Home » Creativity » The Aftermath Letter: The Setup

The Aftermath Letter: The Setup

Okay, then:  here it is, the start of the Letter.  And I’m putting that in caps ’cause it’s been teased for four days now, and finally, on Friday, you get to see the beginning of what happened at Kerry’s his first night home.

A couple of things happened last night.  One, it was the second time since starting the new novel that I’ve written over a thousand words in a sitting, and these were probably the easiest thousand to get into the book, so I’m hoping I’m snapping out of whatever ennui I’ve been in for a while now.

Also, the novel finally crossed over the ten thousand word mark.  It took longer than usual–twenty days instead of my normal fourteen–but during that period I wrote on only sixteen days, so I was close to what I normally do, getting in 635 words a day on average.  I consider that pretty good all things considered.

In the excerpt below I have Kerry’s writing in bold because you can’t see the script I use when I’m writing his part in Scrivener.  And since it’s a shame you can’t see:

I've made it so you can see.

I’ve made it so you can see.

Yeah, this is how I write.  I don’t have to make it look like Kerry wrote that out, but I’m strange, okay?  And you have to put up with it.

Anyway, enough yacking from me.  Here’s the first section of the letter, completely uninterrupted.  Enjoy.

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Never mind that. She returned to the pages in her hands. Let’s see what he has to say.

Well, I’m out to my parents, and while it wasn’t a disaster it could have been better. At first they didn’t want to believe me, which didn’t surprise me in the least because that’s how they are. Ms. Rutherford had me do a little magic for them—
And that’s when things went off the rails.
I didn’t do much, just some levitation and a few other things—

Annie smirked at the last line, because based upon what Berniece told her, the “other things” were far more than that—

—and when I was finished Mom and Dad kinda freaked. At first they seemed scared, but it didn’t take long for Mom to get angry at me for not telling her about the whole witch thing before tonight.

If he’s talking about tonight his time, he must have written this the night he arrived home.

Ms. Rutherford tried to calm them down, but Mom wasn’t in the mood to be calm and told her to leave, so she did: she jaunted out of the house and you should have seen the look on Mom’s face when Ms. Rutherford vanished.
The only problem after that was they had me all alone, and they weren’t happy. Mom kept going on that I should have told her about what I was really learning at school, and Dad was upset that I felt I couldn’t trust them with my secret. I kept going back to reminding them that The Foundation ordered me not to say anything, and it wasn’t just me, it was all the kids who came from Normal background that had just finished their B Levels.

Annie didn’t find any of this part surprising because she’d already heard most of this from Berniece when she visited the morning after taking Kerry home. What she was more interested in was what happened after—

Mom started demanding to know who she could talk to about all the secrecy, and I told her no one in The Foundation was going to take her call, that as far as they were concerned I’d come home, told them I was a witch and that I was learning magic, and that was all that mattered. She didn’t like hearing that, but she didn’t like it even more when I told her to stop making such a big deal out of things and just be happy I was home and I no longer had to hide the truth.
That didn’t go over well at all.
Then starts all the other questions: how long have you been a witch and how long have you known? I told them I didn’t know until I’d gotten to school and was told the morning after I arrived, and as far as being one I was born that way. I let them know I’d been a witch my whole life, it was just that I didn’t know how to do magic.

“Or you weren’t aware you were crafting magic.” They were now both aware that Kerry involuntarily used his abilities without actually knowing he’d crafted, and their shared dreaming came about due to them both being Aware. For a moment she wondered if Kerry told his parents about everything magical with which he’d been born, but she knew he wouldn’t go into that much detail. If they were having this much trouble understanding he’s a witch, they wouldn’t understand anything else.

She read on:

 

And that’s what you get today.  This is going to be a pretty big scene, so there’s a lot more to come.  Which is good, ’cause starting tonight I’m going to have an extremely busy four days in a row before I am able to really get back into the writing.  I’ll get there, but I’ll be lucky to get out five hundred words a day–

Oh wait:  I’m doing that now.

Never mind.

4 thoughts on “The Aftermath Letter: The Setup

  1. Oh…

    Know what, Kerry doesn’t sound upset.( Of course I haven’t read the rest of the letter )

    The parents should really go visit the school, even if it’s only out of curiosity. Any parent would want to see how a witch’s school look like. Does the school have cauldrons, dried human heads hanging on the walls, voodoo dolls, etc. ?

    • Cauldrons? You just made Erywin jump up from her computer and start yelling, “Has this girl not paid attention for the last two novels?” You know she hates the idea that people think witches makes potions in cauldrons. 😉

      For the most part it looks old and Gothic, but we know they have a first class chemistry class and a superlab, and a modern oval for racing, and a huge, modern library. The Witch House is probably the scariest part of the school, and Helena would laugh if you asked to look at a human head. And don’t forget that modern observatory on the north grounds–

      Voodoo dolls *might* exist, and that would fall under astral magic used with sorcery.

    • Maybe I should have you wait two more years to read this? 😉

      The Pentagram is the oldest part of the school, but a lot of the other buildings are maybe no more than 100 years old. I should actually do a write up on everything. The oldest building with no external changes to appearance or size is the Headmistress’ residence. Time to hit the time lines.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

