Home » Creativity » On Beyond B

On Beyond B

Let’s just cut the BS right here and now:  nothing got written last night.  I was in a bit of a funk after getting out of work–combo cold and long, boring day did that–so I stopped off for dinner and a couple of glasses of really great wine.  Once home I kicked off my boots and then sort of dozed off and on for maybe ninety minutes, after which time I was sitting around feeling kind of fuzzy in the head.  Then when I was finally awake and fairly coherent, Rachel contacted me and said the latest Walking Dead recap was up, I could go add my two cents, so I did.

This means by the time I was ready to write, it was like nine forty-five, and Better Call Saul was coming on at ten, and there was no way I was going to get anything written in fifteen minutes.

"Maybe if I set up a time warp around the computer like Kerry can do?  Would that help?"

“Maybe if I set up a time warp around the computer like Kerry can do? Would that help?”

That means I’ll have to get to everything I was going to write last night tonight.  And I should get it done.  Should.  Actually I want to, because it’s getting close to the end and I need to get this sucker out of the way so I can move on to the rest of the story.  And put Salem behind my kids.  And get them home.  And allow Kerry his moment of truth alone with his parents.

And then really figure out what I’m going to do after that.

In the last couple of weeks I’ve started putting together scenes that I know will go in the D Level novel, and I need to add those to my time line, as well as add things to the E and F Level areas.  Then I need to figure out how certain scenes I’ve already developed are going to work.  And then . . .

Well, eventually I’ll probably write those things down.  The chances are good, however, that I’ll never excerpt those stories.

I considered my writing things last night while walking home, and I find I’m left wanting.  I do a lot of writing, but I don’t do anything with it after it’s written.  It’s all just sort of sitting there waiting for something to happen.  Unfortunately, that something is dependent on me getting off my ass and making it happen.  And of late I’ve done nothing but a lot of sitting.

Right now I’m seriously going back and forth on whether or not I want to show excerpts from the novels following B For Bewitching.  I mean, I’ve already laid out a couple of large surprises, and there’s at least two more to come in this novel.  And when I’m finished with this novel, if someone wants to go back through a little more than a year’s worth of blog posts, they can pretty much read the novel, along with my sometimes-interesting interjections.

Should I keep doing that?  Because it’s also an exhausting thing to write at night, then turn around and prepare for blogging in the morning.  Somewhere along the line I need a break, and a decision about what I should do is needed one of the days.

Right now, I need to get ready for work.

‘Cause I don’t do magic for a living; I only write about it in my spare time.

14 thoughts on “On Beyond B

  1. Take time off from writing, woman. The last few excerpts were indeed pretty intense, and I’d be surprised if they didn’t exhaust you mentally. I’ just mooching , but these last few exerpts turned me into a mass of twisted nerves. Oh, and please do continue with the exeprts. You can condense /combine the rest of the series into maybe 2 books ?

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

