Home » Creativity » The Bad Back Home

The Bad Back Home

Okay, so last night wasn’t the greatest in the the world for me  Lots of depression, lots of crying, lots of struggling.  The last month has been a lot like that and after a while it weighs pretty heavy upon you.  I managed to get through a night of writing–almost five hundred words again–but I can’t really deal with too many days like yesterday.  Let’s hope it’s better today–

Unlike Kerry’s day, which seems to be getting darker and crappier by the moment.  But then that’s why he’s here, right?  So how did your lunch date with Annie of Pamporovo go, young man?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

“Well, we hung out in London from about eleven until right about seventeen-thirty, when Annie had to go home. We bounced down to her place, I said goodbye, and then Erywin took me home.” He gave an exasperated sigh. “Mom was waiting for me when I got home.”

Berniece almost drew them to a stop. “Wait: I thought your parents worked on Wednesdays?”

“They do. Only last Wednesday Mom came home ‘cause she said she wasn’t feeling good.” Kerry snorted. “What a load of crap.”

She didn’t need to hear the frustration and disappointment in his voice to know thing didn’t go well. “Why was she there? Was she really ill?”

“She didn’t seem that way. I think—” He glanced towards the gorge as they walked. “Erywin called the day before to finalized everything. I think Mom may have heard me saying I’d see her tomorrow and took it upon herself it see if I was really out of the house.” He finally looked back at Berniece. “Since she’d told them at work she was sick she could then spend the whole afternoon waiting for me.”

 

First, let’s look at the positive.  Not only did Annie and Kerry have a good lunch, but in the end he jaunted home and saw her to her front door, maybe even went inside and said hello to Mama Kirilova and perhaps even Papa and said hello while they set up the time for the July lunch date.  I’m sure Annie’s dad, if he was there, is thinking it’s nice Annie’s getting out with Kerry, though you still have to wonder if he understands the seriousness of their relationship.

And then Kerry heads home and there’s bullshit waiting for me.  Lots of bullshit…

 

“What happened?”

“Oh, she wanted to know where I’d been and what I was doing, so I told her.” He tisked once before continuing. “I told her I’d been to London and I’d had lunch with Annie before spending the afternoon with her. I was we hung out and chatted and had a good time, and when we were finished Erywin came back for us and took us home.”

There were many things Berniece suspected may have happened, but she figured upon the worst occurring. “How did your mother react?”

Kerry shook his head dismissively. “She got pissed. She told me I had no business leaving the house without telling Dad or her, and I certainly shouldn’t be running off to hang with my ‘witch friends’ and that I shouldn’t be in a city like London with adults around.” His laugh was sarcastic and a bit dark. “That’s exactly how she put it: ‘Witch friends.’ I mean—” Another sigh escaped as he rolled his eyes. “I told her she had to be kidding.”

“You did?”

“Yeah. I told her I’d been going in and out of the house during the summer since I was old enough to carry a key—which I reminded her was about the time I turned six. I told her I’d been to London the summer before with Annie and when we’d met for school the last two years we’d spent time wandering alone through London, Amsterdam, and Berlin. I told her my older ‘witch friends’ knew we wouldn’t get into trouble, but if we did we knew how to get out of trouble.”

Uh, oh. Berniece didn’t like how Kerry phrased that last line and figured that might have caused his mother to question what he’d said. “How did she respond to that?”

He shrugged. “She acted like she wanted to ask me about how I would get out of trouble, but didn’t. She just looked at me for about ten seconds before asking why I kept saying ‘we’. I told the truth: that Annie and I hang out all the time—at and away from school—and that before we go back to school in the fall we’ll hang out and sightsee while we’re in Paris.” He came to a stop and folded his arms across his chest, setting his hands under his armpits, before turning towards the gorge. “Yeah.”

 

Now Kerry has “witch friends” and he’s hanging with them and having a good time, and Mother Malibey isn’t happy.  Though it seems as if the black cat is out of the bag and there’s a witch friend, one in particular, that Kerry not only hangs with, but hangs with a lot, and one might say they’re having adventures together–and Kerry’s mom is suddenly realizing what those adventures might entail–

''How do I tell Mom that sharing a hotel room in different cites and killed bad guys ever so often is normal witch friends stuff?"

”How do I tell Mom that sharing a hotel room in different cities and killing bad guys every so often is normal witch friends stuff?”

I don’t think she’s gonna buy any of that, Kerry.  Particularly if she finds out about the locket you gave Annie.  And the charm bracelet.  And the rare book.  And the expensive leather flying jacket…

Like it or not, while the word hasn’t yet been said–at least not in this excerpt–Louise likely had the term “girlfriend” floating about in her brain there for a second, and that means there’s another girl in your son’s life.  A girl who is going to replace you in his life–

Who am I kidding?  You can only replace someone if they were there in the first place.

14 thoughts on “The Bad Back Home

  1. I love the last comment because it’s nearly the same as the one I thought right before reading it: Annie filled a spot that had been vacant a loooooong time before.

    • Yes, that’s true. Still, Kerry has a lot to work out. These feelings can be so strange to him at times.

      And while Annie has filed that spot, he’ll never think of her as the mother he needs in his life. She’s more than that.

      • So much more. It’s as you’ve said in the past, Kerry knows very little about affection because his parents tend to ignore him. The affection Annie shows him, and even that which others who care about him, won’t replace the kind of affection he might have gotten fromhis parents. It will be different. Better in some ways and not what he needs in others.

        It almost sounds like Kerry’s labeled his parents as having next to no more chances in his life, but if he is willing to put up with them, it makes me wonder if maybe his mom might try to become more involved with his life.

        • Really, wanting affection from his parents has been a big thing with him, and it’s hurt him that he hasn’t gotten it. Given that Louise is a bit of a selfish cow, it may be a while before she gets involved in her son’s life–though I wonder how she’ll like being involved in her daughter’s life? 😉

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

