Home » Creativity » Setting the Baseline: The End Before the Start

Setting the Baseline: The End Before the Start

It’s cold outside this morning and it’s going to remain like that until next Wednesday when we climbed back up into the 40s F/5sC.  Personally, we should just get cold and stay that way, it is really difficult trying to address when one day the high is going be forty-five in the next day the high is going to be twenty-five.  So far this winter, we’ve actually had more rain and snow.  But this is to be expected with climate change: winter is never going to be what it used to be.

Last night was first night I got into writing about Deanna in class, and she certainly a bit different than we’ve ever seen her before.  In figuring out what she was going say on her first day of class, I came up with something a bit unusual that will be something of revelation when it’s presented.  But that won’t be for a while, as I am still eighty-three hundred words ahead of the excerpt this morning, and likely will be nine thousand words ahead by the time I go to bed tonight.

Speaking of Dragon software–I know I wasn’t but in a way I was–I was contacted yesterday about getting the newest version which is optimized to run on Windows 10.  The version I currently have isn’t, which is probably why every so often Chrome flips out and goes completely black, and it jacks my WebGL so bad that I have to reenable it.  There’s also the possibility I’ll be able to get the upgrade for $99, which is a really good price.  So I’m kinda holding out until I’m contacted again in two weeks and asked if I want to buy.  I can run with what I have, but I certainly would love the upgrade.

"Yeah, easy for you to say, Professor, you never had to worry about getting you iPad taken away because you came out!"

“Getting software for cheap is a whole lot easier that researching hormone levels on the Internet!”

But enough of that: what’s going on with my kids?  They’re finally finishing up the medical examination that takes up the last scene of Chapter Seven.  So let’s see what happens here, because it is time to go–

 

The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry just lay on his back stared at the ceiling. “Yeah, I love making medical history.”

Coraline motioned at him as Annie slid off her bed. “You can sit up now.”

He did as instructed and swung his legs over the edge. He sat there slowly swinging his legs. “When is this going to be over? Any ideas?”

Coraline crossed her arms as Annie moved up alongside her. “It’s just short of six months since that last dream: it could be another six before things happen.”

Kerry let out a low, moaning sigh. “I can’t wait that long; I want to get back to something like normal right now.”

“I’m afraid you don’t have a say in the matter, Red.” Coraline came over and patted his bare shoulder. “If there was something I could do to speed up this process, I would. If it’s any consolation, for the rest of the calendar year you’re where you should be and you’ll be getting the best medical attention you could ever want.”

 

If there ever was a truism it’s that Kerry’s at the best place in the world for being treated when the time comes.  He’s surrounded by people who care for him and Annie will be by his side the whole time.  The best he can hope for is that it happens before he goes home for Yule, but that’s months away and right now it’s time to get back into the grind.  And that brings us to the end–

 

Annie sat next to him and took his hand. “If there’s one good thing about this test, it’s that I get to see you with your shirt off.” She ran her finger over his exposed, glowing medical monitor. “And whenever I see this, I’m reminded that we’re connected in more than one way.”

Kerry peaked at the top of her cami. “I can just barely see your monitor—”

“And that’s all you’re going to barely see, Red.” Coraline set the monitors to offload the information it had gathered to the school’s medical servers. “Otherwise I might have to tranq you.”

He sat upright and kept his hands in his lap. “Wouldn’t want that to happen.”

Coraline threw open the privacy curtain. “Annie, you can go over and change. Kerry, you can put your shirt back on.”

Kerry grabbed his tee shirt. “And then we can go?”

“No, I’m going to draw blood from you both and then you can go.” She nodded toward the far end of the ICU. “I’ll be right back.”

Kerry dress quickly and returned to sitting on the bed. He stared at the floor as he pressed his thumbs together and mumbled quietly. “I really hope this isn’t going to happen every month.”

The privacy curtain across the aisle flew open as Annie stepped out of the bay while pulling her top down over her exposed midriff. “Coraline said the next time she does this is after you transition.” She hopped up on the bed next to Kerry and wrapped herself around his left arm. “Take courage, my love. Before you know it your transition will be here and all this worrying will be out of the way.”

He turned and gave her a tiny kiss on the cheek before resting his head against hers. “It’s one nice thing to look forward to getting out of the way. I just wonder how much else I’m gonna have to worry about before we go home next summer…”

 

It seems like of late Coraline has had some snark to throw out there concerning Kerry and his observations of Annie’s… monitor.  She probably knows that she’s fighting a losing battle against puberty and sexual awareness while being completely aware that earlier in the week Kerry likely managed a good look at Annie’s monitor.  So why fight it?  ‘Cause it’s her hospital, that’s why.  Do the monitor gazing on your own time, kids:  Doc Coraline has a job to do, and if you make her mad she’ll jab you hard when she draws blood.

All the weekend stuff is finally out of the way.  Tomorrow, we get down to class time…

Sorta.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

