Home » Creativity » Leaving it All Behind Once Again: Looking Back at Logan

Leaving it All Behind Once Again: Looking Back at Logan

To paraphrase Carnac the Magnificent, I have before me the final chapter.  And I have added words to the first of four final scenes.  Yes, folks, the end is almost here.

Not quite yet, but it's coming.

Not quite yet, but it’s coming.

Last night I didn’t get into any writing, though I did play with Aeon Timeline a lot, and played with imaging the sky at different location around the world at different times, because it’s fun.  Also, I discovered I not only have a way to burn my old CDs to a digital format on my computer and listen to them while I work, but I have found a few of my old albums as well online for less than I paid for them originally–after you adjust for inflation, naturally–and this could see me buying some of the music I used to list to all the time. getting it down on my PC, and rocking out as I work.

As you can see.

As you can see I’m doing right now.

So everything in this chapter happens during the day of 1 June, 2013.  Just as with the last novel there’s a lot of goodbyes being said, and there’ll be a lot of sleeping as well, since my kids will be adjusting off Eastern Daylight Time to whatever time zones they live in at home in Europe.  And as I promised I moved the location of the first scene, which I originally planed as happening at breakfast at the Sea Sprite Inn, to the present location.  And where is that?  Why, it’s . . .

 

The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Two: B For Bewitching, copyright 2015, 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Terminal E at Logan International Airport was far brighter than Annie anticipated, though the crowd this early on a Saturday morning met her expectations, particularly given the small size of the international terminal.

It was close to six-thirty, and Kerry and she had already been up nearly two hours. They were up, changed and repacked, then down to the Sea Sprite Inn’s dining area for a five-thirty breakfast. At six-ten they finished breakfast and Helena, Erywin, Deanna, and them jaunted directly to a safe spot in Terminal B before making their way to their present location. Trevor didn’t met them for breakfast, nor did he stay with them: he was with the rest of the B and A Levels in downtown Boston, and met them at the airport before heading off to help with departure protocols.

Just like last year everyone looked a bit tired, as if none of the returning European, African, and Western Asia student slept much. Their fellow B Levels also appeared slightly on edge, and given how Kerry had begun taking on an air of dread during breakfast, Annie guessed that nearly some twelve hours from now.

Kerry stood silently at her side; she saw his eyes were locked upon the doorway of their departure gate, E7B, and the Airbus A330-300—an aircraft they’d never flown—visible beyond the window. Annie gently touched his left hand. “My love?”

 

These kids are hitting a lot of airports this novel, and here is the third one, Logan International Airport in Boston, which was not named after an old Canadian mutant with a bad attitude.  And the scene is currently taking place in Terminal E, the airport’s international terminal.

Nary a mutant in sight, just a lot of young witches waiting to go home.

Nary a mutant in sight, just a lot of young witches waiting to go home.

 

The departure gate, E7B, is actually the one at the lower center portion of the image above, the one with the aircraft hooked up to the boarding ramp.  One could almost imagine that’s the flight The Foundation has ready to take all the Salem A and B Levels home, and who’s to say it isn’t?  Well, probably me for one, but it’s nice to dream.

Kerry’s nervous, and who can blame him?  However, there’s a certain witch who’d like him to not be nervous, and her soul mate knows not to answer when she calls–

 

He turned his attention away from the gate. “Yes, Sweetie?”

“Do you remember what Erywin told you at breakfast?”

He looked at the floor as he sighed, but when he looked up there was a smile on his face, as if he knew he Annie wasn’t trying to mean. “She said that since I have no idea how my parent are going to react, or what they’re going to say, until I tell them I’m a witch, there’s little point in getting worked up over what could happen.” He turned to her. “Because right now no one knows what’s going to happen.” He glanced over Annie’s shoulder. “Except maybe Deanna.”

“Except maybe her.” Annie held both his hands in hers. “You’re not going to come out to your parent for another ten hours. Instead of worrying about what may happen, let’s concentrate on our time together and what will happen.”

His mouth formed something between a smile and a smirk. “I know, I’m being bad.” He kissed her quickly upon the lips. “I’m not going to ruin this day for you.”

“Thank you, my love.” She kissed him back. “Just remember, after I leave you in Berlin I’m going to worry about what happens in my own way.” She gave him her best smiling smirk in return. “I have to sit there at dinner with my parents and pretend I’m not concerned that your parents are being mean to you.”

“That’s a concern of mine as well.” He laughed as he kissed one of her hands. “I love you so much; even when you’re not there for me physically, you’re still there for me.”

She slightly bowed her head. “Of course I am: I’m you wife, and that’s what a good wife does for her husband.”

“Particularly the witchy wives.”

“Especially those—”

Their joie de vivre was interrupted by a girl’s voice from their right. “Hi.”

 

It appears those Public Displays of Affection are not confined to the school grounds, and no one is safe from these two letting their romance flow.  And they are publicly calling each other husband and wife, and outside of school as well, which means it’s likely just a matter of time before that blows up in their face and their schoolmates start giving them the crazy eye the first time they do this at school.  Unless there are students doing this in the terminal now, which would be funny as hell when you think about that happening.

But who is this girl interrupting them?  Hummm, Girl Interrupting.  That could almost be a movie title, one that had film locations not far from where I’m sitting right now.  You’ll find out who this mystery girl is tomorrow, for I have no recaps to make note for tonight, which means I can maybe finish this scene, or at least make a dent in it.

Just like my witches, every moment brings me closer to the end . . .

3 thoughts on “Leaving it All Behind Once Again: Looking Back at Logan

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

