Home » Creativity » In the Inn: Rest and Recolections

In the Inn: Rest and Recolections

Yesterday, squeezed in between the thirteen hundred word blog post and the fifteen hundred words of note I did for the mid-season finale of Fear the Walking Dead, I managed to start the penultimate scene for Chapter Thirty-four and plow about six hundred words into it before shutting down for the evening.

Like they say, there it is.

Like they say, there it is.

I know some people will say, “How can you write so much for the other things and only half as much for this?” and that’s a good question.  I probably has to do with the fact that I’m making stuff up as I go along, trying to come up with dialog and figuring out how these two kids are reacting to each other at the moment–really, that’s how it feels.

Looking at my numbers I’m currently sitting at three hundred eighteen thousand, five hundred words total, so my guess is that I’ll clear three hundred twenty thousand at the end of this chapter, and three twenty-five by the end of the last, which is gonna put me right where I said I should end up as well as bringing me in a hundred thousand words short of the last novel.  Three quarters of a million words written in about two and a half years is quiet a lot, and I do feel the need to step back and relax for a bit after this ends.  Because I do want to get into the third novel, and I need my wits about me for that.

And where does that lead?  We’re not at the school anymore, so we must be somewhere else . . .

 

The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Annie entered the room, left her bag near the door, and headed directly for the bed, where she dropped backwards with a thud on the mattress. She stretched her legs as she released a satisfied sigh she’d been holding in for the last hour. “This bed is just like I remembered from last year.”

Kerry set his bag next to Annie’s and looked about Room 308 of the Sea Sprite Inn, the same one Annie and he shared after finishing their A Levels last year. “The whole room looks the same.”

“Baseboard is a slightly different shade of white.” She closed her eyes and drew in a long, slow breath. “I noticed that right away.”

One of Kerry’s eyebrows shot up. “You noticed the baseboard?”

“I helped design a house, my love.” She giggled as she looked up into the bed’s canopy. “I have an eye for little details like that.” She raised her legs so she could examine her feet. “Alex did a great job with my pedicure.”

“Which I noticed right away if you remember.” Just like they’d done on their first night together, the Party of Five—now six with Kahoku coming over from his coven—had a small going away party on their floor with snacks and drinks. While they all talked about the summer holiday, music, movies, and video games, the girls rummaged through Annie’s collection of polish and did each other’s nails. Annie chose a deep metallic crimson that she’d gotten for Christmas and hadn’t tried, and before she asked what he thought, Kerry told her how lovely she made the color look, eliciting a smile and many kiss from her for the compliment.

 

Yes, it’s back to the Sea Sprite Inn, the same place they stayed last year and something that’s going to come up in a few more paragraphs.  The last paragraph is a good one in that it’s obvious Kahoku is really part of this little circle of friends, and if you remember from a long time back, when the kids returned from Yule, it was mentioned Sabrina left all the covens open so student could go from on to another without needing permission.  As Thursday night was the last before everyone started heading home, it was a good idea to open up everything so the kids could say their final goodbyes to friends.

It’s also interesting that everyone talked about the same thing while the girls we’re also doing each other’s nails.  Women:  we are multitaskers, are we not?  And we’ve already see that Annie likes getting her nails done, and she takes pride in having them done right.  Just wait until this summer:  Mama and her probably run off to one of the resort spas in Pamporovo to get their mani-pedis done every few weeks, because you can bet this is a habit Annie likely picked up from her mother.

Now that we know the who and where, is there anymore what?  Of course there is:

 

“Yes, you did.” She lowered her legs and patted the spot to her left. “Come rest for a moment. We have at least an hour before dinner.”

“As you wish—” He lay back on the bed and rolled over on his right side so he could hold her hand with his left. “Ms. Kirilova.”

She chucked again. “I loved hearing, ‘So nice you’re staying with us again’.” Annie rolled to her left so she could face Kerry. “Last year is was such a new experience, and this time I felt as if I were returning to a place we’d been visiting for years.”

“I think it helped that we’ve known for a week we were coming back. It wasn’t as big a surprise as last year.” This time Erywin came to them about twenty minutes after their return from Provincetown to let them know that, yes, they were once again sharing “special accommodations” this year after the school closed. “Last year it was like we didn’t know what to expect.”

“Uhmm—” Annie looked upward for a women. “I had a suspicion but nothing more. You, though—” Her smile lit up her face. “Wasn’t difficult to see you were still a bit clueless.”

Ha.” Kerry leaned closer and gave her a kiss. “Clueless no more, Ms. Kirilova.”

“I much prefer—” She snuggled close to Kerry to make it easier for them to kiss. “Mrs. Malibey.”

“Maybe Mrs. Kirilova-Malibey?”

She was about to give the question some consideration when they were a knock on the door. Annie turned her head in that direction. “It can’t be them this soon.”

“It’s not like we’re expecting any other guests.” Kerry slid off the bed as Annie sat up and smoothed out her skirt and blouse. He didn’t bother to see who was on the other side of the door: he figured it was one of the instructors from the school. It turned out he was only slightly right. “Oh, hi.”

 

That Annie:  she certainly loves hearing that married name.  It’s only a matter of time before a “Mrs. Malibey” slips out at school next year, leading to a lot of eye rolling and disgusted looks, because that’s exactly what teenagers like doing.  Oh, so much to write for the next book . . .

But before I get there I have to tell everyone who the “Oh, hi” was for, right?  I mean, that does make sense, doesn’t it?

8 thoughts on “In the Inn: Rest and Recolections

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

