Home » Creativity » Dreams Of Walking Past

Dreams Of Walking Past

Did I write yesterday?  Yes.  Did I write in the novel?  Urmmmm…  Ya got me.  But remember that whole “Ahead of the curve” thing?  Yes, got that rocking out so nicely.

Now, the question about Kerry dreamwalking has come up and it’s pretty much a give that he likely is doing just that.  But we need conformation, so…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

He couldn’t hold back his excited chuckle any longer. “Yep.”

Annie was almost ready to bolt from her dream bed. “How?”

Kerry pushed himself against the headboard and planted himself next to Annie on the bed. “A couple of weeks before we left school I emailed Deanna and asked her for a good book I could use to learn dreamwalking. She gave me the name of the book and told me Mr. Parkman could order it for me; I told her I’d rather get it myself and asked if Bount Books carried it and Mr. Parkman told me they did. So I let them know I’d get it when I got home.”

“Did you order it?”

“Nope: went myself and got it.”

Annie sat back on her heels as she spun around to face him. “You flew, didn’t you?”

“Sure.” He seemed both pleased and embarrassed. “I mean, I brought my broom home, so why not? I left the Monday after I got home: there was no one home, so why not? It was only a couple of hundred kilometers, so I was able to get there after about forty-five minutes.”

Annie found herself both surprised and pleased that he’d taken this step to do things as were needed. “Where did you land?”

“Ashland Place, near Paddington Street Gardens. Remember: we passed all that on the way back to the hotel after—” He looked towards his bare feet as his voice grew softer. “After we meet in the book store.”

“I remember that well.” What Annie remembered was Alicia complaining nearly all the way back to the Park Plaza and Collin asking three or four times if they were in the right part of the city. But what she remembered the most was the feeling of loss and despair that the shy, ginger boy walking alongside didn’t remember her, while at the same time noticing that he only paid attention to and spoke with her and tended to ignore the others who were no longer with hem. And all the way back he stayed to my right, even insisting we walk so he was between the traffic and me. Even with his memory blocked he must have known something. “So you bought the book that day?”

“I did, then went home and started reading. And practicing. And here it is—” He shrugged. “—either the night of 7 July or the morning of the 8th. Only took me about six weeks to finally do this.”

Annie clapped. “That’s fast.”

“Keep in mind that after your first time you spent the next couple of months telling me all about how you did it.” He tapped the side of his forehead. “I was listening.”

“That’s because you’re a good student.”

“That’s because I have a good teacher.”

She threw her arms around her soul mate and hugged him tight. “This means we can be together so much more now. With both of us able to dreamwalk, it increases the odds we’ll see each other at night.”

 

So now Kerry can dreams walk and these two can spend all the time together when they are apart.  And when they’re together.  And when they’re sleeping right next to each other.  This could be good–or bad…

Where In My Dream

No, Annie isn’t that possessive.  Yet.

This was one part of the story that I needed to do a little research on as it dealt with something I wrote about three years ago–and that is the book store where Annie and Kerry first met in physical space.  There were a few things I needed to know.  Like first, the area around the book store.  I needed to see just how long it would really take Kerry to get there:

Answer:  not long.

Answer: not long.

Like he said it’s a couple of hundred kilometers, so he could be in London in about forty minutes if he went along at about three hundred kph.  It’s also a no-brainer for flying:  nearly straight due east.

Now the store itself.  In the novels it’s called Bounts Books, but in reality I based it off of an existing establishment in London, Daunt Books:

As you can see right here from the street.

As you can see right here from the street.

It’s famous as a place with a lot of books on travel, but it’s the interior that really drew me to the place.  The story on Marylebone High Street–where the kids order their books for their A Levels–was an original Edwardian bookstore before it became Daunt, and that means it has a gallery with a long skylight bringing in natural light that brightens the ground and first floor.

Tell me this doesn't look like a place where witches shop.

Tell me this doesn’t look like a place where witches shop.

If you want to see what the area below the ground floor looks like here is a Google 360 view of the downstairs.  It’s beautiful, but it’s that staircase that drew me in ’cause in their first meeting Annie is sitting in a large chair hidden by the shadows of a staircase.  And right there you have that staircase–  With a little adjustment in the building that could easily be the spot.

Could this be the setting for a meeting of two witches in love?

Could this be the setting for a meeting of two witches in love?

Though I did state that they met on the ground floor and there was natural light and all that, but hey:  it’s my story and I’ll move stairs around as I like.

As for the mention of the aftermath of that first meeting, I did a little checking to see where the bookstore was in relation to where they were staying at the time, which was, of course, the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes on Baker Street.  And just as Kerry pointed out the next day everything they did with their running around was something of a test, because the book store was real close to the hotel and Berniece Rutherford could have easily taken an hour to walk the kids over, get their books, and walk them back. But no:  better to have them do it themselves.  After all, it’d give at least a couple of witches the chance to get used to walking together.

Maybe it's only six minutes, but that's a start.

Maybe it’s only six minutes, but that’s a start.

Right there you see the first route Annie and Kerry took together in real life.  How’s that saying go?  “A trip of a thousand miles starts with a single step.”  In this case, a walk through life together starts with a six-minute stroll through London.

And they’re still strolling.

6 thoughts on “Dreams Of Walking Past

  1. You know, my first impression of the bookstore ( in my imagination ) where they first met is that of a small, kind of darkish store of secondhand books, a bit musty, with dusty books on the shelves ….. the pic you show is nothing like the one I had in mind. It’s nice, though.

    • I think that’s the HP bookstore hangover that a lot of people have when it comes to witches buying books. Remember, this place also serves the Normal public, too, so they look pretty, well, Normal.

      The Original Annie said the same thing when I showed her pictures of the bookstore. She imagined it being all dark and mysterious. I wrote that it was gloomy inside because it was gloomy outside.

  2. So, before, it is Annie who has been ” summoning ” Kerry in his dream? Is it also possible that sometimes Annie fails to see him in her dream ? Now, they can actually meet ” awake” and dreamwalking together. Nice.

    • Annie managed to summon Kerry that one time: the others she’d go into his dreamspace and pull him back to their shared area. Kerry’s probably doing to do the same with Annie.

      Think they’ll get tired of seeing each other? They aren’t able to DW all the time, so maybe one or twice a week will do.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

