Home » Creativity » Dead Letter Watching

Dead Letter Watching

Before I managed to get off to sleep–and while I was waiting for the video I shot last night to get edited properly–I ended up starting Chapter Two and getting another four hundred or so words added to the mix.  So, a thirteen hundred word day:  not bad.  Not bad at all.

And the first scene of Chapter Two is in an interesting location, one that just came to me because I’d once read about it on Wikipedia a couple of years back.  But then I changed everything about this first scene at the last minute and took it back to the idea I had for it originally.  Tonight it’s just a matter of editing what was written and adding to that.  And getting to he heart of a matter.

But now, back to our dream…

There has been some discussion about why Kerry wanted Annie to send her letters on certain days, and we ended yesterday’s excerpt with Annie asking about this change.  And Kerry doesn’t hesitate:  he immediately tells her the reason:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry stared at the tabletop for a few seconds before raising his head and meeting Annie’s gaze. “I caught her intercepting your last letter.”

Annie grew cold inside. “What do you mean?”

“Last Tuesday Mom was home ‘cause that’s one of her normal days off. I was up in my room checking the time ‘cause I know about what time the mail comes, but I had to use the bathroom so I went; I figured I was good ‘cause I had about ten minutes before the woman who usually delivers showed up.” A severe frown crossed his face. “I didn’t: she showed up just as I was getting out. I was on the top landing and saw Mom accepting your letter, and then—” He closed his eyes and sighed. “She turned, looked at the letter for a couple of seconds, then took a couple of steps towards the kitchen.”

Annie didn’t need to hear more: the implications of what Kerry was driving at were enough. “She was going to throw it away.”

He nodded. “Yeah, I think so. When I called down and asked if she had my letter before she vanished, she had this surprised look on her face like she knew she’s been caught at something. I can’t prove it, but I think she was gonna toss it in the bin.”

 

There you have it:  Louise Malibey, doing her best to maybe keep those witches from talking to each other.  Like tossing Annie’s letter in the bin is going to keep these two apart–especially since they were going to meet in a few days anyway and the first words would have been something like:

Kerry:  I haven’t gotten your letter.
Annie: I sent it a week ago.
Both:  Hummmmmmm

And the outcome of that conversation wouldn’t have been good.  As it is, someone just got on Annie’s shit list:

"You were going to toss my letter in the bin? Louise: we need to talk."

“You were going to toss my letter in the bin? Louise: we need to talk.”

And we all know what happens when Annie wants to have a talk–

Also, while Kerry likes to keep things nice and even and on the low most of the time, he hasn’t been infected with estrogen yet.  Once that happens all the “I’ll just stay in my room and listen to music and brood for a while” shit goes right out the window and Louise may just discover the hard way that she isn’t the only woman in the house with a bad Irish temper:

"Mom, you thought having one angry, hormonal girl witch angry at you was bad? Well, guess what!?"

“You thought having one angry, hormonal girl witch mad at you was bad? Well guess what, Mom!?”

Yeah, Louise, just wait until your house turns into a scene from Carrie.  Just wait…

Anyway, this talk of binning letters doesn’t set well with The Bulgarian Buttercup and she lets it be known:

 

A cold fury gripped Annie and for just a second she imagined her sleeping body tensing as her inner emotions took hold. “That horrible bitch.”

Kerry was more shocked that Annie swore in English—she almost always switched over to Bulgarian when she cursed—than he was by what she said. “Yeah, no kidding.”

“Why would she do that?” She didn’t bother hiding her exasperation.

He twirled the straw around in his smoothie. “Probably because she’s figured out you’re more than just a friend.”

This was a moment that Annie knew would come one day, though in all honesty she’d expected it to happen at some point during the last summer. “She suspects I’m your girlfriend.”

“I think so.”

“Why doesn’t she ask you then?”

“I think she doesn’t want to know.” Kerry sipped at his drink as he considered his reply. “Remember when I told you in my first letter she gave me a strange look when I told her you were a witch?”

Annie shifted around her in chair. “I do.”

“I think my mom always imagined that when I was ready to start dating I’d go out with some Welsh girls I met at school, or I’d end up hooking up with someone when I went away to college.” He chuckled. “Probably deep down she hoped I’d met up with a nice Irish girl, get married, and have a gaggle of gingers she could spoil.”

“That certainly isn’t happening.” She found herself thinking that she couldn’t wait for the moment when she told her future mother-in-law that the only children her son was having were coming from her uterus.

“I know, My Moon and Stars. All our future little witches come from us.” He smiled as he looked at his drink. “And that’s probably what’s got my mom freaked. She’s finally figured out that all the kids I hang with regularly are witches and that means anyone I date is gonna be a witch—”

“And in time that means marriage.”

“Exactly.”

 

“That horrible bitch.”  Way to start off the relationship with your future mother-in-law, Annie!  Sure, it’s Louise’s fault, but it doesn’t bode well for there being a lot of harmony between the two.  And I can’t wait for the moment when a teenage Annie points at her tummy and tells Kerry’s mom, “The only grandchildren you’re gonna see are coming from this uterus!  And they’ll be witches!  Deal with it!”  Good times, yo.

But all that stuff is in the future.  For now we have to deal with the aftermath of this dream–

Tomorrow.

9 thoughts on “Dead Letter Watching

  1. Wow !
    And Annie, please wash your mouth. He he
    Ha ! Kerry better know now his future bride’s not gonna be a doormat. And , not only that….. he better be careful dealing with Emma . I highly doubt she’s given up on Kerry. Better be careful, Emma. Annie just now has taken off the mask. LOL

    • Oh, Kerry knows. He was there when she bled out someone for real and killed them, and then watched her off another dude. He knows she isn’t a doormat and he’ll probably warn his mother not to screw with her.

      And remember he’s already warned Emma: “I’m worried about what she’ll do to *you*.” She’s warned her, too, so there’s no hiding.

      It’s not like Annie hasn’t gotten her warnings: he mother was telling her about dealing with a mother-in-law, and Annie’s learning.

      And knowing Kerry’s mom she’ll just deny she was going to toss the letter and yell back at Kerry to mind his own business. He knows confronting her won’t work, ergo asking Annie to have her letters arrive on the days he’s the only one at home.

      • No , she won’t. She just called her a bitch. He he

        Now, when she’s at Salem, better show that to Lisa, or anyone who will disrespect her.

        Have you heard of that 13 year old boy who killed himself because he had been bullied so much, and no one had supported him ? He left a letter naming all his bullies and all the teachers whom he had asked for help , but didn’t do anything. This news is all over the Internet and the papers, even in our local papers. I hope those teachers and those bullies feel guilty and miserable the rest of their sorry lives, and may it happen to their children too. I have a permanent scar from this kind of bullying. Unforgivable.

        • Yes, I know about that kid: it’s been all over my facebook feed. I went through bullying as well, and know how it feels.

          Just wait to see what happens with Kerry: it’ll be interesting. Annie, too. People better watch out.

          Oh, and Annie called Lisa a bitch, too, and nearly lit her up over it.

          • Oh, yeah, Annie and Lisa…. I can never forget that…. I shadow boxed when I read that part….

            I want to see Kerry too, especially Kerry. I’ve seen Annie, but not Kerry yet. Oh,yes, he did spew out a few words once, but I want to see some nasty characters piss in their pants. That Franky boy…..

          • This is that crazy time in both their lives: Kerry has to learn to step up for himself, and Annie has to learn not to keep it all bottled inside and then explode at the wrong time. That’s all part of this novel.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

