Home » Creativity » Le Parti des Cinq: The Great and Secret News

Le Parti des Cinq: The Great and Secret News

Today is last day of October, so blessed Samhain to all of you out there. If we were in a fictional world instead of this real one, a couple of kids I know would have finished the last Samhain celebration they were ever going to have at their school. Well, I should say the last one they would have as regular students: no one save me can say for sure if they’ll ever be involved in additional classes once they graduate.

But their last Samhain dance over. Kerry’s last Samhain race is over. And my kid’s last walk between the bonfires is now a memory. Assuming this was a fictional. Unfortunately, we live in the real world, and these things aren’t actually happening.

Or are they?

So yesterday, even with all the work I had put in during the afternoon–and trust me, I did some crazy stuff yesterday–I managed to have a rather successful writing experience. The Dragon software has increased my output considerably. Saturday I wrote in nearly two thousand word recap on top of everything else I wrote. And last night… I wrote three hundred and five words to finish the current scene, then turned around and wrote eight hundred and seventy words to start the next scene. That is nearly twelve hundred words in one evening, and that’s something I’ve not done it a long time.

Right here's all the proof you need.

Right here’s all the proof you need.

This is why you’re able to get a look at all of the end of the last scene, and you be able to get a good portion of the next scene tomorrow. Because now, I have writing software that is allowing me to be more productive. It doesn’t mean I’m always right, because going through my work this morning I discovered that even when you’re speaking your words, you’re going to make a mistake or two along the way. And that means needing to be more observant before I copy and paste what I’ve “written” back to Scrivener. Hey, I can’t always be perfect even though I try.

So, we’ve learned that Anna came out–not just once but twice. And it seems that second coming out had more of an effect on her parents than the first one did:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

“No kidding.” Kerry was actually somewhat surprised by this news. “You told your parents or a lesbian?”

“I figured it was best I tell them now, before they started to suspect something later.” Anna looked around the table and shrugged. “I mean, I was already questioning my sexuality when I arrived at school as an A Level. I mean—” she turned to carry and chuckled. “You sort of broke that subject open in Beginning Sorcery.”

Kerry looked down for a moment, slightly embarrassed. “Yeah, um, I really didn’t mean to do that—”

“It’s okay, Kerry.” Anna began chuckling due to his discomfort. “When I look back on that period now, I wonder how I was able to go so long without Lisa saying something.”

He nodded.” Still, I felt kind of bad about outing—well, Lisa at the time. None of us had any idea you were involved—”

“That’s all beside the point now.” Annie leaned forward just a bit. “I’m glad you were able to not only tell your parents about being a witch and your orientation, but that they were accepting of both.” She turned her head a little to the side. “They were accepting, weren’t they?”

 

Let’s face it: it is not unusual for kids eleven, twelve, thirteen, to understand their sexual orientation and gender identity. This happened before many times in the pass, only kids weren’t allowed to act upon it: that’s why we have a closet. And that’s why we had kids who were in pain, suffering, because they couldn’t express themselves the way they wanted to express themselves.

Now this is gone by the wayside: trans kids are coming out at ages as early as six and many have determined their sexual orientation well before they become teenagers. Erywin was one of those kids who, by the time she was finishing up her A Levels, knew she was a lesbian. Only when she came out she got an ass beating for her troubles. It’s a lot different for Anna: she’s coming out to a bunch of people who she’s now thinking of as her friends, and they wish her well and hope her parents were understanding. Like I said, it’s a hell of a lot different period of time. And as far as her parents are concerned–

 

Anna pause for a moment to stare across the street at the scenery beyond the Seine. “Everything is fine now, but…” She sighed as she looked up, pressing her hands against her thighs. “I got all of the usual arguments: I’m too young to understand my sexuality, I’m too young to make this kind of decision, I have no idea that I’m not going like boys as I get older.” She half-rolled her eyes. “I’ve known for a couple of years now that I’m not interested in boys that way. Fortunately, it only took a couple of months to convince my parents of the same.”

“I’m glad they chose to understand you.” Annie reached across the table holding out her hand.

Anna picked up on the gesture and placed her hand in Annie’s. “Thank you so much.”

The appetizers arrived and everyone dug in. Another minute of silence passed while everyone satisfied their hunger. Alex once again broke the silence. “Just curious, but is there anyone now that you would like to know better?”

Penny lightly smacked her roommates right arm. “What’s wrong with you?”

Alex did her best not to look offended. “I thought it would be nice to ask.”

“It’s quite all right, Penny.” Anna waved her hand as if to show there was no harm in the question. “People get asked all the time if there is someone they like; I have to accept the fact I’m going to get asked who I like, and the fact I like a girl shouldn’t dissuade someone from asking.”

Kerry twisted his head slightly to the left and gave Anna a quizzical look. “Did you just say there’s a girl you like?”

Anna blushed. “Scheisse. I did just say that, didn’t I?”

“And I think it should be left at that.” Annie turned to Kerry and placed her hand over his. “When Anna is ready to tell us about her personal life, she will. Until then—” She looked at her friends across the table. “She doesn’t need to say anything.”

“Yeah.” Kerry turned to Anna and gave saw, apologetic smile. “Sorry. I didn’t mean to pry.”

Anna returned the smile. “Danke.” She drew in a short breath. “How did your coming out go, Kerry?”

 

So, yeah: there is someone who Anna likes. And you’ll actually see who it is in this novel; I’m not going to keep that a secret for too long.

But notice the easy deflection. Anna takes questions of being asked of her and turns it around so that she is asking Kerry pretty much the same thing he was asking her. Kerry, however, isn’t quite as forthcoming as this German girl was…

 

He glanced downward for a moment, not meeting Anna’s gaze. “It didn’t go quite as well as yours.”

“Oh? What happened?”

“Yeah—” Penny scrutinized her friend from across the table. “Things didn’t get any better?”

He shook his head. “Naw, they didn’t.” He half looked at Anna from the corner of his eyes. “The coming out could have been better. My parents—” Kerry shrugged. “They’re still kind of getting used to it.”

“I understand.” Anna gave a slight nod. “Did they give you any indication when you left this morning that they were going to try to understand you better?”

Annie had begun watching Kerry as soon as Anna asked about his parents and his coming out. She was already aware that the relationship between his parents and him concerning his being a witch was strained, but she wasn’t prepared for his reaction when she asked about leaving his parents this morning. He doesn’t appear to want to speak about what happened; it almost seems as if thinking about it is bringing him pain.

She leaned close to him and spoke in a low, soft voice. “Is everything okay?”

Kerry turned toward Annie. “Yeah, it’s fine.”

“Are you positive?”

He looked as if he was about to nod before giving a slight shrug. “Yeah, I’m fine.” He leaned close to Annie’s ear and whispered so only she could hear. “I’ll tell you when we get back to the hotel. Okay?”

“Okay, good.” Annie didn’t want to begin a conversation that she knew would involve only him and her: speaking about this in public would involve the other three at the table, and she did not want them included in this discussion.

But not wanting to discuss his departure from Cardiff now didn’t mean his departure wouldn’t be discussed the moment they returned to their room…

 

“Okay, good.” You know, there are certain keywords that women say that is supposed to let you know that you’ve done something wrong. Fine is one of those words. It stated that when a woman tells you “Fine”, you’d better watch out for what comes next. Annie didn’t say “fine”, but “Okay, good” is right up there with, “You better watch out for the shit this Bulgarian girl is going to give you when you’re alone. And it’s safe to say that Kerry is likely to get said shit when he returns to his hotel room.

One last thing: except for the excerpts, all of this post was written using Dragon voice recognition software. WordPress allows Dragon to be used when creating new blog post, and everything written here was done with me speaking into the mic and watching it get transcribed on to the page. Yeah, what amount of public writing, and I have to learn to use my fingers or get a really good Bluetooth mic. But for now, speaking out everything seems to be the way to go.

And if you don’t know by now, I’m all about the new things.

6 thoughts on “Le Parti des Cinq: The Great and Secret News

  1. I guess the dinner went well. And in fact, it was Kerry who turned out to be the awkward one .

    Anna was fine. I wonder how Lisa would react to Anna’s ” betrayal “. And I wonder who’s going to be Lisa’s best friend from hereon. Franky ?

  2. I love Dragon, and my writing is getting better… but… I have a slight lisp and I need a better pair of headphones to catch my words. The pair it came with works for now. For shits and giggles, I may just try my PS4 gaming headphones. Hmmm…

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

