Home » Creativity » Upping the Lunchtime Experience.

Upping the Lunchtime Experience.

First off, I must apologize because I did something wrong yesterday.  See…  I made a mistake.  I was discussing the money Annie was given for lunch and shopping and made this statement:

 

“And in case you’re wondering €500 is equal to $563.   That’s a pretty good afternoon.”

 

And that is a good afternoon as I can imagine a whole lot of thirteen year old girls who would have lost it if their mom’s handed them that much money.

But see, when I did that conversion I forgot:  I was using yesterday’s conversion rates for a transaction that happened on 7 August, 2013.  And now you know why I keep track of dates because I can look up just about anything for that time and get thing right once more.

Just a few minutes ago I looked up the exchange rate for Euro to US Dollars for 7 August, 2013 and got the true rate.  And now I can say that the €500 Annie had for her little trip was, at the time, equal to:

$666.75.

And just so you know my figures are correct, there’s a screen shot with the pertinent line pointed out:

I wouldn't lie to you. Much.

I wouldn’t lie to you. Much.

The only thing that could have made this better would have been if Annie checked her mother’s computer and said, “Mama, the exchange rate will give me a few more U.S. Dollars tomorrow, could we go shopping then?”  Not that it matters as they aren’t in the U.S., but I does make you wonder if before Annie heads back to school Mom and Dad made sure she gets the best exchange rates before they give her a fist full of dollars to take with her.

Now, on with the novel…

Writing last night:  level good.  Only I realize I need a new chair for writing.  My position is all wrong and I’m making a lot of mistakes because I don’t hold my hands right.  So a new chair this week or next:  it’s needed bad.

But it was a good run.  Nowhere near what I have in the other chapters–

But I'm just getting warmed up.

But I’m just getting warmed up.

And just like that it’s time for lunch again.  So…  shall we?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

An older gentleman stood behind a well-warn wooden counter and began eyeing Annie the moment she entered the vestibule and continued right up to the moment she stood before him. He glanced towards the door to see if anyone else was following before turning his attention back to her. “May I help you, young miss?”

“I have a reservation for two at eleven.” Annie showed no hesitation or nervousness. “It’s under the name ‘Annie Kirilova’.”

The gentleman checked his POS system. “Yes, I see. And you are?”

Annie’s nostrils flared just a little. “Annie Kirilova.” She rested her hand against one of the zippers of her Alma BB purse. “Would you like to see my identification?”

The man noticed the determination in this girl’s eyes and decided not to challenge her. “That won’t be necessary. As it is—” He scanned his terminal once more. “Your guest is here.” He waved over a younger man, obviously a server. “Please take this young lady to this table.”

The server checked the POS screen then turned to Annie. “Follow me, please.”

“Certainly.” She cast a glance at the man behind the counter, thanking him, before following her server up the flight of stairs to the dining area. She knew this restaurant well from having dined here with her parents on several occasions, and was aware that at this time on a weekday the lunch crowd was manageable. Even so, she’d reserved a table two weeks after after receiving an invitation to dine for she didn’t want there to be any mishap.

They approached a table overlooking the overlooking the street below and Annie saw that her guess was indeed waiting for her—

 

It’s always been implied that Annie is a bit of a princess because she comes from a family with money and she acknowledges that, yeah, her parents are rich, she’s kinda rich, and it’s something she lives with.  And when she was dining with Alex she made the comment that she doesn’t like to talk about certain things ’cause it makes her come off like a little rich girl.

But here, with the “And you are?” comment, you see just the slightest indication that you will take her seriously or she might just go ballistic on you.  That little flair of her nostrils was her “No, you didn’t” moment, like she couldn’t believe that the guy behind the counter should have instantly realized that the thirteen year old girl standing before him was the one who made the reservation–even though she said she did.  She was probably bitch facing him to death at that point and if she’d been in a particularly shitty mood she would have just whipped out her ID and went, “See?  I am who I am.”  Don’t mess with Annie:  you will rue the day.  Rue, I say!

Now it’s time to meet the person for whom Annie has made a lunchtime reservation for them to meet.  And will the mystery guest sign in please!

 

Deanna Arrakis considered standing but figured it would be better to do so after the server departed: she didn’t want to keep the young man waited for them any longer than necessary. Also, it allowed her to watch Annie stride through the dining room full of confidence. She looks as if she’s back at school: then again, it’s times like this where she learned to develop that demeanor

The server stopped and turned so he was facing Deanna as she indicated the chair across from her. “Tuk ste, mlada gospozhitse. Vashiyat sŭrvŭr shte bŭde s vas skoro.”

Annie gave him a smile as she gave him a tiny nod. “Blagodarya.” She motioned towards the table. “Neka imame garafa s voda, molya?”

The server gave a quick, curt nod. “Razbira se.”

“Blagodarya ti mnogo.” Finally here, Annie faced her guest as her smile brightened. “Deanna.”

The instructor finally left her chair and went to her young friend. “Annie.” They hugged each other for several seconds before retaking their seats. “It’s so interesting hearing you speak Bulgarian. I sometimes forget it’s your native language.”

 

Annie’s moving up in the world:  now she has instructors and coven leaders coming to her country to have lunch with her.  Sure, Kerry had a coven leader show up on his doorstep, but did they have lunch?  Not yet.

One of things I deliberately did there in the above section is change the POV to Deanna so you could “hear” Annie speaking and let you know that in all the parts leading up to Deanna’s observation the Bulgarian Girl is really speaking Bulgarian.  It’s only that I have to write in English so you can read.  Natually I know what they are saying–

And with this guide you do as well.

And with this guide you do as well.

–and one of the things I’ve been doing the last couple of nights is practicing Annie saying “Blagodarya” in a voice I’m sure is like hers.  I’ll have to do that for you soon on video.

The real question here is:  why does Deanna want to meet?  For a friendly chat?  You know, I’m certain that’s the reason–

Oh so certain.

3 thoughts on “Upping the Lunchtime Experience.

  1. Oh, it’s Deanna ! What a surprise.

    Why do I have this feeling though that adults are wanting to have some social interaction with royalty ? Well, that isn’t the case, I know, still…… Is it because Annie and Kerry are , admittedly, super special , and the school has deemed it necessary to guide Annie and Kerry ? To be honest, I’m a bit wary that it’s Deanna Annie is meeting, for some reason.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

