Home » Creativity » Fifty Bound and Down

Fifty Bound and Down

Today is post 1,950, which means I’m fifty posts away from the magical post that is number two thousand.  I know two of those posts will be television recaps, both done tomorrow and next Friday.  That means I have forty-eight original posts to do between now and–according to calculations–Wednesday, July 27, 2016, which is when Post 2,000 should go down.

There’s a problem, however:  I’m bored.

"No work and no play really makes Jill a dull girl."

“No work and no play really makes Jill a dull girl.”

I know:  boo hoo, right?  I know what a few of you are thinking:  “If you need something to do, I know what will keep you busy!”  Yeah, ha ha, I know what that something is.  However, here’s the problem:  I’m trying real hard not to do that thing.  For once I put myself on that path, I know I’m going to spend the next year–or, more likely based upon past experience, about four hundred and fifty days–doing that thing I do.

And that really bothers me.

Allow me to explain:

I was going over time lines last night–yes, I do this when I’m in the mood because I like to keep things nice and neat.  And while going over said time line I noticed one thing:  I still have a lot to fill in for the last two novels.  Yes, I know what the kids are going to do, but only in broad strokes, but I hate to be in a position where I launch into something and I don’t really know where I’m going.

In a way I do know where it’s going:  in fact, I added something to the time line last night that I’ve meant to do for a while, but I’ve been a bit lazy about getting into place.  Yes, sometimes that happens.  Really, it happens a lot.  I mean, when you have as many things going on as I, then you find yourself falling behind on a few things.  Or a lot of them.  Well, not a lot, but you know what I mean.

It’s the damnedest thing, this creativity business.  You spend the better part of a few years working on a couple of projects, and when you get close to the end of those projects you want nothing more than to get them put aside so you can take a well-deserved rest.  Then you start resting and . . . the first thing you want to do is get back into doing something new, which is the wrong thing to do.

I know what I should do, and I’m going to get into that tonight:  I need to begin editing A For Advanced.  It needs it and bad.  Can’t say I’m going to publish it if it looks a mess, and I don’t want that.  So, new goal:  get to editing.  Even though it’s a pain in the ass, get it done.  At least that will take up the summer and allow me to revisit stuff I wrote–well, now, it’s been close to three years now.

That wasn’t so hard to figure out.  Maybe I should get bored more often.

17 thoughts on “Fifty Bound and Down

  1. With editing over the summer, are you basically planning on starting book C when the next school-year starts, or are you trying to hold off longer and maybe attempt it come November? I’m a cat, and I’m curious, which means the answer very well might kill me. lol

    • I would really like to hold off until August to write anything new, only because once I start in on a work I won’t want to stop. I don’t think I could hold off until November unless I managed to edit both books back-to-back. But I would like to get a couple of months of “rest” in here before I tackle another monster of a novel. ‘Cause the C and D novels are going to be monsters.

  2. You know I love you right? but right now, you have Jerry Reed’s song East bound and down stuck in my head thanks to your title. lol Love his music but yeah, hadn’t expected that this morning.

      • The fan fiction is swirling on my mind.

        1. Kerry’s parents will freak out….. immediately, Ms. Rutherford will get Kerry out of the house. Realistically, the parents will call the coppers ( police ) , but most likely, Ms. Rutherford will do some enchantment and prevent the parents from doing what any parent will do.

        2. The Foundation will get to work and talk to his parents,,, and bring to the table the legacy of the great grand relative, and the fact that Kerrry inherited money from the any relative who ‘s also a witch.

        . 3. While this is going on, Annie will be informed of what went on…. and Erywin or Helena will pick her up and jaunt her to where Kerry is staying.

        4. After everything has calmed down, Kerry’s parents will be invited to see the school, and meet with the Headmistress , teachers, and maybe meet with his covenmates, that means , check out where he lives while studying in Salem.

        5. Parents will ask about Kerry’s future, what his job will be as a witch…. and the headmistress will them graduates are all doing fine… they gp to college, have normal jobs, etc.

        6. Annie will be formally introduced to Mr. and Mrs. malibey.

        7. Polar Express….. Emma will attempt again.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

