Home » Creativity » The Last of the Five-Os

The Last of the Five-Os

If you’re looking for novelizing here today, you’re going to be sadly disappointed.  Well, maybe not; perhaps you’re bored with the novel by now and couldn’t give a ripping flip if I post it or now.  (Usually I’d say “Flying fuck”, but I’m trying to cut back on the swearing.  Right.)

Actually there are a couple of good reasons why I don’t have anything for you this morning.  One, the Case of the Broken “Y” Key pretty much kept that in check.  I started to put down a few thoughts last night and it seemed like every third or fourth time I hit that key or the “T” it would flip or spin around, and I’d need to more the key back into place.  This was not making me happy.

The new computer should be here either today or tomorrow.  I just checked my FedEx tracking and it says it’s in Middletown this very AM–that’s just across the river from me–and that’s just across the river, but now the delivery date has been moved from today to tomorrow, which means I’m not certain if I’m gonna be setting up this sucker tonight or tomorrow.  Yeah, let’s make it tomorrow, for that Orphan Black night, and I like a little challenge for getting the new laptop up and going before I need to write twelve hundred words worth of note for a Friday recap.

Doesn’t matter, though.  I have everything backed up and ready to transfer as soon as I have the new system getting wifi and I have a browser and my writing programs ready to go.  I set up my daughter’s laptop in about forty minutes when she first got it, and I’m certain I can have my new system pretty much functional in about an hour.

But most of all, if you haven’t heard, yesterday was my birthday.  I had hundreds of well-wishes–really, it was in the hundreds–and I managed to get through the day rather well.  After work I returned home to drop off a few things before heading out to dinner, which took place at Home 231 about two-thirds of a mile from my apartment. I had ribeye steak with a couple of great sides, and having eaten there before, I knew the food would turn out great, and it did.  Everything was all fantastic.

The interesting thing is for nearly the whole of happy hour (starting at five and going until seven), it was all women at the bar.  One guy sat with us for about ten minutes, but I think the estrogen was too much for him and he was like gone, daddy, gone as soon as he powered down his drink.

"I'm glad he's gone; I was afraid I was gonna get his cooties!"

“I’m glad he’s gone; I was afraid I was gonna get his cooties!”

I even had someone buy me a glass of wine, of which that was my third, and that’s another reason I didn’t write anything.  I didn’t meander back to the apartment until about eight, and by the time I was out of my work clothes I was just too burned out to want to do anything.  So I didn’t, because if you’re going to create, you don’t want to set out to create a mess.

I did, however, find time to snap a photo on the way home just to prove I exist.

I did, however, find time to snap a photo on the way home just to prove I exist.

Yesterday I turned fifty-nine, and that means I have another year before I hit the Big Six-O.  When I was a child sixty was pretty much the point where you lay down and got ready to die, or so it seemed.  I remarked to a friend once that everyone I knew back then who was sixty seemed and looked old, and that was probably because of the era in which they lived.  Today, people sixty are, like me, still working, still hanging out, still doing new things–some are even making sure they live as the person they were always meant to be.

Today is also post 1900, which means I’m one hundred away from two thousand posts in this blog.  Maybe this deserves a “Duh, du DUUUUUNNNNNN!” or something like that.  What it does means is that, right now that means I’ll hit post 2000 on Friday, 12 August, 2016, though I expect with rebloging a few posts here and there, it’s far more likely I’ll hit this point right around the start of August.  I remember saying nine hundred posts back that I didn’t know what I was going to do with this blog when I hit the Big 2-000, and I still don’t.  Part of me wants to go on, part of me wants to shut it down, part of me doesn’t have the faintest notion.  I will hit that point, however, that much I know.

And after that I can start to wonder what more I can do in the future.

I’ve got the summer to figure it out, that much is certain . . .

8 thoughts on “The Last of the Five-Os

  1. I’m glad you had fun on your birthday. I’m also glad I didn’t miss it, ha ha. I almost did. Good thing you you gave a hint it was your bday yesterday. He he

    I dread the day when you will actually write FINIS to the story ( Level B ) and decide you’ve had it , and not continue the kids’ saga. You will surely leave us wondering forever. I liken it to JKRowling not finishing Harry Potter. The horror !

    • I think that, no matter what, I have to get through the next four novels. I mean, next novel there’s the questions of Kerry the Outed Witch and Annie and Her New Girlfriend: how does those play out? And do the Guardians come calling again? What happens on The Polar Express? There’s a LOT to cover in the next novel, and it would be a shame to let it go.

      • Right ! I didn’t want to say, ” You can’t do that, Cassie !”. because that would be nasty and hateful. I mean, it’s your right whether to stop writing or not Still……… know what I mean ?

          • It reminds me of that movie, what’s the title again?, where the fan abducts the author and tortures him , Misery, is that it ? I think the author doesn’t want to write a sequel, or something and she forces him to write again.. It’s by Stephen King. I’ve become such a fan, Cassie. He he he Kidding.

          • Misery. Oh, you’re a dirty bird! That was actually going to be a Richard Bachman novel, but the identity was tied back to him before the novel was published.

            You’d just have to keep feeding me all the food I see you guys cooking at home, I’d probably keep writing. 🙂

  2. I feel the same as Renxkyoko, Please don’t stop writing! I look forward to your blogs and your sharp wit as well. I like that you don’t just focus on one aspect of your life. you dabble a bit into everything, your book, your life, your transformation, daily life in general including road trips. I am glad you had a great birthday as well! take care my friend. 🙂

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

