Happy Birthday to… Us!

Guess who is celebrating an anniversary?

The Snarking Dead TV Recaps

To be honest I never expected to get this far.

You’re probably wondering, “Cassie, what are you talking about?”  What I’m talking about is 10 February.  What’s so important about this date?  This is the date that one year ago Rachel decided to set up a website separate from her own where we could both post our TV recaps.  Up to that point she’d been posting all of her recaps on her own blog site, and I came over in the summer of 2015 to take some pressure off of her by posting recaps for Humans and Fear The Walking Dead.  At the end of my last recap for Season 1 of Fear The Walking Dead I made a joke about hoping I’d be asked back to do more recaps–and that turned into doing recaps for Season 4 of Orphan Black.

It wasn’t long after that the Rachel…

View original post 472 more words

Join the Club: The Final Piece

It’s snowing today and there was the possibility I would have to go into work late, but that doesn’t appear to be the case.  There doesn’t appear to be any news about office delays, while at the same time there doesn’t appear to be a lot of cars on the highway.  I guess this means I’m going into work and I’ll just roll the dice on whether or not there will be anybody in the office, since I can’t seem to find any good news.

I did my get-together with my political woman’s group last night and were still in the process of figuring out what is going to do.  We don’t have to meet again for another three weeks, which is good for me: do give me a chance to rest up and looked at my other options for what I need to do in the political fight.  There’s plenty to do and plenty of action go around: in fact, I’m actually going to a political action group this Saturday before heading off to the Harrisburg LGBT Center for a viewing of the National Geographic episode on gender.  I’m such a busy girl…

But not so busy that I couldn’t write last night.  It wasn’t nearly 1000 words this time, but more like closer to five hundred and fifty.  The inspiration simply wasn’t flowing and I had a difficult conversation to write.  I will say this much, however: in the scene I was working on last night Annie does something that she’s never done before, and it may be a bit of a surprise.  But you’ll probably have to wait about a week and a half to find out what that is, because right now she’s sixty-three hundred words ahead of you.

After this excerpt is printed, of course.

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Ramona smiled as she looked at Helena. “Do you think she’s going to be angry?”

“I don’t believe so.” Helena turned to Annie. “We spoke to her last night about this and she didn’t voice any reservations about you coming over to our side. The other thing she said, though, was she’ll miss not having a real sorceress inside the Rotunda.”

Annie cocked her head to one side. “If I’m hunting down Deconstructors outside the Pentagram, then that means there won’t be any inside the Rotunda.” She glanced between the two instructors. “Isn’t that so?”

Ramona set up and leaned against the arm of her chair. “It is. And we think if it should come to needing to get rid of Deconstructors inside the walls, you’re going to be a great addition to our team.” A slight smile formed on her face. “I take it you’re going to accept?”

“I do.”

“Be careful with that phrase.” Helena laughed. “There’s another person to whom you are supposed to say that.”

A deep blush filled Annie’s cheeks. “I mean, I accept your invitation. I want to be part of the Rapid Response team.”

“Good.” Ramona thrice slapped the surface of her desk. “I’ll set you up with a schedule of when you can meet the others on the team and let you know when we’ll get together for our infrequent training sessions. As we’ve already indicated, most of the members are either on the fight team or are sorceresses in good standing, so the only times we really need to get together is when we need to see how we work as a team.”

“And given what I know about you—” Helena arched an eyebrow. “I know you’re capable of working well in the team environment.”

Annie was somewhat surprised to hear Helena say this as she knew the Head Sorceress was alluding to the Kansas City field operation. Even though she didn’t give any detail, saying this in front of Ramona more or less confirmed the rumor that Annie was doing Guardian work. “All I can say is I’ll do my best.” She sat back in her chair and sighed.  “Won’t Kerry be surprised when he gets out of class.”

This time Helena smiled at Ramona. “I don’t believe he’ll be too surprised.”

Before Annie could ask what the sorceress meant Ramona spoke. “Before he left on his class mission Vicky asked Kerry if he would join Air Assault. We got the answer just before you arrived: he accepted.”

“And—” Helena leaned a bit toward Annie. “Vicky let him know that you were being summoned here to be asked to join Rapid Response, and apparently he felt that you were going to accept the invitation.”

Annie’s eyebrows arched upward as she nodded slowly. “My love knows me all too well.” She looked at Ramona. “He was sent on a class mission? Do you know where?”

Ramona scratched her neck. “Vicky said something about New York…”

 

Coraline’s gonna miss Annie, but she also knows that if Annie’s outside killing Deconstructor she’s making her Triage Team safe and there isn’t a possibility she’ll killed a patient because she was angry.  And Coraline’s going to show Annie a bit more in the area of first aid and maybe even healing, so it’s an even bigger win-win.

At the same time we discover that Vicky has asked Kerry to become part of Air Assault, because he is a good example of Death From Above.  You can almost see him zipping in on some poor bastard and lighting them up for a trip Beyond the Veil.  And smiling all the while he’s doing it.

And now he’s in New York.  City?  State?  Where?

Glad you asked…