Home » Creativity » Into the Sleepy Breach

Into the Sleepy Breach

At the moment I have a head full of concrete and it’s not getting any better.  I’ve been up since four-thirty, been out shopping, and have watched some TV while barely staying awake.  Why no nap?  Because I have a package coming in that I want to pick up today and if I’m not down in the lobby when the mailguy comes I won’t get it until Monday.  This is what happens when you live in a big apartment building and you have no recourse on getting your package:  you put your life on hold and wait, wait, wait.

Though  did get something nice out of this:

Shopping--remember?

Shopping–remember?

Yeah, a new skirt and some nice dress boots that come up over my knees ’cause yes, that’s what I like to wear.  So as soon as it gets cool I can start wearing this into work once in a while.  It’s like something Annie would want me wearing…

Oh, and this happened, too:

Still a Ginger:  Still Gorgeous.

Still a Ginger: Still Gorgeous.

Speaking of Annie there was a question on the table and my Bulgarian Buttercup was supposed to give an answer–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

“Certainly.” Annie found the request a bit strange as Alex had never seemed shy about asking thing or expressing herself. “You can ask me anything.”

“Okay…” Once again the nervousness Alex showed before they entered the restaurant reappeared. “Would you be willing to tutor me in…” She looked around to see if anyone was nearby before leaning over the table and speaking in hushed tones. “Formulistic Magic.”

The food arrived and once more conversation needed to stop until they were alone. Annie reached for one of the rolls. “I thought you had excellent proficiencies in Formulistic Magic.”

“I do. But…” She swallowed a roll whole and slowly chewed before swallowing. “I want extraordinary proficiencies. I was hoping that at the end of the last level Sladen would invite me into AFM, but she didn’t. The only reason why I think she didn’t invite me is because I didn’t have extraordinary proficiencies, and that’s what I want.” She motioned across the table with her chopsticks. “I figure since you’re already in AFM you might be able to see what it is I’m doing wrong.”

Until this moment Annie had never considered the possibility that someone else might ask her for help outside outside of a normal class routine where she was expected to ask as a minion and assist struggling students. She was curious about one thing… “Why do you want to get into the advanced class?”

Alex stared at the table top as she methodically tapped her chopsticks against he surface. “I’m trying to decide if, when I go to uni, I want to major in chemical or aeronautical engineering. I love both, but, you know, I really want to make certain.

“One of the reason I wanted in your class is you guys are getting access to the Superlab this year and I really want a shot at that.”  Alex continued after a few seconds. “My proficiencies are excellent and I thought that would be enough to get an invite for my D Level into your class. When that didn’t happen—” Her shoulders slumped as she sighed. “I figure I must be doing something wrong. I didn’t say anything while we were getting ready to leave at the end of the last school year because I wanted to think things out and see what it was I really needed. And this is the conclusion: I need help to get to the next proficiency level.”

She leaned over the table. “If I stay in regular Fomulistic Magic I won’t get access to the Tesla Superlab until near the end of my E Levels and through my F Levels. You guys are going to get to use it a year before I can and that’s why I want to get into your class. I figure if I have everything up to Extraordinary levels by the end of the calendar year Sladen will give me an invite.” Alex flopped back against the padded booth backing. “Will you help me? Please?”

 

The Chemical Superlab in the Tesla Center is a big deal on campus.  It can be used to make a whole lot of mixture every lab pair gets a shot at operating, mixing, and cleaning the lab for various projects.  Was it used during the B Levels?  No.  Why?  Um…  There was an “incident” and it not only needed to come off-line, but refurbishing was required as well (This will all get mentioned in time)–

Getting put in charge of creating something in this place is a huge deal because a lot of what is made by the students ends up getting put out in the real Foundation world if the quality is up to snuff.  Like, maybe someone will be asked to brew up 1000 liters of an antibacterial, or perhaps 500 liters of that LX stuff than Coraline likes to give out to calm people down.  This is why you don’t use cauldrons because you’d need a damn big one to cook a half a kiloliter of a pharmaceutical-grade mixture–

Or you could use this to make meth.  I'm sure Erywin will get crap from her students about that.

Or you could use this to make meth. I’m sure Erywin will get crap from her students about doing that.

In fact, I think there’s a certain boy who may have done just that–

9 thoughts on “Into the Sleepy Breach

    • The boots and skirt are from Lane Bryant. Annie and Alex won’t really go on much of an adventure, much like Penny and Kerry didn’t: this is just hanging out for the day.

      Now, who knows about Paris…

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

