Home » Creativity » Pulling Together the Imaginary Ends

Pulling Together the Imaginary Ends

As promised I started getting into the trailer last night, and it was fun.  If you consider fun hitting yourself on the foot with a hammer–

“No this is really easy, it is. Just keep telling yourself this over and over and over . . .”

I really shouldn’t say that, because it’s not entirely true.  The creative process is always a pain in the ass, because you have to be, um, creative.  You gotta make things up and have them make sense, and you have to do it in new and entertaining ways.  Sometimes that’s an easy thing to do, and writers love it when the prose flows and the words say what you want them to say.

And then there was last night, when I found moments where I was wandering about the apartment working out lines in my head or even speaking them outright.  Because even though I have it all down on the time line, that doesn’t mean I don’t have them down and presentable for the reader.  And that’s where the fun starts:  getting is all ready so that people can see, read, and be entertained.

I’m not certain how much I wrote last night–oh, wait, I can find that information quick.  Here:  1,188 words.  As I’m shooting for a three thousand word piece, I’m almost half way there, whoa-o, livin’ on a prayer.  And I will likely make it with a big push tonight.  And maybe even a smaller push on Friday.  No matter what, I will get this out Saturday morning, because I promised.

In the meantime I’ll give you just a peek, because I can.  It doesn’t give away anything, but it does show you the layout I used for the first trailer:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

INT. SALEM JAUNT STATION — NIGHT

ANGLE ON — PLATFORM

A group of students pop into existence, all of them with luggage. Annie and Kerry are in the front.

QUICK CUT:

ISIS MOSSMAN and Wednesday Douglas stand by the control station.

ISIS (SMILING)
Welcome back. Did you miss us?

SMASH CUT:

INT. CERNUNNOS COVER TOWER — NIGHT

Annie and Kerry stand in the open area of the second floor. The opening chords of the Moody Blues’ Lovely to See You Again My Friends begins as five students step out of the stairwell and face them. (Link here)

ANNIE
Welcome to the second floor.

 

Not a lot, eh?  Well, I can’t give everything away, but at least you know they get back to the school and are ready to take care of the new kids on the floor.  As for the rest–it’s coming, folks, you just gotta wait a few more days.

I will admit to feeling a bit of pressure, however.  There’s a part of me that doesn’t feel as if I’m ready, and that I’m going to get into this and blow it all to hell.

And then I remember:  I’m a writer.

We feel this way all the time.

10 thoughts on “Pulling Together the Imaginary Ends

  1. Normally, the senpais feel kind of superior and the kouhais ( the juniors ) feel awkward and shy. I’m sure they don’t know yet who these senpais are ( Annie and Kerry )in front of them. Ha !

    • I’m sure the A Levels will be in awe. The B Levels respectful: they’ve seen them already. It’s the C Levels and higher who’ll give them crap.

      Hummm . . . maybe there’ll be a young A Level boy of girl from an Eastern Asian country who’s always going, “Senpai See Me!” 😉

          • * shakes head *

            That’s a terrible attitude. I can just imagine what these mean, psychotic students will do on Normals that they hate.

          • They know if that starts happening around where they live, they’re headed off to Cloudland. Believe it that The Foundation knows what students are up to over the summer. They aren’t stupid. It’s just never been discussed. But we know The Foundation watched Kerry from the time he was six until the time he was “invited” to Salem, and he had no idea this was happening, nor did anyone else. If any witchy students suddenly went on a Normal Thrill Kill spree, they’d find themselves in trouble fast.

          • Yes. I know that/ The Foundation is watching. And that’s a very good thing. Powerful people , like the Salem students, cannot be allowed to do their own thing that will harm the Normals . Mean,vicious witches like Lisa and Franky should have Foundation people watching over them 24//7. If they can do mean stuff to powerful witches like Annie and Kerry, I can just imagine what they’ll do to helpless Normals.

            How do they do the Foundation do that, anyway ? Like a radar or something more technologically far advanced.

          • Oh . . . it’s a kinda magic. *wink*. 😀

            The thing is they have to stop at 18–they’re adults then–and that’s when all the happy crap ends.

            Also, the watching only goes on around their homes, and it isn’t always perfect. If they could monitor 24/7, then they’d know who all the Deconstructors are.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

