Home » Creativity » Forever In the Bay

Forever In the Bay

Chapter Twenty-nine and Part Eight are complete, done, finito, baby.  Just as Chapter Twenty-seven started out with short, eight hundred and fifty-one word intro, Chapter Twenty-nine ended with an even shorter, seven hundred and thirty-five word exit.  Chapter Twenty-nine is one of the shortest in a long time, as it came in at just under nine thousand words.  Like I always say, a scene takes as many words as it takes to finish.

The dream is over so there remains only one thing to do:  talk about it.  And that happens here in the middle of the night, and in its entirety.

 

(All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

The scene before Annie’s now open eyes was one she knew well: the darkness of Bay #1. The lights were as they’d set them when they crawled into bed, the soft glow of the overhead monitors—but most of all, the warmth of the person beside her

Kerry moved slight, and the sound he made was enough to tell her he was awake. She rolled over and gazed into the face resting up the same pillow as hers. “How are you feeling?”

He took a slow breath as he adjusted his head. “I feel okay.” He glanced upward and smiled. “Better than I have in the last few months.”

She ran her right hand over his left. “I’m glad.”

“Yeah.” He turned his gaze back to her. “She’s a part of me now.”

“She always was, my love.” Annie kissed his cheek. “And she’s not only a part of you, but she’s a part of me as well.” She wrapped her fingers around his. “Lifeline to lifeline, remember?”

“How could I not?” He closed his eyes for a few seconds. “How are you feeling?”

“Good.” She gave her head a tiny shake. “I don’t have to worry any more.”

“About?”

“You. I know everything you know. I know what’s coming, and I know what to expect.”

“Which is—” He searched for the word. “Comforting.” Kerry glanced up at the clock. “Zero twelve.”

Annie rolled over to see for herself. “Just after midnight.” She rolled back so to face Kerry. “Almost a full day since you woke me from this dream.”

“No need to wake you again.” He chuckled. “Though Coraline is gonna wake us up in about three hours—”

“Which means we should go back to sleep.” She caressed his check. “Are you going to have trouble?”

“No.” He took her hand and kissed her fingers. “No, I’m good.”

Annie watched him for a few seconds. She felt the smile coming despite her effort to keep a straight face. “You’re not closing your eyes.”

“I just realized—” He touched his chest. “The countdown has started.”

“Not just for you—” She took his hand and placed it against her chest. “It’s started for me as well, my love. And no matter where you are when this transition occurs, I’ll be there with you right to the end of however long it takes before you can transition back.” She kissed him again, only this time it was on the lips and she held the kiss for nearly five comforting seconds. “I’ll always be here.”

He closed his eyes and sighed. “I’m too lucky to have you in my life.”

“As you tell me, I’m the lucky one.” This time she kissed his nose. “We need to get back to sleep.”

“You’re right.” He waited for her to spin around so she could cuddle back into him before laying his arm over her torso. “Maybe Coraline will let us sleep in today.”

“Perhaps.” Annie wanted to stop their conversation now, for she was certain if she didn’t Kerry would end up talking for another thirty or forty minutes. “Leka nosht, moya skŭpotsenna lyubov.”

Kerry nuzzled his face against her hair. “Leka nosht, moya malŭk sarmi.”

Annie lay still trying to give the impression she was dozing off to sleep. Within a few minutes she heard Kerry’s breathing slow and felt his arm grow limp, and she knew he was drifting off to sleep, or was almost there. It didn’t matter: either way he’d not wake again until Coraline came in to find out if he’d had the dream.

He was asleep until then.

She closed her eyes and relaxed under he weight of his arm. Annie cleared her mind and put the events of this day behind her, just as she’d done nearly a year and a half earlier in this same bed.

She reflected how that long day in November had changed not only Kerry’s life but hers as well—and life was repeating itself once more, as they learned tonight how much their lives were changing forever . . .

Annie gently took Kerry’s hand and lightly kissed his fingers before she settled in for a few hours of rest. A moment before sleep took her one last thought entered her mind: How many more months are going to pass before we’re back in this bed finding our lives changed forever again?

She would wait to discover that answer.

 

How many more moments until there’s another day that will change you’re lives? Oh–

Probably just a few months until you wake up next to this, Annie.

Probably just a few months until you wake up next to this, Annie.

So we see a pattern developing from the first book.  First, a quoting of a line from The Princess Bride (“I’m not a witch, I’m your wife.”), then Annie’s birthday, and now a single day that really changes their lives considerable.  And since I’ve got this damn long game of a story plotted out at least until they’re out of school, every Level sees an event that goes down in the course of a day–or at least twenty-four hours–and said event is going to lay some major changes on their lives.  Which means all of these things that have happened in this and the last book will happen in the next novel, so get to figuring what kind of present Annie’s getting and what sort of “crazy day” these kids are gonna have next year.

And because I was asked . . . since a request has been made for “hints” to the next story, I’m going to give them at some point, but in my own way.  Just like I cut a “movie trailer” for the first novel, I’ll do the same for this novel and cut another for the third.  I’m already going over things in my head for what will be in the third trailer, as I don’t want to give away the story, so what you’ll end up reading is going to get presented without proper context behind what you “see”, so it’ll either end up confusing the hell out of people, or scare the hell out of them.

Either way, it’ll be fun.

Now, what remains?  Three Parts, Six Chapters.  That’s it.  Each of the remaining Parts has two Chapters, and there’s a good bet this Third Act is gonna top out at somewhere around one hundred thousand words.  “Just”.  You gotta love that part.  Anyway, what do I have planed?

Well, one chapter is behind, but another is ahead, that's for sure.

Well, one chapter is behind, but another is ahead, that’s for sure.

Part Nine is all about flying, and Chapter Thirty is all about Annie.  I may be wrong, but I believe she has a solo flight coming up–

And it’s gonna be a good one.

2 thoughts on “Forever In the Bay

  1. Darn it ! How come you’re not in my email folder ? I always have to check he notifications instead and click on your avatar ? I’ve been checking out my emails since 3 AM.

    Anyways, this post is nice.

    Besides Kerry’s parents getting notified about Kerry’s situation ( he’s a witch ) I don’t know what else will agitate me……… I guess a rival.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

