Home » Creativity » Sorry Seems to Be an Unneeded Word

Sorry Seems to Be an Unneeded Word

First, before we get to the excerpt, a little update.  I received a number of compliments on my daughter yesterday.  I have to admit at the age of seven she was a real cutie, and she loved posing before the camera even more so than she does now.  (I should point out that her seventh birthday happened two weeks before we were in Paris.)  She hasn’t changed much since then, except that she’s gotten bigger.  I don’t have many pictures of my daughter and the one I do have is from a year and a half ago.

So, without further ado, here’s a picture of my daughter and me from March, 2015:

Back when I was still a blond.

Back when I was still a blond.

As you can see she doesn’t get her looks from me.  I hope by the time I see her again in March, 2017, she’s finally grown out of the sullen teenager mode and has gone into sullen college-bound lady  We’ll see.

Sunday night was the Transgender Day of Remembrance and I went to the vigil on the steps of the Capitol Building.  While there we were covered by various news organizations and I was interviewed.  What got on camera were sound bites, but I do end up having the last word.  Note:  make sure you right click on the link below and open the article and video in another tab.

Physician general commemorates transgender victims of deadly hate crimes with candlelight vigils

Now, writing!  The current scene I’ve been excerpting is complete, as is Chapter Five.  And that means Chapter Six is next:

Because that's how numbers work.

Because that’s how numbers work.

If you’ll look at the left-hand side of the above image you’ll see that I have all the scenes developed for ever chapter in Part Three, which means I’ve plotted the whole of Act One.  I also have the chapters in place for Part Four and I’ll take time to do the plotting tonight.  And I know the chapter that will start out Kerry’s transition:  Chapter Sixteen.  So only ten more chapters to go before I get to that fun.

Oh, and the opening scene title to Chapter Fifteen, Samhain Dancing, gives a hint to the costumes Annie and Kerry will wear this year.  It just came to me last night and makes perfect sense.  And I figure out what costume Nadine’s gonna wear, too.  So much fun.

Not a lot happens in this except, but there is a quick clarification of matters–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Once out of earshot of their fellow students Kerry glanced over at Annie. “Why didn’t you tell me you came here after our A Levels were over?”

“I was afraid if I told you I’d come here you would’ve been upset.” She looked out over the city for a few seconds. “I told you, I don’t want to feel as if I’m bragging because my life is so much—”

“Better?”

“I was going say different.”

”I know it’s different and I accept that.” Kerry stopped and told Annie close to him. “And by now you should know I don’t care. I know your family has money; I know you have money. Just like you know that matters to me.” He gently pressed his finger against the tip of her nose. “This is what’s important to me—”

“My nose?”

Kerry laughed aloud before turning and walking with Annie toward the north side of the tower. “Touché. You got me with that one.” They stopped just past the Bar A Champagne and gaze down upon the magnificently illuminated Palais de Chaillot. They both gaze upon it in silence for nearly twenty seconds before Kerry turned and kissed Annie on the cheek. “I’m sorry.”

Taking hold of his hands Annie turned to face Kerry. “Why are you sorry?”

“Because I been acting so weird of late.” He wrapped his arms around Annie and held her close. “Letting all this personal stuff it between us and—”

“And nothing.” Annie locked eyes with her soul mate. “We’ve already discussed this and it’s behind us. There’s nothing for which you need to apologize.”

She rested her head against this chest. “We have plenty of other things with which to keep us busy.” Annie released a long, slow side. “This is not going to be an easy year.”

Kerry didn’t need an explanation concerning Annie’s statement. During dinner she told him about the advanced class that Deanna was going to teach and how they would be expected to do additional minion work through the coming school year. When he weighed all of that on top of his upcoming transition and preparing for the Polar Express, he knew exactly what her statement was meant to convey.

He pulled her close and looked towards the Palais de Chaillot. “We’ll get through it, Darling. We’ve gotten through everything else, so I imagine we’ll get through this level somehow.”

“I know, my love.” Annie snuggled against him. “I’m just worried that what happened between you and your parents will—”

“We’re not talking about them.”

She glanced at Kerry, surprise by the tone he used when speaking. “You’re positive you don’t wish to discuss this problem?”

“I don’t want to speak of them at all.” He put a finger to his lips as he glanced toward Annie and lowered his voice considerably. “Look.”

 

While Kerry is all about being conciliatory about, as he sees it, messing up their time before school, he comes back and tries to make it right–more of which he’ll do tomorrow.

For now, enjoy the silence.

10 thoughts on “Sorry Seems to Be an Unneeded Word

  1. I enjoyed this post and the one with your Paris photographs.
    Your daughter must have been thrilled to be in Paris. I guess her smile says it all.
    I think she does favor you. If she didn’t have bangs and wore glasses there’d be a match. Lovely photo of you both.
    Happy Thanskgiving Day …🦃
    Isadora 😎

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

