Home » Creativity » Secrets Outside the Secrets

Secrets Outside the Secrets

I surprised myself last night, I really did.  Just when I didn’t think I was going to have a good writing session, I sat down and worked my way through a little over nine hundred words, and that ended up getting the scene right around twenty-three hundred words, with more to come.  I may get in a few this evening–maybe just to finish a few thoughts–but my best guess is I’ll finish the scene tomorrow night.

And then I get to write about angsty Kerry.  It’s so much fun.

"So far it's going great.  If only I could get this story to write itself."

“So far it’s going great. If only I could get this story to write itself.”

Yesterday we got a little bit of info on what happened in the aftermath of jaunting out of Casa Malibey, and we got to see what Berniece Rutherford really looks like.  And while we’re on the subject of Kerry’s case worker, Annie has a few more questions:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Though she was the one who first told Kerry about the slow aging of witches once they were through puberty, Bernice’s appearance only emphasized the point even more. “I’m certain I will. You must excel at this job.”

Bernice shrugged. “Not really. It’s common for The Foundation to choose case works who are only a few years removed from their own graduations. They feel it’ll help us empathize with our charges since we went through the same things only a decade before.” She glanced towards the unlit fireplace. “My own case worker was twenty-four when I same out.” She took a long sip of her tea before setting it aside. “One of the advantages you get being born into a Normal family is you get someone to help you through school.”

Being a Legacy it was true that Annie didn’t require a case worker since, as her mother said once, she didn’t need to live outside The Foundation system as much as a witch from a normal background. “Yes, I don’t need a case worker—” She eyed her guest. “But I have one anyway—don’t I?”

“Because of your relationship with Kerry—which we both know is more than just a relationship.” Berniece crossed her legs. “I see all the reports on you as well as Kerry. I know your proficiencies in magic; I know how well you tutor each each. I know of your astral bond—” She motioned with her hand towards Annie. “—and I know why there’s a medical monitor etched into your chest.” She smiled moments after her host glanced downward as if to assure herself that the enchantment wasn’t showing. “You’re a part of his life, and he yours, so I am kept aware.”

 

This is the first time we actually learn that they are a package deal, and that Annie is looked at just as much as Kerry.  And by saying that Berneice knows they are more than just a couple, she’s referring to the special situation that originally brought them together.  In a way, Ms. Rutherford is sitting across from one half of the youngest married couple in The Foundation, and she isn’t there to give Annie an update on her boyfriend–she’s there to tell her about her husband.

But Annie has some ideas about the person in the lake house with her she needs to discuss:

 

Annie was curious about how much the case worker was aware of their lives. “You know of our shared vision, yes?” She nodded back over her right shoulder. “You’ve spent enough time looking up there for it not to be a coincidence.”

Berniece looked downward with half closed eyes. “I have read the report on your shared vision, and what represents to you.” She scratched the bridge of her nose with a nail. “I also get reports on your Guardian activity.”

“You do?” Annie was surprised to hear this. “Why do you get that?”

“To keep track of your progress—I mean, in a way what you do with them could be considered part of your schooling.”

It was only then that Annie figured out something about the woman across from her. “You work for the Protectors, don’t you?”

“Why do you say that?”

“You have access to reports on our academic progress, to issues which are personal, and you know the things we’ve done with the Guardians. I don’t believe you are a Guardian, so that leaves being a Protector.”

I wonder if Berniece knows about Annie’s rune dream, too?  Probably, because those dreams were an important part in both their lives.  Annie’s likely showed their link to their astral bonding–and may have indicated that the Three Bindings took place–and Kerry’s dream not only reminded him that he, too, was connected to Annie through their astal bonding, but there was a “someone” inside them waiting for their chance to merge and become one with him.

Ever think Berniece reads these reports and wonders what of crazy hell she’s gotten herself into?

I guess this means we find out if Ms. Rutherford really is a Protector.  I mean, after getting you to this set up, it wouldn’t make any sense not to give you a payoff.

12 thoughts on “Secrets Outside the Secrets

    • What was said was:

      Annie’s likely showed their link to their astral bonding–and may have indicated that the Three Bindings took place–

      That’s within the context of Annie’s rune dream. Not what is happening now.

        • Nope. They can’t get the three bindings until they “do the deed”, and it’s only been twelve hours since they last saw each other. Maybe Annie figured out how to jaunt ? 😉

          • I know….. but as far as rune dreams are concerned, the three bindings are done. Right ? He he he In your dreams, Annie dear. LOL

          • That’s what they both think: that their last remarks were about the three bindings. Which means no “sex”, as Annie calls it, until they get married. Those poor teenage hormones.

          • They can get married early, if they want and not wait until they turn 18, coz , man, that’s a loooong time , at least 5 years. He, he he Of course the parents will protest to high heavens. Kerry, how will you support a family? And Kerry and Annie will be like, DUH . lol

          • Yeah, I think Annie and Kerry have careers waiting for them when they get out of school at 18. Annie’s parents probably know this, it’ll be Kerry’s parents who are going to freak out when they find out that their son is you know like super secret angent, or something.

          • Hmmmph…. what do they care anyway….. they leave him to fend for himself…. why do they care now ?

            I cannot forgive them for making him a latchkey kid. He he he…. I cannot forgive them? LOL As if….

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

