Home » Creativity » My Own Private Polar Express

My Own Private Polar Express

Here I am, right in the middle of this big storm hitting the East Coast.  It’s all people at work have discussed for the last week, and there’s a good possibility that I’ll likely be the only one in the office come Monday morning.  But for right now . . . well, it’s like I’m in The Polar Express.

We all know about The Polar Express.  It’s the weekend survival flight the Advanced Flight Two students go on if they want, and most want.  I’ve already written that Penny and Alex did theirs, and it’s a good certainty that Emma and Kerry will do theirs.  They’ll get jaunted off to somewhere in Canada, and using just simple maps compasses, they’ll fly back to the school.  They have camping gear and some food, but they’ll also have cold and snow.  Tons of fun, right?  Well, the kids who have thought about this for two and a half years do.

Last night I walked home from dinner, loving the snow as it fell, then grabbed my camera and headed out to get pictures.  While I have photos at various points along the walk. most are taken at the Capitol Building, which is like five blocks from my apartment.  And when these were taking, maybe an inch had fallen and things weren’t too messy.

Walking up towards Capitol Park.

Walking up towards Capitol Park.

 

And into the park.

And into the park.

 

Pine St Presbyterian Church, across Third Street from the Capitol.

Pine St Presbyterian Church, across Third Street from the Capitol.

These are up in front of the Capitol Building.  I walk this way to work every day.

Walking in from the south.

Walking in from the south.

 

Close to the main entrance showing the dome.

Close to the main entrance showing the dome.

 

Down the main steps looking north up Third Street.

Down the main steps looking north up Third Street.

But of course I got pictures of myself.

Yeah, just stand off there--

Yeah, just stand over there–

 

Now a little closer--

Now a little closer–

 

And I'm ready for my close up

And I’m ready for my close up

So I went to bed just a little tipsy ’cause I’d been drinking, and when I woke up this morning this is what I saw:

Looking north up Second.

Looking north up Second.

 

And south.

And south.

Everything was pretty much hell outside.  I’d promised that I’d go back this morning and get pictures, and I did.  But . . . it was a mess.  During the evening about eight to ten inches dropped on the city, and the sidewalks weren’t cleared at all.  Most of the roads were clear, but there wasn’t anyone out, and walking in the road was the only way to get around.  I actually got snow in my mukluks because there were areas where the snow was up over the tops of my boots.  In fact, up in Capitol Park, the snow was almost as high as my knees.

So now Harrisburg in the light of day . . .

Back in Capitol Park.

Back in Capitol Park.

 

And the building from Third Street with no way up the steps.

And the building from Third Street with no way up the steps.

The drive up to the building was clear, however, so I walked up–

The dome from the ground.

The dome from the ground.

 

Looking back at the Capitol from the park after the walk was cleared.

Looking back at the Capitol from the park after the walk was cleared.

 

Looking a lot more tired and less happy now.

Looking a lot more tired and less happy now.

At the end of the park walk is Willow Street and Third Street, one of the busiest intersections in the city during the day.  Now it was a ghost strip, ’cause there wasn’t anyone on the streets.

Looking into the intersection.

Looking into the intersection.

As I said you had to walk down the streets because there was about a foot of snow on the sidewalks.  So I did:  I walked right down Third Street back to my apartment.  I was like wandering through a snowy Walking Dead set due to almost no one being around.

Down Third.

Down Third.

 

Standing in the middle of the intersection of Market and Third.

Standing almost in the middle of the intersection of Market and Third.

Finally made it back to my apartment building and what do I find?

Snow.  What did you think I was going to find?

Snow. What did you think I was going to find?

There you have it:  Snowmageddon 3:  This Time It’s Personal.  And here it is, hours later, and it’s still snowing–maybe for another six hours.  But I did find time to get some video:

Don’t worry:  the zombies won’t get me.  At least I’m not in District 12 . . .

15 thoughts on “My Own Private Polar Express

  1. You did it to show midwest people like me who don’t like big cities that places like where you live can are are beautiful! Thank you for posting those pictures and wow! you are a fantastic photographer! Thank you for being crazy enough to go out in it! Love you Cassidy!

  2. That’s beautiful! At least you have snow. We got hit real hard with a mix of rain and sleet, which then froze overnight into a thin layer of ice. Most of the roads seem to be fine now, but a lot of places still don’t have power where the ice weighed down power lines or because tree pieces broke because of ice. It’s ugly.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

