Home » Creativity » Mother’s Little Annoyance: If Only–

Mother’s Little Annoyance: If Only–

It’s official:  I crossed the forty thousand word make, and The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing is a real novel in terms of word count.  I hit it after nearly five hundred words of writing this morning:

It's all right here.

It’s all right here.

And here’s the breakdown:

 

Total time to this point: 78 days.
As of now: 40,195 words, 515 words a day average.

 

So I’m bad, I’m nationwide, and the writing continues, but I can hold my head up and say, “There’s another novel.”

Speaking of holding their head up–

If you look closely at the above picture you’ll see I’ve finished the second scene, which has also become the second largest scene in the book.  The last excerpt ended with Kerry being a bit of a smart ass towards his mother, which we’re gonna see may not have been the wisest action…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

Louise’s eyes narrowed moments after Kerry’s curt retort. “Your father and I are going to discuss this.”

Kerry shrugged. “Sure. Whatever.”

Her tone turned icy. “He will know about what you’re really learning at school—”

“Which he should know. I wanted to tell this to you guys months ago.”

“He’s also going to know about you and Annie.”

Kerry nodded. “He should know about her, too. Nothing to hide there.”

Louise took a deep breath. “I have serious questions about what you’re taught. Or what you’re allowed to do there.”

It was impossible for Kerry to hide the smirk. “You gonna write another letter to the headmistress?”

You shut your fucking mouth.”

 

And there we go:  Louise finally loses her shit on her son and drops the big one on him.  And since this is something she’s never done to him, it’s impossible for Kerry not to take notice:

 

Kerry recoiled slightly from his mother’s profane outburst. “Wow, Mom. You finally crossed the f-bomb line.” He kept his tone as neutral as possible. “Really, though: who are you gonna talk to about your ‘questions’? I guess you could speak to people at the school—”

“I would if I could.”

“From what I understand you can contact the school that I’m out. But I know what they’re going to tell you: the instructors are given free reign to do what they feel is necessary when it comes to their students’ education. It’s something that Annie’s parents understand because they went there; it’s something Dad and you need to understand, too.”

Kerry’s sigh was difficult to hear. “There’s nothing wrong with what I know—and there’s nothing wrong with me.”

Louise eyed him closely. “If I could I’d never let you go back to that place.”

Kerry’s mouth twisted to one side. “You have no say in the matter.”

“So you say. Doesn’t mean I can’t have a say here.”

There was something in his mother’s tone that didn’t set well with Kerry. “Mom—”

Louise snapped her head in a quick node to the right. “Get out of my sight.”

 

Yeah, she’s not taking this well.  And Kerry knows better than to stay around when Mom flips the bitch switch–

 

Kerry snapped up his travel package and left the dining room. He made his way up the stairs, averting his eyes at the top landing so he didn’t have to see himself in the mirror, then hurried into his room. Once inside he locked and sealed the door behind him so his mother couldn’t walk in or listen from the outside. He tossed the mailer envelope on the desk next to the computer and sat on the edge of his bed, already deep in thought.

He wondered if maybe he’d pushed things too hard, but pushed the idea aside as he reminded himself that it was likely his mother had wanted a confrontation of sorts. She waited until the last minute to discuss the school and magic because she wanted to have this out her way. Otherwise I’d have had plenty of time to explain everything my way, and she couldn’t have that.

He lay back on the bed and stared up at the ceiling. I hope this isn’t any indication of how this year is gonna go

 

Though it didn’t end on an up note, everything about Kerry is out in the open.  Well, almost everything–

"Mom, Dad?  You know how we're told we change during puberty?  Well . . ."

“Mom!  Guess what else I learned at school this year?”

Oh, yeah:  that’s coming…

Now all the parents stuff is out of the way, which means maybe it’s time to finally see something I’ve waited a novel worth of words to write–

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Little Annoyance: If Only–

  1. Well,, Kerry ‘s a bit snappy here, but hes just agreeing, yeah? He’s not contradicting nor arguing. ( That can be very annoying, he he ) “I’m gonna tell your father ! ” Please do. ” I’m going to write to your school and ask them what the heckthey’re teaching my son ! ” Good, you’re a parent, you need to do that.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

