Home » Creativity » Those Restful Off Days

Those Restful Off Days

Now Labor Day is over for us in the U.S. and it seemed long and almost relaxing.  Except for getting sick to my stomach yesterday from having too much coffee before eating, which is a real thing with me now.  I seem to have no tolerance for it these days, not since I cut caffeine out of my normal routine.

But I did get some shopping in and finished Narcos and did the laundry and wrote my reap, so Monday wasn’t a total waste.  I didn’t actually work on the novel beyond what I did in the morning but I did post a long Facebook live video during my time at the coffee shop.  I’m presenting it here ’cause you may want to see what I’m like when I’m posting stream of conciseness video and speaking any thought that comes into my head.

And that brings us to the last part of Kerry’s meeting with Penny.  Call it a luncheon, call it a date, call me for dinner, but he gets a lot out of this get together–and there’s something else he learns while walking in the woods:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

That made as much sense to Kerry as anything he’d heard until now. Dealing with your parent’s reaction to being a witch was one area where Annie couldn’t help out: having lived her entire life among witches meant that her folks were never going to get crazy with her because she could Craft and they couldn’t. It wasn’t a big difference between them, but at a time like this Penny’s observations were far more helpful.

He allowed a long sigh to escape. “They really don’t make it easy for us, do they?”

Penny turned toward him, nodding. “You just have to let things work themselves out, that’s all.”

Kerry didn’t seem quiet that convinced. “What if they don’t?”

She shrugged. “They usually do.”

“But what if they don’t?”

“Then you turn to your friends for support.” She stuffed her hands in her jacket pockets and looked around as she spoke. “You have Annie: always turn to her when there is no one else, ‘cause she’s gonna be the closest to you. And if you can’t get a message to her quick enough, you an always call me.” She pulled him to a stop as she turned towards him. “You know you’re my mate, don’t you?”

For the moment Kerry was at a loss of how to respond. “You are?”

“Yeah. You were there for Alex and me during the last race season and now I’m here for you. I mean, you don’t have to zoom across England to see me: we can always met somewhere in between.”

Kerry looked down at the ground; a few seconds later there was a loud sniff. “Yeah, sure.”

“Kerry—” Penny barely touched his arm. “What’s wrong?”

He looked up and brushed the tears from his eyes. “Five years I’ve lived in the UK and no one’s ever called me their mate.”

“Well, you don’t have to worry about that any more.” She planted a hand on his shoulder. “Just know I’m always around if you need to talk. I know this is a hard time, but trust me: it will get better.” She chucked. “I guess that’s why The Foundation calls it ‘Coming Out’. It’s kinda the same thing.”

“It is.” He began walking once more. “Just gotta deal with this.”

“Sure do.” She fell in next to him. “At least you have somewhere to go if they try and toss you out.”

“Oh, well—” There was a dry sound to Kerry’s chuckle. “They’d never do that.”

“Yeah?”

“Yeah.” He stared straight ahead. “I’d have no way of knowing thy were ignoring me if I wasn’t living at home—”

 

It’s nice that Kerry has Annie to love and cherish and to feel he same in return, but having real friends is important to him as well, and Penny is the first to profess, with no hidden romantic strings attached, that she’s his “mate” and that she’s there to help out, ’cause that’s what mates do.  It touched Kerry so much that it brought a tear to his eyes, and crying’s something he doesn’t in front of other people if possible.  The fact that Penny never commented on his show of emotion proves she’s a good friend who accepts that Kerry is who he is.

With that meeting out of the way it’s easy to jump ahead a few days and visit another local, one that involves a couple of girls with “A’s” in their names.  And that involves heading off to another location I’ve never visited, Kiev, Ukraine.  In fact, the girls are meeting at one of the most well known locations in the city, one that Kerry knows:

If you squint real hard maybe you'll see Alex and Annie down the block a ways.

If you squint real hard maybe you’ll see Alex and Annie down the block a ways.

7 thoughts on “Those Restful Off Days

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

