Home » Creativity » Troubles on the Laptop Front

Troubles on the Laptop Front

Yesterday, all my writing was so far away…

I lazed around all afternoon because I really did need the rest–at least I was lazing until I lost my video driver that allows me to connect my laptop to my television, at which point I had about an hour trying to figure out how to get it back, which wasn’t a lot of fun.  Then I was going to do maybe forty minutes of writing after taking my notes for Fear the Walking Dead, and I plug in my HDMI cable and get a picture on my TV, but no sound.  That took me about forty minutes–my writing time–to finally figure out to do a full-on reboot with the cable plugged in to reset the drivers and get everything back to where it was–

"This is not fun!  I could be writing about my kids being miserable!"

“This is not fun! I could be writing about my kids being miserable!”

So now I know the routine:  if I lose my HDMI connection plug in the cable, reboot the system, get the drivers back where they were.  Easy Peasy, as Pinkie Pie would say.  At least I relaxed, didn’t take a two hour nap, and slept through the night–though, if all the stuff I kicked off the bed and on to the floor is any indication, I didn’t sleep easy.

So, lots of writing tonight as we prepare for what a lot in the U.S. consider the last full week of summer.  I don’t ’cause it’ll stay hot for a few weeks into September, what what do I know?

Well, I know Kerry’s about to admit something–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry glanced to his right. “You mean here? Or San Francisco?”

“The later.”

Kerry stared off towards the bridge. “I miss it more than I like to admit—and, at the same time, I don’t.” He sighed. “Does that make sense?”

Annie rested her hand upon Kerry’s leg. “Not yet, but I’m certain you can explain yourself.”

He nodded. “Before I came to school I missed living in San Fran a lot. This is where I sort of grew up, and there was a time—maybe about the time my grandfather brought me here—I figured I’d live here forever.

“Then you told me about the difference between a house and a home and how all the time I lived here I was in a house; I didn’t have a home.” He began bobbing up and down slowly, something Kerry did when he was nervous. “I still don’t have a home, but that’s another story—

“Before I met you face-to-face I thought maybe I’d come back here some day and maybe, I don’t know, get a place downtown and live here for a while.” Kerry set his left hand over Annie’s. “I never said anything but I, um, thought you’d be with me, too.”

Annie was surprised to hear this as it was the first time Kerry ever admitted he thought of them sharing a life together before they knew it would happen. “You never said anything because you were afraid of how I’d react, weren’t you?”

 

Right here is the first indication we have that Kerry Who Could Remember His Dreams–not to be confused with the kid in the A Level book who couldn’t–thought at an early age that maybe Annie and he would eventually, you know, settle down with The Chestnut Girl–whom he latter knew to be Annie–and, I don’t know, have a life together in the City by the Bay?  The stuff you wouldn’t imaging he ever thought about, but apparently did.  Which is why when he thought Annie was abandoning him, he completely lost it and blocked her out–completely.

No need to worry about that, but he makes an another admission he’s probably not said many times–

 

“I’ve always been afraid, Darling.” Kerry hung his head a little. “I was nine and had only said I loved you a few months before. Even though we’d both professed our love, it’s another thing to mention to your ten year old girlfriend that you sometimes imagined you both living together.” He finally turned to her and offered a weak smile. “We know better now, don’t we?”

“Yes, we do.” She raised his hand to hers and kissed the back. “Tell me more, my love.”

He nodded. “Now that I know what you would like and we know our future together, I don’t have the feelings about this place that I used to have. Do I want to bring you here for a visit? Yes. Would I live here if The Guardians had us working out of the headquarters? Absolutely, though with jaunting we could live at Lake Tahoe and commute every day.”

“We could, yes.” He understand that we can live in locations that aren’t close to our work.

“But as far as coming back to live here because I miss the local?” He shook his head. “I don’t need that anymore. The whole world is starting to open up to us and it’s ridiculous to think I should confine myself to this spot because my seven year old self thought I’d stay here forever.”

 

Now you gotta give him a little credit:  he’s thinking that if they ever work in San Fran Annie and he and whatever gaggle of little witches they have can live up in the mountains around Lake Tahoe and jaunt into work every day, then jaunt home when the day is done.  The reality is you can always live anywhere within a time zone or two of your place of employment and just teleport back and forth to work on a daily basis.  So, you know, they could both live in the Rocky Mountains and jaunt off to the West Coast or Chicago and be within an hour of either place.  It makes communing a lot less stressful, that’s for sure.

Even then, however, Kerry admits to being scared.  Not about fighting things that want to kill him, but rather his personal life.  And we’ve seen that a lot with him, and will probably see it more in the future.  I know we will because I know their future, and it won’t always be pretty.

So we finish up this scene tomorrow, I do my recap and a little writing tonight and everything will be copacetic.

Let’s just hope I don’t have any more computer issues.  I hate that.

6 thoughts on “Troubles on the Laptop Front

  1. Kerry likes Lake Tahoe ! ! ! That’s about an hour from our house, 35 minutes to Napa Valley , 1. 45 minutes to San Francisco ., 2 hours to Yosemite. I love Lake Tahoe… it’s so scenic and quaint. Theyre actually not so far away, because I travel 25 minutes to work everyday.

    I really feel Kerry is a San Francisco guy…I “ve never thought of him as European, or Welsh, and I cannot imagine Kerry living in Bulgaria , nor France.

    • Kerry hasn’t had the chance to check out Paris yet; he might like visiting there a lot. And he hasn’t been to Tahoe but once, but he loves the mountains and being by the lake, so it would be nice for him. And Annie likes mountains, too. A lot of it depends where they work.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

