Home » Creativity » A Clause Because 

A Clause Because 

I really did intend on getting a lot written last night, but what was supposed to be a quick phone call ended up becoming a two hour discussion, and it was just past 10 PM–or 22 Hours if you go to my school–when I got off the phone.

However–

One of the habits I have when I’m on the phone is that I walk around.  I do that when I’m thinking a lot.  So I’m on my feet for most of the two hours, and when I finally get to where I can type–I can’t.  My fingers are swollen because of the fluid that’s pooled in my hands.  Which meant my fingers wouldn’t move right.  Which means I was having difficult time writing.

Yay for my plans of getting stuff done.

The story is finally up over six thousand words, but I’ve been on this scene for five days, and three of those have seen little added.  The plan for tonight is write when I get home, then go out about six-thirty to pick up medication, then come back and write a little more.  That is the plan, and I’m sticking to that sucker.

But now, we have Annie and Berniece and their fresh hell of the day.

Now that we know all about Berniece and what she knows about our Lovey Dovey Couple, Annie has more questions to fling her way.  Like–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

There was something else that Berniece mentioned that worried Annie more, only because she wasn’t privy to this part of Kerry’s life. “What if he parent try to keep him from attention school in the fall?”

Berniece smiled. “They have no control over that. It’s not up to them: it’s up to Kerry.” She crossed and uncrossed her legs until she was comfortable. “There’s a clause in the control his parents signed that passes the decision to attend Salem, or any other school in The Foundation network, to the student in question—that student being Kerry. That was another thing we disused before leaving Berlin, and he said he’d bring it up if they pressed him about not going back.”

That’s one problem out of the way, but— “What if—?” Annie pressed her thumb over her lips for a moment. “What if his parent were stupid enough to take the contract to a lawyer and attempt to have it broken? Or even try to expose The Foundation?”

 

So there’s a clause in the contract that says Kerry’s the only one with the power to decide if he’s going to school or not.  Neat.  It probably also means that he can now have all the sex talks he wants with Coraline ’cause F-you, folks, I can.

But Annie makes another good point:  what if they try to go to court to break the contact and expose The Foundation and their evil band of young witches in training?  It’s a legitimate question, but there’s something Annie’s isn’t considering…

 

Berniece stared across at the girl for a few moments before resting her weight against the right chair arm. “Annie, have you ever heard of that happening?”

“No.”

“And you never will.”

“Why? Does The Foundation step in the moment they hear someone is attempting to break a contract?”

Now Berniece laughed. “They don’t have to: they take care of the problem ahead of time.” She sat back with a sigh. “The contract is enchanted: it’s a modified form of a Sorceress’ Bargain. See, there’s a clause in the contract that states that the signatories to the contract—that would be Kerry’s parent in this instance—are not allowed to divulge the contents of the contract in public without the express permission of a representative of The Foundation.  Originally that person was Mr. Mayhew, but he passed that responsibility over to me. And, when we were in the Cardiff station, I passed that responsibility to—”

“You passed it to Kerry.” Annie’s face brightened as she smiled. “They can’t do anything with the contract without his permission?”

“It’s not just the contract: they can’t tell anyone who is Normal that Kerry is a witch. Louise and Davyn can’t even tell their families without Kerry’s permission. He would likely need to start that conversation before they could say a word.”

Annie looked down shaking her head. “His mother is not going to like that.”

“No, she won’t, but it’s of no matter: they signed it, the contract is binding, and they have to live with that—and with the fact that Kerry controls his fate as far as his parents going around blabbing about his existence. It’s a common practice for Normals.” Berniece shrugged. “And even if they could speak about the contract, there isn’t a solicitor in the UK who’d believe a story about a school for witches in the US. They’d think they were being presented with a fake contract and likely tell them to leave.”

 

And now you know what happens when you sign contacts with witches–they get you under their enchantment and jack you up!  It makes sense in a way ’cause as Berniece says, have you ever heard of anyone coming forward and saying, “Witch!  I know where there are witches ’cause my kid is one!”  No, never.  And that’s because The Foundation is keeping that in check with enchanted contracts.  So basically, if Kerry wanted to be a dick, he could just never let his parents ever say he’s a witch to anyone, and this is why people aren’t going off bragging on their kid’s magical abilities.

Annie’s never thought about this because it’s her life:  she’s always been around magic, and it’s not like her parents go around bragging on how their daughter can bleed out people real fast.  This is one of the disadvantages of Annie trying to understand everything Kerry’s going through, because she’s magically privileged.  Though I’m sure Annie would never start hashtagging stuff with #AllWitchesMatter because she isn’t like that.  Also, she doesn’t have a Twitter account.

Tonight I must stick to my plan, and I will do as I said and get in the writing and then get my meds and then back to the writing.  ‘Cause there is so much to do–

Okay, maybe I'll take a moment at some point and stop and smell the coffee--

Okay, maybe I’ll take a moment at some point and stop and smell the coffee–

2 thoughts on “A Clause Because 

  1. So, you just answered that question that;s been poking me. Eh. Why didn’t I ever think of the Binding Contract that’s been put on paper ?

    The thing I’m interested now is the sh*t that’s gonna come out of Mrs.Malibey’s mouth that Kerry has to endure all through summer. It will be interesting to see how Kerry will react to all that crap that his parents are going to throw at him.

    • I’d figured out a while back–like at the start of B For Bewitching–that The Foundation had to make sure people didn’t talk after their kids came out. And it’s done by signing enchanted contracts. Mr. Mayhew made sure to have a pen ready for the Malibeys to use, and that seals the deal.

      Well, from the trailer it’s obvious that Mommy Dearest and Kerry talk about his abilities at some point, but I can’t say what will happen between then before that moment.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

