probably suffer over this a lot tonight.

But that’s tonight; here’s last night:

 

All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

“Have they come back?”

“No.” He looked down at the dark field below. “Least not that I can remember.”

Annie didn’t want to appear worried, and in the darkness around them she was confident nothing would show either on her face or in her eyes. While she could hide her feelings from the instructors and even her parents, she suspected that Kerry had figured out how to read her feelings. Perhaps not a great deal, but enough . . .

She slid so she hover sat facing him. She took his hand and held it against her tummy. “I don’t want to sound as if I’m nagging, my love, but—”

“I would tell you if they were happening—” He swallowed before raising his head so he could see Annie. “I promised I would.”

“I know you did, my love.” She floated so she could stretch her legs to the side, away from Kerry’s broom, and still look him in the eyes. “I know you would never lie to me. But you told me once you worry about me, and I need you need to understand—” She held his hand under her chin. “I worry about you more. It’s something I can’t ever stop.”

Kerry stared back, a faint smile playing over his face. Annie didn’t know if he was happy, stunned, or amazed: for the first time in a long while she found him impossible to read. She was about to ask him what he was thinking when the last song ended and the tablet shuffled to the next—

The moment the first notes started his faint smile grew wide. “Ah, Madness.” He laughed aloud. “Just like we’re back in Berlin.”

 

As you can see, not a lot, but it’s leading up to something.  And if you remember Berlin–which seems like so long ago–you may know where this is going in a small way.  As I like to say, all I need to do now is take you there.  Which I should be able to do tonight.

After all, it’s not like I’m floating around in a ball park somewhere in the middle of February with a girl at my side.

That would be madness.

One thought on “The Night Air: Enter Madness

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

