Home » Creativity » Prelude to Dreamland: Implantation to Implantation

Prelude to Dreamland: Implantation to Implantation

For a moment last night I almost didn’t know if I was going to get this excerpt, and last night’s recap, out at all, ’cause yesterday I had a bit of sticker shock that nearly sent me into a tailspin.  I said nearly ’cause after talking to someone for a bit I managed to take a deep breath, pull myself together, and then deal with the problem, which I did.

The end result was I manged to reduce the shock considerably, as well as figure out how not to do it again in the future.  As the saying goes, “Bitches get shit done,” and I’m a bitch, so getting shit done was the order of the day.

The other end result of that was getting out a recap on another kind of zombie, as well as writing out some words on my own novel before sitting down to watch The Americans.  I seem to be moving along in six and seven hundred word chunks, because last night was seven forty-five words, and inching a little closer to the end of this scene.  Which I may finish tonight after I go buy some food.  ‘Cause I’m out and Cassidy gotta eat.

So, let’s get that monitor implanted, shall we?  Do your thing, Coraline.

 

All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Setting the parchment in the middle of Kerry’s chest, Coraline then passed her hand slowly over it twice as a pink glow emerged from the palm of her hand. He felt a warming tingling in his chest like he’d feel if his foot had gone to sleep, and the warmth continued as long as Coraline kept her hand in place over his heart.

After about ten seconds Coraline pulled her hand away and smiled. “There, all done.”

Annie came around the foot of the bed and stood next to Coraline. “Is it supposed to be that way?”

Kerry felt uneasy once more. “Be what way?”

Annie looked up at the doctor. “Can you show him?”

“Certainly can.” Coraline used the Air Mirror spell to created a reflective surface hanging about a meter above Kerry. “There you go.”

What remained of the monitor gave Kerry a bit of a shock. The parchment was flush with his skin and the area was now a collection of lightly etched runes emitting a light blueish-white light. “It’s glowing.”

“Yes, it is.” Coraline waved the mirror away as Kerry sat up. “It’s drawing energy from your aura, just like the processor on your broom pulls energy from you when you fly. This way the enchantment is self-perpetuating: there’s no need to at an additional element to allow it to replenish itself with energy.”

“Yeah, but—” He took his night shirt from Annie. “Won’t my parents see this?”

“Only if you’re walking around without a shirt. It’s not bright enough that anyone else will notice. If you wear a tank top someone may see it, but that’s about all.”

He slipped the night shirt on. “Okay—I guess.” He looked at Annie. “Every time I look in the bathroom mirror when I’m taking a shower I’m gonna see this thing. I don’t know how I’m gonna hide this when I’m showering in the tower or changing for a race.”

Coraline held her right wrist in her left hand. “Stick to the cover story: I’m monitoring a cardiovascular issue. No big deal, but I want to make sure you’re okay.”

“Gotcha.”

Annie touch his chest where the monitor lay hidden under his shirt. “I wouldn’t worry. Besides, I think it’s lovely.”

 

Of course you think it’s lovely, Annie.  It’s because it’s stuck to your soul mate, and that instantly makes it kawaii, right?  So now Kerry has this rune emblem about two inches across on his chest.  And it’s blue.  And it’s glowing.

A bit like this, only it's on his chest.  And he's not an anime girl.  Not yet.

A bit like this, only it’s smaller.  And on his chest. And he’s not an anime girl. Not yet.

It’s also worth noting that this could be stuck to him for a year.  I wonder if that means every time he’s with Annie she’s gonna want a peek at it cause, you know, it’s cute.  Well, there is a way to fix that–

 

“I’m glad you think so—” Coraline pulled the round container from her jacket and removed another parchment. “’Cause you’re getting one, too.”

She turned a quizzical stare upon the doctor. “Me? Why?”

“Because you have an astral bonding with Kerry, and this is the first time we’ve ever seen this.” A slight grin began forming on Coraline’s face. “I don’t expect that you’re going to be affected by anything that happens to Kerry, but we want to see, just in case.” She waved Kerry off the bed and motioned for Annie to take his place. “This is going to do the same thing as his, only yours will dump data at six in the morning—which, if you stay in your regular time zones, will be almost at the same time. Any questions?”

Annie shook her head. “None at all.”

 

Ha ha, Annie!  You get to join the Glowing Chest Rune Club, so you’ll be cute, too.  However, there’s something Coraline has to take care of first:

 

Coraline turned to Kerry. “I need you to step out of the bay for a bit.”

Kerry finished adjusting his night shirt. “Why?”

“I need to implant Annie’s monitor.”

“Go ahead, then.”

Coraline’s mouth half-twisted into something between a smirk and a grin. “I need her to remove her top.” She touched Annie’s left shoulder. “She’s not wearing a bra—which I’d need to have her remove anyway.”

He shrugged. “So?”

Coraline began staring at Kerry strangely and seemed about to say something when Annie spoke instead. “My love, she doesn’t want you to see my breasts.”

The reason finally sunk through. “Oh. I get it.”

“Well, I hope so.” Coraline motioned with her thumb towards the corridor as she tried to keep from chuckling. “Slide on out of here, Red: I’ll let you know when we’re finished.”

Kerry was barely out in the corridor when the privacy curtain slammed shut behind him. He leaned against one of the ward support pillars half expecting Nurse Gretchen to pop in and see how they’re doing. He pulled the collar away from his neck and looked down at his chest, seeing the glowing monitor seated neatly against the surface of his skin—

“Okay.” Coraline was peeking out from around corner of the slightly open curtain. “We’re ready.” She waved it all the way open so Kerry could enter the bay.

 

So go ahead and put that monitor in, and don’t mine me seeing Annie topless, ‘kay?  Technically, Kerry has seen Annie’s breasts before:  wedding night vision, remember?  But Coraline’s reaction is probably due to . . . well, draw your own conclusions.  You will anyway.

Almost there.  Almost to the end . . .

14 thoughts on “Prelude to Dreamland: Implantation to Implantation

  1. Well, seeng someone nekkid in person is different from seeing it/her/him in a dream, even though it ‘s vivid. haha I kissed Tom Cruise in my dream, not only once but 3x . I wonder what that means…. y’know , dreaming of him x times ? He’s not even my favorite….

    I really can’t wait for the 3rd novel…. I want to read the great reveal…. give mea hint… will the mothe and father freak out ? I know he won’t leave Salem, that’s for sure.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

