Home » Creativity » Goaling on a Monday Afternoon

Goaling on a Monday Afternoon

Well, yes:  I know it’s not Monday but rather Tuesday morning.  Early Tuesday morning after a night of rain and fog that calmed down just enough for The Burg to set off fireworks about nine PM last night.  Today it’s going to be 85 F/30 C and muggy, and I’ve spent some part of the morning trying to figure out what I’m going to wear to work today.

"Okay, now write down all the things you've just spent $300 on and then say you have nothing to wear."

“Okay, now write down all the things you’ve just spent $300 on and then say you have nothing to wear.”

But I don’t . . .

Though I did a lot of editing in the morning, I didn’t exactly do anything last night.  I did go to lunch and get a little boozy as there was nothing else going on and I didn’t feel like sitting around the house, but that tends to have a negative effect on my productivity as I need to fall into a nap later on–which I did like clock work.

The later late afternoon had me staying in–it started raining lightly about 3 PM and continued well into the night–so I started prep work.  Part of my mind was engaged in going over Episode 1 of Sense8 again, mostly so I could get screen captures for the recap I’ll write tonight, and part of it thought about laying out chapters for C For Continuing, for 16 July is coming up fast–like a week and a half fast.  But no pressure, right?

Suddenly I’m feeling it all over again:  pressure.  The pressure to produce is coming on strong, and I’m feeling deadlines once more where none had existed for a few weeks.  It’s always nice to take a break and get away from the grind, but the truth is for creative people you always feel the pull to do something.  You always feel like you should have a deadline, even thought you hate the damn things with a passion.  It’s a strange symbiosis, but it’s there.  And it isn’t going away.

I find I hate deadlines, but at the same time they’re needed, for you need to have those fixed points in time to get you off your ass and into work mode.  I have two recaps to write this week, and two more for each of the next five weeks.  I chose to do that and I set the deadlines for when it’s supposed to get done.  I set goals yesterday for Act One of A For Advanced, and while they are doable goals, right away I started getting that sensation that said, “Maybe I shouldn’t have don’t that.”  But if you don’t, you’re really getting nowhere.  You’re just writing along sort of spinning your wheels in the creative mud.

You gotta produce, and you gotta get it out there so it’s seen.  Otherwise, it’s sort of like masturbation without climaxing:  all kinds of fun until you’re pissed off that there wasn’t a payoff.

I’ve done a lot in the writing area:  now it’s time to get serious about the publishing area.

Even when I don’t like those deadlines, I know they are there to help.

2 thoughts on “Goaling on a Monday Afternoon

  1. I hear you on the deadlines, I think I will have to have someone set them for me on the Pray to the Shadowman to get more done, I seem to do alright, I have a deadline for Fallen Angel, so I get it out when needed. Have a great rest of your week Cassidy~

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

