Home » Creativity » Mornings With the Seer: The Reason For Calling

Mornings With the Seer: The Reason For Calling

Before I get into anything important, I have discovered something wonderful about software on my computer.  Now, I have almost everything in place–I still need to get a licence for Aeon Timeline, but that’s something I have marked to do after I get my nails done this morning–and I pulled up Sweet Home 3D because I wanted to check out something.

Now, one of the things that has bothered me about the program on my old machine was an inability to draw curved walls.  It wasn’t a huge issue, but it prevented me from doing a three dimensional layout of the coven towers.  With the new system comes new software, and I wondered if that ability was there now.  I discovered that, yeah, I could draw curved lines but that they wouldn’t show up in the rendered view because they weren’t walls.  However, there was a very particular way to draw those curves and create a circle, so I wondered:  could I do the same drawing walls?

And the answer was yes.  I most certainly could.

And they look really good.

And they look really good.

This means I can not only create layouts of the covens, but I can fix my rendering of the library of the Great Hall and give it the gigantic curved northern wall it’s supposed to have.  I know this will sort of cut into writing, but it’s gonna be fun.

And I still managed writing, with seven hundred words of goodness today.  We’re in Deanna’s office at Åsgårdsreia Tower, and it doesn’t look all that strange–

 

All excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

The inside of Deanna’s coven office wasn’t much different from Professor Semplen’s office in their own coven. Unlike the stark demeanor of her office in Memory’s End, there was a sofa at one side of room, several chairs in the middle, and a simple desk to the right of the entrance. There were a few potted plants set in a couple of corners, and a small table between Deanna’s desk and the far wall upon which set everything needed to make tea.

Annie took in the room, spending a few seconds giving it an appraisal. “Nothing like your other office.”

“Not at all.” Deanna backed up slowly as she waved the door shut behind the children. “I was informed that I needed to keep this room ‘official’ in apparent, whatever that means.” She turned and headed towards her desk. “I have to conduct coven business here, and I gather the Headmistress felt doing so while seated on pillows wasn’t the way for that to happen.” Before she sat she indicated the two chairs in place across from here. “Please, won’t you sit?”

Deanna waited until both children were comfortable before she took her seat. “You’re probably wondering why I asked you out here this morning—”

 

Yeah, we are wondering about that, Deanna.  She’s really stating the obvious, like maybe she isn’t ready to get to the real reasons?  Well, her guest are feeling a little the same way:

 

“That thought has crossed our minds.” Annie put on her best smile.

“I intend to put your thoughts at ease, then.” Deanna returned the smile. “I want you to know that this isn’t regarding a disciplinary matter: if it were, Holoč would be in front of you, not me.”

“We didn’t think it was anything like that.” Kerry shook his head. “If it was something we did wrong, we probably would have been stopped before leaving for breakfast.”

“Quite true.” Deanna set here arms upon the desk and leaned forward. “I apologize for all the mystery, but I felt it best if we spoke where we had the most privacy, and this office is remarkably secure.”

Now Annie’s interest was higher than before. Why does she want us to speak from within a secure location? What does she have to say? She decided she couldn’t wait any longer. “Now that we’re here . . .”

“Yes, of course.” Deanna sat back in her chair and regarded the students carefully. “Before I begin with the real reason, I have to ask a question, and I hope you don’t feel this is too forward, but it’s necessary. Have you had intercourse?”

 

Just get right to it, Deanna:  are you two kids doing the deed yet?  And if there is anyone who would know about these two and their proclivities, it’s Deanna.  Keep in mind she was the one who warned Coraline to get to Kerry’s hospital bay in the aftermath of the Day of the Dead, because she flashed on a vision of them being discovered by the Headmistress–but the real reason for that was because she felt Annie needed to be there that night.  Does that mean she saw Kerry talking about his Chestnut Girl?  Or was there something else?

And Deanna admitted she watched both kids play out, more or less, their wedding night vision as well as the one they had at the start of their B Levels–one that is about to get mentioned.  But who knows what else Deanna’s seen?  After the overnight stay at the Sea Sprite Inn she told Erywin that the kids were both still virgins, which means she had to see something, and that has to be hell on her.  I mean, you gotta feel a little sorry for Deanna if part of her life entails flashing on her student’s sex lives, because some of these kids are her friends.

The implication here is that she may have seen this happening, but it was as a future event and now she has to check to see if it hasn’t happened already.  Either way, it sucks that the question comes up.  At least the kids have an answer:

 

Annie and Kerry sat in silence for a few seconds before turning to each other, as if to confirm they’d just heard the same thing. Kerry turned a waring glance towards Deanna. “You mean, like that, um—”

“I mean have you had intercourse?” Deanna allowed a slight grin to play upon her face. “Or, as I’m sure you were about to say, ‘That sex’.”

Annie cleared her throat. “No, we haven’t had intercourse. As I’ve said on a few occasions, we’re not ready for that step.”

Kerry sat back and stretched. “That’s a ways off in the future. Maybe until we get married.”

Deanna’s right eyebrow shot upward. “Maybe?”

“We did have that other vision at the beginning of the school year that showed—” He chuckled. “You know: you were there.”

“Yes, I was.” Deanna rested her hands against her stomach, interlacing her fingers. “So you believe it’s possible your shared vision may not come true?”

“Anything is possible with visions.” Annie gave a grin that almost made her appear embarrassed. “You’ve taught us that.”

“And I’m glad to see you’re paying attention.” Deanna took a moment for the mood in the room to return to something close to normal before moving on. “Have either of you done any study on your astral binding?”

This time Kerry was the one to answer. “No, we—” He chuckled nervously. “We haven’t had time for that.”

Annie took a moment to look Kerry’s way before adding a bit more information. “We’re also a little uncertain about what we could study.”

“I see.” Deanna took a deep breath as she prepared to wade into the reason they were in her office. “So you’re unaware of the three bindings?”

“This is the first time I’ve heard the expression.” Annie leaned slightly forward. “What is that?”

 

Wait:  the three bindings?  What the hell is that?

"Oh, no!  She's asking the sex question!  And this binding stuff--is that like being tied up?  I won't like that."

“It’s bad enough she’s asking these sex question! Now this binding stuff–is that like being tied up? I won’t like that.”

As someone might say, The Queen of Cliffhangers is gonna leave you until tomorrow to discover what those are, because I do have places to go and nails to do this morning–

And I can’t do those if I’m here telling you this stuff.

7 thoughts on “Mornings With the Seer: The Reason For Calling

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

