Home » Creativity » Joyeux Anniversaire, Mon Amour: Order and Talk

Joyeux Anniversaire, Mon Amour: Order and Talk

Though no one will actually get to asking I didn’t do any writing last night.  Why is this, you say?  It had a lot to do with going out to get dinner at five o’clock and not returning until almost eight.  Then I watch the last two episodes of an Australian science fiction drama called Glitch, which has a six episodes for season and can be found on Netflix.  Like a lot of shows that outside the US, it’s a slowburn to the very end and the last few moments of the show will leave you guessing and worrying.

It's also a cautionary tale for husbands who suddenly have two wives walking around.

It’s also a cautionary tale for husbands who suddenly have two wives walking around.

Then when I was done with that I really, for sure was going to write, but then I get caught up in adding songs to one of my YouTube playlists.  The list I added to his call my Ten and Twenty Lists, where every song on here is greater than ten minutes long and if you go over twenty.  There’s nearly six and a half hours of music on this list, with the average song length being fifteen minutes and twenty-two seconds.  How do I know this?  Because I put it in a calculator.

Needless to say, this will get me through a day.

Needless to say, this will get me through a day.

I got a lot done last night; it’s just that none of those things involved writing.

"No, this will be easy, I'll just write about whatever come to mind. That should work for the first week--"

“Yes, I should be writing, but wasting time like this is so much more fun!”

Bu never fear because there’s still a lot of show!  And Kerry’s about to get his first taste of French bubbly.  How does he like it?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

As he pulled his glass away Annie spoke in a low tone. “Sip your champagne: don’t drink it.” She raised one eyebrow as she grinned. “It will taste far more enjoyable that way.”

He took her advice slowly drew a sip of beverage into his mouth. He was always surprised by the effervescence, but by how tart yet sweet it tasted. Kerry set the glass down unable to conceal his pleasure. “That’s really good.”

“Given they were serving us it’s probably a newer vintage: probably nothing older than a 2010.” Annie’s eyes sparkled as she sat down her glass. “And yet it tastes so delicious.”

Kerry propped his left elbow upon the table and rested his head against his hand. “The nice thing about having a girlfriend with good taste is I get to experience those same tastes eventually.”

“And in time you shall.”Another waiter appeared and begin to explain the menu they had selected for this evening. Kerry listen as they were told it would have a five course meal with fish as the main entrée, accompanied by a small wine pairing—though, as the waiter explained, instructions said they would have wine with only the main entrée and dessert. He was somewhat dazzled when he heard the selection of food be enjoying and by the time the waiter walked away he did feel as if it suddenly fallen into a world he’d never knew existed. “Did you choose that?”

“Yes, I did. I know how much you like fish and since the chef here is among the best in the world, why pass up that experience?”

“I’m glad I didn’t.” He looked out the window and took in the view. “I really feel special this evening.”

“I wanted you to feel special, my love.” She took another sip of her champagne. “Just as you always make me feel special.”

He turned his attention back to the table and took a quick sip of his champagne before reaching over to touch her hand. “I’m gonna do everything I can to keep making special.”

“You don’t have to do anything more than what you’re doing now.” Annie slowly ran a finger around the rim of her champagne flute. “I’m glad you’re feeling better. I was worried about you when we were visiting the museum.”

Kerry gave a long, satisfying sigh. “Yeah, I was kind of a mess there.” He mimicked Annie’s finger run around the rim of his own champagne glass. “It wasn’t just the painting and the song that got to me—”

Though she hadn’t said anything, Annie suspected there had been more to his afternoon outbursts. “Would you like to tell me what was wrong? You don’t have to—”

“Naw, it’s okay.” He took a quick sip of champagne. “I had a dream last night.”

 

First, Kerry loves champagne and, apparently, Annie knows her vintages.  See, Kerry:  having a rich witch girlfriend does pay off.  Two, they are getting a five course meal which does exist at this particular restaurant.  Not sure of the price a few years ago, but these days it’s €190 a person.  Don’t worry:  the kids got this covered.  Three, Kerry loves being made to feel special.  Most guys would never admit that their girlfriends make them feel special, but Kerry isn’t your average guy and doesn’t have a problem letting Annie know this.  And she not only loves hearing it, but she lets her soul mate know he makes her feel special every days.

Ah, such a lovely couple.

Oh…  and Kerry had a dream that upset him.

Well, this couldn’t be too strange, could it?

7 thoughts on “Joyeux Anniversaire, Mon Amour: Order and Talk

  1. Don’t feel bad about not writing. The election results have dampened my writing efforts as well. It is just so hard to get into my stories when I’m just so upset. Ah, well. Life goes on – and so do our stories. Kerry and Annie – hand me a bottle of that bubbly! I need a drink.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

