Home » Creativity » The Midnight Window: Remembrance of the Hurting

The Midnight Window: Remembrance of the Hurting

At the moment the novel is moving forward in little five hundred word increment, as if I know the end is right around the corner, and if I hold off from finishing just a little long, I can say I’m still telling their story, or some crap like that.  I guess there’s a fear that once I’m done I may not pick up again, but then again, the next novel is gonna have a lot o stuff in it, and if I don’t pick up the story–

*le sigh*  Things like this drive you crazy, you know?

Anyway, yesterday I played with Stellarium because I noticed something about it that was throwing me:  while you can move around the world and see the sky from anywhere, and change the day and time, the program keys off the system date and time of your computer.  So even if I’m looking at the sky over Cardiff, the program thinks it’s looking at it based upon the time back here in The Burg, which is to say Eastern Daylight Savings Time.

That means when I look at the sky right now for where I live–

With a lot more buildings around me, naturally.

With a lot more buildings around me, naturally.

I see the time and date below.  But when I shoot over to Cardiff–

Which also has a lot more buildings.

Which also has a lot more buildings.

I see the local, but the time is still mine.

So the thing to do is change the system time to reflect the area you want to view, then restart the program.

And just like that I'm where I'm supposed to be.

And just like that I’m where I’m supposed to be.

That means I can now set the date and time for the Cardiff area and see, pretty much, how the sky is going to look when Kerry arrives home at the end of this novel.

And we see it'll be growing dark, just like his mood.

And we see the sky is growing dark, just like Kerry’s mood.

Oh, and this program lets you plug in longitude and latitude for a Earth location which means I can zoom in on where the kids are staying, set my system time for that area, and know exactly what they’re seeing.  Spoiler Alert:  Kerry’s first morning on The Polar Express he’ll see the International Space Station crossing the sky because this program lets me know where the Earth satellites are for viewing from the ground.  There’s something I didn’t realize I could write into the story.

Speaking of story, you’re probably wondering what’s happening with the kids back in the bay window, and what Kerry is feeling.  Since you waits this long, I’ll tell you:

 

The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Kerry looked out the window, staring up at Altair. “Last year I fell in love, found out I’d been in love, almost died with you—almost all of a year was spent around you, being with you, loving you. When we were getting ready to leave for the summer I didn’t know if I’d see you again until we showed up in our next staging city before coming back for our B Levels.

“This time . . .” His voice caught for a second, but he continued without too much emotion changing the tone of his words. “We’ll be apart, but not for the whole summer. We’ll write, we’ll probably see each other in our dreams—”

“You know we will.” Annie reached up and touched his chin. “I’ll make it happen.”

“I know. And we’ll see each other at least three times for lunch.” This was something that was relayed to them by Helena and Erywin, that they were setting aside at least three times where they could transport both of them to London for lunch. Erywin said she’d bring them together sometime in late June—there was mention that Helena was going into a Guardian clinic the Monday after they returned to England and wouldn’t be able to help out during the month of June—and that they ‘d find times for them in both July and August.

“I know we won’t be away from each other for long: we’ll see each other this summer.” He looked down and this time, when he looked back up, a few tears had made tracks down his cheeks. “I’m sad, and I don’t want to leave you, but this isn’t forever. At least it doesn’t feel that way.” He turned Annie enough that he could kiss her slowly and tenderly. “The hurt is there, but I know, this time, it’ll go away sooner than before.”

 

At this point in the story last year Kerry was a blubbering mess, being gently rocked by Annie while they decides they would both know the other was out there by looking at the moon or stars.  That was Kerry’s abandonment issues talking there:  after finally returning to the Chestnut Girl of His Dreams he was leaving her again, and it was likely he’d go the whole summer without seeing her.

Now his attitude is that he will see Annie a few times over the summer–if not in their dreams, then at least three times in person thanks to the help of Professors Lovecraft and Sladen.  And before anyone asks, you know if they didn’t meter out the visits they’d be jaunting these two all over Europe like they were a couple of magical soccer moms taking the kids off for get togethers.  It’s almost like they’re showing them how to be good little witches and not get greedy–or do they have something else in mind?  You never know with these two.

Given Kerry’s confession, what’s Annie’s reaction?

 

Annie peered into Kerry’s eyes for the longest time without saying a word: then she closed her eyes as she turned away from him and began muttering in Bulgarian. “Iska mi se da ne se nalozhi da vi ostavya; Iska mi byakhme zaedno zavinagi.” She turned back to Kerry, a misty film of tears in both eyes. “I feel this hurt, too, and even though it will go away, I could live without ever feeling it there.”

Kerry sighed quietly as he gently wiped the tears away. “You don’t want anyone to see this, remember?”

“I do: and I know you won’t say anything.” She leaned up and kissed him. “As I told Coraline, my tears are for you to see; no one else is allowed.”

“And I’ll never break that confidence.” He held her close. “Ahh. 1 June. About twenty hours to go.”

She light tapped his cheek. “Don’t make it sound so bad. Remember—” She placed his hand over the medical monitor in the center of her chest. “We’re in this together—in so many ways.” She sat up and twisted around so she could face him. “Come.”

“What?” Kerry sat up, a puzzled look on his face.

Annie slid out of the bay window and got to her feet. “Come.” She tugged on Kerry’s arm and brought him to his feet. “There’s something I want to discuss.”

 

Annie is back with–well, not exactly tears, but they are in her eyes.  And they are only for Kerry, because he touches her so.  She’s not going to get into out-and-out bawling like her significant other does, but if she’s not fainting she’s feeling her heart being pulled upon, and that brings out feelings she’s kept under wraps from everyone around her.

Now there’s something she wants to discuss.  I wonder what that can be?

Well, I do know–I only have to write it up.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

