Home » Creativity » Back to the Departing Grind

Back to the Departing Grind

The long holiday is over this time to get back to work.  This feels so strange for me right now because everything went so quickly and I don’t know why.  I think it’s due to actually doing some stuff this holiday, rather than sitting around the apartment doing nothing like I’ve done past.  It’s just that it doesn’t feel like I have done anything.

Also, I woke up this morning feeling like I normally do when I’ve been drinking.  The but yesterday I didn’t drink.  I think it’s my body trying to tell me something–

One thing I did do was add one thousand, two hundred, and seventy words to the next scene which is a new scene.  It took longer than I thought it would but still: almost thirteen hundred words in about two and a half hours.  And in doing so I passed the seventy thousand word mark.

Here it is in all it's glory.

Here it is in all it’s glory.

If I stick to the rate at which I’m writing now, it’s entirely possible that I’ll hit ninety thousand words before the end of the year.  That wouldn’t be bad: nearly a hundred thousand words in six months time.  At that rate, I’ll finish this novel up at the end of next year.  Hey, at least it’s a goal.

But I’m not ready to show you the new scene yet.  Sure, you get to see a little of the above, but were not quite there at the moment.  All I’m going to say about the new scene is you are going to be extremely surprised at how Annie and Kerry traveled to Boston.

In the meantime, let’s get back to thinking about the psychological issues this boy is undergoing:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Annie resisted the urge to groan softly. She was well aware that Kerry tended to downplay his issues, insisting instead that whatever troubles he had were not as bad as others imagined. “I understand, Professor. There are times when he can be—”

“Obstinate?” Erywin drew in a long breath and followed it with a soft chuckle. “I’m well familiar with the type: you might say I have one like that at home.”

This time Annie did chuckle. It had been remarked several times that Kerry and she were much like Erywen and Helena in terms of the relationship—that Annie was the cool and calculating one, while Kerry was the one with his emotions visible for all to see.

There were a couple of differences, however. For one, while Erywin had participated in a Guardian operation, she wasn’t a member, whereas Annie considered Kerry and herself to be Guardians in everything but name. And two, at times Kerry could become as obstinate as Helena but it became a matter of being forced to reveal his feelings on certain subjects.

It was this last part that had bothered Annie during the last three days. It wasn’t that he didn’t understand there was a problem at home, it was that he seemed more intent on placing the blame for what happened on himself rather than his parents. She thought after their discussion at the Eiffel Tower that he would put the matter completely behind him, but not receiving an answer to his text messages returned Kerry to the demeanor he exhibited Monday and part of Tuesday.

Annie wished she could make Kerry understand that his parents were still hurting him even though they weren’t here.

 

Once more with the shitty parents, I see.  And he is being slow to understand this stuff, which is par for Kerry as he’s Captain Clueless in a number of things.  Psychological issues, boy, he’s got ’em.  Also, the longer this goes on, the less of a favorable opinion Annie will have of her future in-laws and that’s not a good thing for them.

But never fear!  We don’t have to wait long to see what happened to Kerry–

 

“Ah, see? I told you they be waiting for us.” Deanna entered the lobby with Kerry close behind. The seer pulled Annie’s roll-on luggage behind her while Kerry had his backpack in his luggage. “He was waiting for the lift; I offered to give a hand getting this down the stairs—” She handed the luggage to Annie. “So you wouldn’t have to wait any longer than necessary.”

“Thank you, Deanna.” Annie quickly turned her attention to her soul mate. Neither his eyes or cheeks appeared red, leaving her to believe that he had not cried. But unlike the other students eagerly awaiting the bus to the airport, Kerry’s mood appeared somewhat subdued.

She went to Kerry and touched his arm. “Are you all right?”

He managed a slight smile. “I’m better. Really.”

“Are you?” Erywin stepped up close to Kerry and spoke in the same soft tone she used with Annie. “I heard what happened last night and today.”

Kerry didn’t seem surprised. “I figured you might.”

“When we get back to the school, I’ll have plenty of time this weekend if you want to speak with me.” She rested her hand upon Kerry shoulder. “Okay?”

He half closed his eyes as he smiled and nodded. “I’ll let you know if I wanted to talk.”

“Just shoot me off an email and I’ll set something up.” She leaned over so that she was almost face-to-face with the boy and spoke so that only Annie and he could hear her. “I care about what happens to you, as do many others.” Her eyes shifted towards Annie for just a second before shifting back to him. “Don’t be afraid to use us as an outlet. I do more than teach chemistry, you know.”

“Erywin.” Deanna motioned as she stepped away from the group. “Let’s take care of our account before the bus arrives.”

 

Counseling at Salem is a lot like most everything else:  the students have to want to see someone so they can talk out their issues.  There are two exceptions to that rule:  the first is if you try to hurt/kill yourself, which gets you a visit to the school’s ICU and at least forty-eight hours of observation under “medication”.  The second is trickier:  someone has to make a determination that you’re incapable of deciding that you need counseling–the proper term is that you suffer from “diminished mental capacity”–and Coraline puts your butt in a seat across from someone whether you like it or not.

Now, Kerry doesn’t fall into either of those categories, so getting him to actually speak with Erywin is easier said that done.  Annie speaks with Deanna, but they usually have boy talks:  she’s yet to sit and say, “Man, I’m burned out from all the killing.”  Actually, they both keep their feelings pretty much to themselves when it comes to the stuff that really bothers them, and who knows if this’ll lead to issues later one.  We’ll see.

Annie saw that Kerry wasn’t crying–but how does he feel?

 

As soon as the two instructors were gone and he came over and wrapped her arms around Kerry. “Are you upset that I told Erywin about what happened?”

Kerry barely shook his head. “No. I sort of assumed you would.” He gave her a quick kiss before whispering in her ear. “You’re just looking out for me, I know.”

Annie cast her gaze downward for second. “Did they reply while you were up there?”

“No.” He gazed out the window. “I don’t think they will.”

Annie was about to say something derogatory concerning his parents when Erywen’s voice rang through the lobby. “The bus just turned on to the street. Everyone gather their luggage and queue up on the sidewalk.” The statement was no sooner finished when a large bus came to a stop directly outside the entrance to the hotel.

Kerry glanced towards Annie. “Almost time to say goodbye to Paris.”

It wasn’t difficult for Annie to hear the sadness in his voice. She took hold of his hand. “We know were going to be here again.”

“Let’s hope it’s under better circumstances.” He grabbed hold of his luggage handle and headed for the sidewalk without another word.

 

Yeah, pretty much like that.  He for sure needs a smile on his face.

Maybe he’ll find one on the way to the airport.

4 thoughts on “Back to the Departing Grind

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

