Home » Creativity » The First Madness: All Our Work and Persuasive Wingers

The First Madness: All Our Work and Persuasive Wingers

It’s beautiful in The Burg today as it was yesterday.  It actually got up to 70 F/21 C, and I was out walking around in my fleece jacket.  And once I was home it was tee shirt and yoga pants for the afternoon and evening.

Out--

Out–

 

And in.

And in.

Also, seven hundred words were all I needed to finish up the first scene of Chapter Ten and get everything at the superlab closed out–

c-for-continuing-chapter-ten-scene-one-done

No meth was cooked–yet.

Today is also a nice day.  It’s sunny, it’s gonna be low 60s F/mid 10s C, and I’ll spend time at a BLM meeting today.  And tonight I’ll do laundry so I’ll have something clean for my doctor visit tomorrow.  Busy, busy day, let me tell you.

Speaking of work my kids are also busy little beavers.  All kinds of advanced classes, a special class coming up, placement on the school’s protective groups–and now something else?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

“Probably one of the few were going to have over not going to have to work ourselves hard.” She glanced up at Kerry. “Was I correct in hearing Vicky ask if you would considering being a minion for a few of the Advanced Flight One classes?”

He nodded. “Yeah. It sounds like she’s gonna rotate out some of the flyers for minion work. She did a little of that last year: we had Nadine and Riv for a couple of our overnight flights, but remember, we had Penny and Alex for one as well.”

“So now she wants you and Emma to step in.”

“We both did the overnights last year, so we know the routine. Plus, I think she wants to phase Nadine and Riv out a bit: Nadine’s a E Level and Riv’s going to graduate this year.”  He glanced at Annie out of the corner of his eye. “Riv still hasn’t made up her mind if she’s gonna race from what I understand.”

Annie used a bright silver fingernail to trace circles in her soul mate’s thigh. “I don’t mind you doing that, it’s just that were going to have a lot to do this year and it’s not as if you need more work.”

Kerry understood Annie’s concern. They not only had special classes, but they knew they were going to get special special classes on top of the rest of their school work, and burnout was a real possibility. “I’ll ask Vicky to give me a weeks’ notice when she wants me to minion for her. If I don’t feel I can do it, I’ll tell her.” He rested his cheek against her hair. “Is that good?”

Ahhh—” She tilted her head back and kiss his cheek. “That’ll do. But I want you to promise me something—”

He knew what was coming. “I will not let Emma talk me into doing a flight I don’t feel I can do.”

“She doesn’t carry nearly the workload we carry, so for her a weekend flight where she gets to act like she’s in charge isn’t that big of a thing.” She cast a warning sideways glance. “I know how persuasive she can be at times.”

 

Goddamn, Annie!  It’s been two years since the Boulder Ginger nearly got your soul mate eaten by a monster, so let it go, Elsa.  Right.  Like that will happen.

Really, though, from the shade being tossed out it seems that neither girl has completely put behind them the drama that began back during their A Levels.  Though in the grand scheme of things your boyfriend almost being eaten by Cthulhu because someone didn’t want to keep hiding in the woods carries a lot more emotional weight than being rejected as a potential date.  Do this mean this is the reason we had that scene in the trailer where Annie wants to speak with Emma?  You decide.

Meanwhile Kerry’s in the middle of this.  Good thing he’s got his wits about him:

 

It was all Kerry could do to keep from laughing. “I’m not a A Level anymore, Sweetie.” He shifted his head so he could whisper in her ear. “I’ve got a wife to love these days, remember?”

Annie leaned back and looked at Kerry with a smile on her face. “Yes, I do remember.” She leaned closer so he could hear her whisper. “Husband of mine.”

Kerry leaned in until they were touching the tips of their noses together. “Do you know what I wish?” He tilted his head until his forehead was resting against hers.

Annie closed her eyes. “Tell me, my love.”

“I wish that when the Madness is over, we didn’t have to go back to separate rooms.”

Hummm.” She adjusted so that she felt as if she were pressing into him even further. “I would like that as well.” Annie half-opened her eyes. “What brought this on?”

Kerry kept his eyes close while speaking in a mellifluous tone. “I just sort of want to make up for the way I was acting in Paris last week.” A long, sad sigh escape from his lips. “It wasn’t fair to you.”

Annie leaned back and touched her left index finger to the tip of Kerry’s nose. “Shush, you. Do not blame yourself for what happened in Paris. If you want to blame someone, blame your parents for leaving you without so much as a goodbye.” She pressed her cheek against his. “If there is anyone who ruined our time together in Paris, it’s them.”

 

And speaking of smoldering resentment…  We know Annie was pissed in Paris over Kerry’s treatment by his parents and it seems she’s not put that shit behind her, either.  And how much is she bothered?  You’ll find out tomorrow.

In the meanwhile have a good day, everyone.  Let’s have fun–

 

Big kiss, bitches.

And big kisses, bitches.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

