Home » Creativity » Setting Sail: Casting Off Lines

Setting Sail: Casting Off Lines

I’ve written a whole lot about my kid’s relationship over the last two-and-a-half years, and now . . . well, it seems as if it’s really coming to a head right here and now in this part of the second novel.  They’ve had a difficult time of things over the last almost two years of their existence, which kinda sucks when you realized they’re finally getting ready to start out as teenagers.  At least it seems like they coming into the world as a couple of bad ass witches, but you know what happens when someone thinks you’re a bad ass, don’t you?

So now the day winds down, and remember this is still the same day that started in Chapter Twenty-seven with Kerry screaming his butt off in the middle of the night.  It’s night once more, and the scene is set to get them back to the point they were almost twenty-four hours earlier.  But, as they poem goes, they have miles to go before they sleep.  Well, maybe not miles:  probably more like a kilometer of walking ahead of them–

 

All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

The walk from the Instructor’s Residence towards the Great Hall was covered mostly in silence. Annie suspected that the main reason was due to Kerry’s habit of taking a lot of information and falling into deep introspection . . .

After Deanna’s comment about their lifeline remaining in place until the time of one or both of their deaths, The Phoenix said her goodbyes and returned the library space to the physical realm. Coraline then sat them down and told Kerry some specifics about what they knew of the gift—which they learned was not a great deal—and that The Foundation would likely ask for medical examinations while Kerry was in school, as, it turned out, no one had ever discovered someone with the Bigender Gift at his age.

After Coraline was finished speaking Deanna had a few words concerning the children’s astral bonding. She explained that while they had likely developed a natural empathy for each other’s feelings, the bonding helped amplify that and other emotions. She emphasized that the bonding wasn’t the reason they loved each other—that had occurred well before they knew it existed, after all—but just as with their empathy, their feelings of love for each other wouldn’t allow them to feel the same way for another person, ever.

As Deanna put it, they could date others, marry others, even engage in sexual relationships with others, but any feelings of love and affection they might develop for those people would be, as she puts it, nothing but shadowy reflection of what they feel for each other.

It was as Annie had always expected: she could never love anyone as much as she loved Kerry. Nor would she ever try . . .

Coraline sent them back to the hospital, informing them that they could have Nurse Gretchen order them a night snack from the kitchen while they prepared to spend another night, and that she’d be along as soon as she finished business with the headmistress and the others. It was from that point on, as they walked back to the Pentagram, through the Walls and into the Garden, that Kerry remained quiet, completely engrossed in his thoughts.

 

There you go:  you’re never gonna feel the same way for someone else, you’re never going to love them the way you love each other, and even if you decide to have sexual partners other than each other, it’s going to leave you feeling empty.  There really isn’t any upside to fooling around outside this relationship, cause everything either my kids would experience would be, as Deanna says, “nothing but shadowy reflection of what they feel for each other.”

Hummm . . . there’s a world I’m looking for here.  Well, not so much word as phrase.  Yeah:  “Soul mates”.  They really are that no matter what anyone else might think.  And, of course, that’s likely on Kerry’s mind right about now–

 

They were a few steps from the inner wall door when Annie leaned into Kerry, wrapping herself against his left arm. “You’re quiet.”

He glanced over, nodding. “Well, yeah.”

“I hope you’re not bothered by anything that we learned tonight.”

A few moments passed before Kerry began smiling as he allowed a low chuckle to emerge. “Nah, I’m not. I mean—” He shook his head as the smile grew wider. “There isn’t a whole lot I could do about it if I was, right?”

Annie regarded him carefully. He’s not acting sad or sarcastic; he’s stating a fact, and he’s comfortable saying it aloud. “That is true. There’s nothing either of us could do.”

They walked a few more steps before Kerry found his voice again. “What do you think The Foundation is going to do with me?”

Annie redoubled her hold on his hand. “Coraline said she was going to do everything to keep your examinations unobtrusive and your direct contact with The Foundation limited. I don’t seen her going back on her word.”

“I don’t, either. I just don’t want—”

“To become a lab rat?” She used the same phrase he had back in the library when voicing his concerns about the medical examinations. “She won’t allow that to happen.”

He looked straight ahead as he nodded. “You’re right.” He looked off to his right and into the garden as he drew in a breath. “So you’re stuck with me.”

 

Kerry’s had a lot of shit dumped on him in the last hour or so, and it would likely weigh heavy on the mind of any twelve year old a few weeks from this thirteenth birthday.  But when your girlfriend is the Bulgarian Pop Princess, she’s gonna remind you of something in your past that will lead her to dropping a major truth bomb on your butt:

 

She rested her head lightly against his shoulder for a moment as something he said in his dream encounter with his female self came back. That moment is still bothering him—but I know how to put him at ease . . . Annie walked upright, slowly swinging their arms as they made their way down the covered walkway. “When we were in Kansas City last year, on our first night together in our room, do you remember what you said to me while we were sitting on the bed?”

He watched her out of the corner of his eye. “Are you going to call me?”

“No, silly.” Annie laughed as she cheerfully slapped his arm, remembering how enchanted he appeared while she sang along to Call Me Maybe. “After that.”

“I know.” He didn’t have to spend time remembering that night. “I said I was probably the only eleven year old boy in America sitting on a bed with the twelve year old girl that was probably going to be his wife one day.”

She turned her head his way. “That’s correct. Do you remember what you said when I asked if you were happy with that?”

“I said I was happy with the idea, and I still am.”

“I see.” Annie looked down the path as she slowed their pace. “Do you know what I’m thinking right this moment?”

Kerry shook his head. “No, what?”

She pulled him to a stop near the end of the covered walkway, right in front of the bench they’d come to call their own, and turned so they faced each other. “That I’m the only thirteen year old girl in America walking along on a cool March night holding hands with her twelve year old husband.” She nodded her head towards the bench, now on her left. “Can we sit for a moment?”

Kerry seemed neither shocked or confused. “Sure.”

 

First you’re set up with the, “Remember when I sang Call Me Maybe and then jumped into bed with you?” line, and then down comes the hammer:  “Did I mention you’re my husband?”  Sure, Kerry doesn’t appear worried or shocked, but still . . .

"We're not going to discuss what we're going to name our kids, are we?"  "No, my love.  Not yet."

“We’re not going to discuss what we’re going to name our kids, are we?” “No, my love. Not yet.”

But as the post title indicates, the mooring lines are being cast off–

You know what’s coming next.

37 thoughts on “Setting Sail: Casting Off Lines

      • No.
        This silver lifeline thingy is pointless and won’t mean anything at the end of the day if it won’t prevent Annie and Kerry from separating and getting together with other partners, heck even marrying another person. There’s always some one whom we’ll never forget even without this lifeline connection. That’s a loophole, cassie.

        • I guess you have to look at it as–are either of these kids that shallow and heartless that they go into another relationship with a different person even if it means they’ll never feel anything for that person, and they’ll remain in love with each other no matter how much that other person pours out their heart to them?

          What prevents them from separating is *them* and their love for each other. That’s really what’s happening. The lifeline means even if they do separate, they’ll never find true happiness in the arms of another.

          • Loving each other even though they are not together is a small compensation. There can be many reasons in getting together with another other than love, and still find happiness, one way or another…. the presence of children, for example. At the end of the day, a person can still give love to the mother or father of their children, and grow old with their partner in true friendship, respect and contentment, even if the sex is not there anymore.

          • Annie and Kerry have shown every reason to want to be today. Their bonding can be seen as evidence that they truly are soul mates, and will stay that way.

          • It will indeed be shallow and heartless if they just randomly go into another relationship while still in love with each other. But people do stupid things, and more often than not, are forced to take responsibility for the stupid things they’ve done, like getting a girl pregnant, and marrying her. Even if guys are so in love with her GF or wife, they can still be tempted

          • Heh Obviously not the conjoined type. If I were Emma, for instance, I’d be like, Well, Annie, who cares if he will love you forever, I’m the one he sleeps with I can get it up just fine,… proof? We already have 4 children. We’re one happy family, so, sorry.

          • If Kerry is ultimately happy with Annie–and you can image their whole sex life is going to be pretty good, too–why would he consider having a family with Emma when he’d be miserable? Sorry, there’s no logic flowing here.

  1. Cassie, this is totally out of topic, but I know you’re computer savvy ( but of course ) so I’d like to ask why I cannot post music videos from Youtube. My subscription is Premium and it says I have a good amount of space for videos. It always says the video canno be uploaded, blah, blah … it has something to do with the file or whatever. This has never happened before .

  2. So, okay, it’s like this…. so I find the video, I right click to copy the URL of his particular video, hen I go to my posy,click Media, then it brings me to that site whatever we call it, then I click Add New, then it says Add via URL, then I paste the URL, the what comes out is this…… “The file type could not be uploaded because the file type is not supported.”

      • Author….. my dad was the one who set this up for me, so I guess he’s the Admin ? But you know, my old ‘puter was also set up by my father…. I was just, like a guest. But I was able to upload, embed so many videos before. They’re on my old posts…. the reader can just click it and poof, the video is shown.

  3. Is here any other way ? This is crazy. Like, what I take the backdoor route, like email it to myself , then it it goes thru, then I can copy and paste it on my post ? * sigh * I do love this topic of music, but it’s useless without videos.

    • I don’t know how to fix it ’cause I can’t see anything, and it doesn’t sound as if you’re blog is even set up the same way. I do thing some of the problem may be due to not having admin rights, but I can’t prove that.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

