Home » Creativity » Divining the Divine: Seeing Over the Beginning

Divining the Divine: Seeing Over the Beginning

Though today is a holiday I have to go and work: I’m actually supposed to be there in a little more than an hour.  And I don’t feel like going.  I’m still getting over whatever it is started coming on Thursday evening and my head is all fuzzy from medication I’ve been taking.  All this so few days from now I’m not a complete mess while in in Washington D.  C.  For the Women’s March on Washington.

Not even sure how long I’ll have to work today.  It’s likely I’ll be done by noon, and if that’s the case, I’ll come home take a nice long nap.  If I don’t do it at my computer first.

"Don't worry, I'll get back to writing as soon as... zzzzz..."

“Just resting my eyes, that’s all.  Back on my feet in no time.”

The scene I’m currently working on has suddenly become the longest in the novel.  Last night I took it just up over sixty-seven hundred words, and the chances are it will pass seven thousand before him done.  This means I also passed the hundred and ten thousand word mark, which only took me fifteen days to reach, due in part to the fact that there were few days when I wrote little or nothing.  Now I’m about closeout Chapter Eight the whole lot of words.

And speaking of a whole lot of words, were about to get into the first moments of Introduction to Divination.  As it’s taken me all day to get to this point, why wait any longer?  Let’s go!

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

The heat that had remained over the weekend was still at the school, and even though it wasn’t that hot—even now, just after lunch, the temperature was only 27 Celsius—no breeze coupled with an oppressive mugginess made the temperatures seem much more oppressive. For the first time since the end of their B Levels, Annie wore her school uniform without tights and Kerry and she used the tunnel system to go to Memory’s End. As she told Kerry when they left the Great Hall, while he was used to this sort of weather, it wasn’t something she experienced that often—and when she did during the summer, she was often lightly dressed.

 Since they knew their way around Memory’s End finding the staircase to the ground floor wasn’t difficult. When they stepped out to the main hallway they found a couple of students milling about wondering if they should enter the first room on the right near us the main entrance, or if they should use one of the three doors on the left. Their schedule said class would be held in Room #1, which was not the doorway close is the main entrance, but rather the one three-quarters of the way down the hall. Deanna explained to Annie sometime before that Room #1 was something of a misnomer: all three doors on the left leading into one large room which could be partitioned into three smaller rooms for more intimate classes. For the C Level’s Introduction to Divination they would use the entire space.

Being familiar with Deanna’s teaching methods neither Annie or Kerry were surprised when they entered the room and found the floor covered in large pillows. About a third of the students stood along the sides of the room looking as if they expected desks and chairs to appear at any moment, while the rest were sitting on the pillows waiting to see what happened next. Annie and Kerry had spent some time with Deanna on Sunday and learned that besides them, only six other C Levels came out to Memory’s End to visit with her—about a third of the C Levels.

Annie wondered how Deanna dealt with the other C Levels who saw her last Friday, and she couldn’t help but wonder if Deanna tried to coax a vision out of them as well…

 

It goes without saying that Annie and Kerry know their way around Memory’s End, because they’ve been out here more times than the other C Levels.  We’ve yet to get an accounting of how many of the C Levels actually visited Deanna during Reacquaintance Day, but at some point will hear the story and you may be surprised by the numbers.  Needless to say, the other C Levels haven’t visited quite as often, they were just plain scared to come out.  The reason for that may have something to do with how Deanna not only views herself, but how she sees others viewing her:

 

The alarm on Kerry’s phone began beeping as Deanna entered the room and waved the door closed behind her. After two years of contact with her, Annie had seen how Deanna dressed for class, and today it was obvious that she was trying to make an impression. She wore her dark hair brushed back over her shoulders so one could see her dangling amethyst earrings. Her long sleeve silk tunic was a lovely robins egg blue and she wore number of bangles on each wrist. Her flowing Palazzo pants were a dark forest green and were long enough that they nearly hid her leather sandals. Annie noticed something she’d never seen before: she wore three rings, two on her left hand and one on the right.

Deanna took a moment to scan the room with her tablet so she could determine who was whom before levitating it towards a large grouping of pillows at the front of the room and setting it gently on the floor. She faced the students, clasped her hands together, and gave a warm, inviting smile. “Well, you’re finally here. After two years of attending classes you get to find out if all those rumors and stories about the strange Iraqi girl whom they say sees the future are really true.

“In case you are lost this is Introduction to Divination and I am Professor Deanna Arrakis. I know some of you feel the urge to chuckle when I say the word ‘professor’, and they really are times when I have to remind myself that even though I turned twenty-eight this year, I am not only an instructor at the most famous school in The Foundation’s educational system, but also the leader of one of the five covens of Salem—the one to which I was assigned when I first came here. And before you ask: no, I didn’t have a vision of me doing either of those things.” There was a smattering of laughter around the room.

She pulled a metal flask of water out of Hammerspace, took a sip, and returned it before continuing. “It’s likely you’re asking yourself, ‘What am I going to learn in this class?’ It’s simple: you going to learn about divination. You going to learn about visions. You going to learn about Pronouncements.” While looking about the room Deanna made a slow motion with her right hand and the lighting in the room came down by about a third. “You going to learn whether or not you have Sight and if you do, you’ll learn how to use your Sight.” She took a couple of slow steps towards the students. “You’re going to learn how to see the future.”

 

After six hours stint at work, where I had the over the massive cold medication hangover, and a boozy, four-glasses-of-wine dinner, I finally get my blog post out.  Sorry it took so long, but sometimes real life is a pain and it gets in the way.  And unlike Deanna, I can’t see the future, so I don’t know when it’s going to be a pain.

Let’s hope, like Scarlett thought, tomorrow will be a better day…

One thought on “Divining the Divine: Seeing Over the Beginning

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

