Home » Creativity » Putting It in a Point of Perspective

Putting It in a Point of Perspective

What is there today about this morning?  It’s rainy, it’s humid, it’s gonna suck walking into work because I’ll have shoes and lunch in my bag along with carrying an umbrella.  This is one of those days where I feel like driving in because I don’t want to deal with all the walking BS and having wet feet.

*le sigh*

The one good thing is that I started Scene Three of Chapter Three and not only finished the day with close to nine hundred words, but I’m inching closer to thirty-five thousand.  Won’t be long before I get that “official novel” status going on my page and I can kick back and say that I’ve written another novel.  Published is another thing altogether, but writing these suckers is a blast.  Right?

But the scene I’m into now?  It Mom Time at Casa Malibey, and right off the bat Louise Malibey isn’t at her best–

That’s to show tomorrow, however:

When there's a little more of this written.

When there’s a little more of this written.

On Saturday I spoke at length about what’s happening in this conversation between Deanna and Annie.  Yes, she learns that come C Level there’s gonna be a whole ‘nother advanced class she’s getting–a special one, you might say.  Given who is teach this class, however–just like a lot of people reading, the Bulgarian Buttercup has questions:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Annie picked at her food, unable to break away from the conversation. “You don’t normally do this for students, do you?”

The conversation didn’t appear to abate Deanna’s appetite and she spoke between bite. “You mean give special instruction?”

“Yes.”

“No, don’t do this.” She shook her head without looking up from her food. “I don’t offer special classes like some of the other instructors: the students I work with receive the instruction they require.”

Annie nodded as the question she needed to ask formed. “Are you teaching us because of something you saw?”

Deanna finally set her fork aside and looked directly at Annie as she rested her chin against her hands. “You know if I did I couldn’t tell you; that’s a dangerous thing to do. Trying the alter the future one sees in a vision is nearly impossible to do without context for that vision. So the last thing I’d do is give instruction in the Astral Disciplines because I had a vision that perhaps indicated you need them.

“My reasons are legitimate: Kerry and you are both advanced students because you’re both driven students. You want to be the best and you’ll do whatever you can to be that way. If I didn’t help you here it would only be a matter of time before you went off on your own and tried learning everything on your own.” She reached for her coffee then stopped. “You know why Wednesday brought you into Advanced Spells, don’t you?”

“I do.” Though what Annie remembered the most about the day Wednesday called Kerry and her into her office was the certainty and fear that they were somehow in trouble. “She was worried that we’d hurt ourselves by attempting advanced spells without proper supervision.”

“And she was right; you can get hurt working that way. Even in Astral and Aura spells, if you aren’t sure what you’re doing you could set up a Backlash and that can cause damage in the most unexpected ways.” Deanna finally took a sip of her coffee. “Don’t worry: I haven’t come to this decision because I’ve had a vision of you in a situation where a lack of Astral Disciplines have led to harm or death. You’re getting instruction because

I feel it’s necessary.” She raised an eyebrow. “Any questions?”

“None.”

“Excellent.” The seer flashed her future student a warm smile. “Don’t worry: we’ll have great fun this year. You’ll see.”

Annie returned to her lunch, a slight grin upon her face as she considered Deanna’s last statement. I’ll discover in time if our time together will be fun—but I’m certain it’ll be quite interesting

 

As stated the other day, seeing the future and trying to do something about what you saw are two different things, and without a point of context for a vision trying to change, or make happen, something you saw is a fool’s parade at best.  Deanna knows better than to try and do something like that unless she is sure her instruction will prevent something bad from happening–

Or maybe she knows training them will keep them from blowing themselves up–

Or maybe… there’s something else here?

While you’re wondering about that, it’s time to find out if it’s finally time for Kerry and his mother to have a magical heart-to-heart…

2 thoughts on “Putting It in a Point of Perspective

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

