Home » Creativity » Finally On My Mind

Finally On My Mind

Well, I slipped up last night.  I made it to six hundred words before realizing I was about to launch into a wordy section of the new scene, at which point I thought, “I could do this tomorrow,” and relaxed.  So almost seven thousand words in seven days, but it seems like I’m back in a kind of groove.  At least when I’m ready to write.  We’ll see.

Now, back to the excerpt of yesterday, which has the Lovey Dovey Couple laying in bed chatting.  That’s a pretty common thing to do, so why not let these guys do the same?

And in talking while flying along at ten thousand meters, Annie has a question:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry looked at the ceiling imagining some of the conversations Annie and Helen had while alone. “I’m sure it’s gotten colorful at times.”

“Um, hmm.” She stopped playing with Kerry’s hair and began tracing the outlines of his ear. “My love?”

There was something in Annie’s tone that immediately put Kerry on guard. “Yes, my darling?”

Annie remained silent for a few seconds of she ran her finger over his lips. “I’ve never really wanted to say anything about this because I don’t want you to think that I don’t trust you, but…” She rolled on her side ahead still against Kerry’s chest, but Annie looked off towards the head of the bed. “If Emma should try anything during The Polar Express—”

“I will shut her down immediately.” Though The Polar Express wouldn’t happen for several more months, he had given some thought to the fact that Emma and he would be completely alone for at least two nights. He didn’t expect anything to happen the first night, as that would be the night they would jaunt somewhere into Canada, set up their campsite, and go immediately to sleep so they could prepare for flight that coming morning.

It was the next evening—when they would have to spend a night in the wild together—that concerned him the most. He felt that if a chance arose where Emma would actually try to proposition him, it would happen at night. He didn’t think she would, however—

I know Emma well enough that if she’s still carrying feelings for me when we leave on the trip, she’s going to say something. It would be kind of stupid for her to do so, but where her feelings are concerned, she doesn’t always think.

 

For close to three years and three-quarter of a million words I’ve been asked at various times, “Why isn’t Annie concerned about Emma?”  Here we find out that, yeah, at this moment in time the idea of Emma being with her soul mate in the middle of kilometer after empty Canadian kilometer is making Annie wonder, “Will that stupid bitch actually try something?”  And to Kerry’s credit he’s already anticipating the possibility that his wingmate might decide to “do something,” even though she’s been told more than a few times that she’s never advancing beyond “good friend” no matter how much she wants more.  Because he knows there are times when Emma doesn’t think.  Like when hormones are involved.

Now, I’m almost certain that I’ll be asked, “Why doesn’t Annie just warn Emma away?”  And that’s a good question, probably one Annie’s asked as well–

"I could solve so many issues with Emma if I just killed her now..."

“I could solve so many of my issues with Emma if I just killed her now…”

Okay, maybe she hasn’t.

Let’s face it:  Annie knows she shouldn’t confront Emma at this point.  One, it makes her look like a jealous girlfriend and Annie doesn’t want to come off that way.  Two, she knows Kerry won’t give into temptation.  Why would he when his OTP is right there in bed with him.

And three:  Annie’s been infected with the same hormones the rest of the girls around the school and maybe she’s not one hundred percent certain Emma might not cause her to lose her temper.  If that were to happen, smart money is on the sorceress bitch to put down the Ginger From Bolder for good, which is something else Annie doesn’t want to do, either.

None of it matters ’cause Kerry has a cunning plan…

 

And he was ready for her. He was determined to let her down gently—because the last thing he wanted was a pissed off girl as his wingman in the middle of The Polar Express—but at the same time you make it extraordinarily clear that her chances of gaining his affections were far less than zero. In a way he hoped she’d say something before the end of the year because it would cause far less drama than pushing her back into the friend zone somewhere in the middle of Frozen Bollocks, Canada.

He lightly touched Annie’s cheek. “Hey, lovely girl.”

She turned to look at him. “Yes, my love?”

Kerry stroked her cheek. “There’s just one girl who I’m ever gonna sleep with and she’s right here with me.” He shook his head. “I’ve already told her, in no uncertain terms, that she doesn’t stand a chance of getting me to do anything. You are my first and only girl.”

Annie moved up and planted a strong, passionate kiss upon Kerry, one they held for nearly a quarter of a minute. When they finally broke she returned to using his chest as a pillow. “You are the only one who will ever get my virginity.”

He couldn’t help but hear her chuckle. “What is it?”

She rolled on her stomach and rested on his chest so they were face-to-face. “If it wasn’t for the fact I started my period yesterday, I would be tempted to lose my virginity right now.”

 

Okay, Annie!  Thanks for the TMI, girl!  And just like Kerry everyone now knows when Annie has her period.  And that there will be only one guy she’ll sleep with.  And whose hormones seem to be affecting her…

That last is nothing new as we’ve seen her bemoan the fact that she can’t have sex yet.  If this girl is having these issues at thirteen, what’s gonna happen with her in a couple of years?  Sounds like another “talk” is in order and Coraline should see to it soon before that whole Three Bindings thing goes up in, um, smoke.

And speaking of that–they’ll speak of it tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Finally On My Mind

  1. Uhm……. you did say the Binding Rules state in no uncertain terms that both should have their first times with each other, and no one else, or else, it will go up in smoke. However, at Kerry’s age with all the raging hormones of the youth, no one can be 100 % sure the boy will not succumb to some momentary madness, especially if the girl will do anything to make it happen.

    The good thing about it is the fact that Kerry doesn’t get tempted even by Annie. But Annie is more disciplined, and determined to follow the rules…. the bad thing is, Emma is free, and in a confined space, she pretty much can do anything.

    In a normal situation, it will happen.

    • Yes, the Three Binding rules say it’s Annie and Kerry with the Life Binding or it doesn’t happen. But Kerry says he’s ready for Emma Madness and he’s staying strong. And yes: Emma’s in a confined space. Where the temps are like 10 F at night. She’s gonna have to get out of her sleeping bag and into Kerry’s while losing her long underwear if she wants to do anything, and that’s a big order. I think Kerry can hold her off.

      Also, if worst came to worst, Kerry could seal her up in her bag. Transformation magic, you know. 😉

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

