Home » Fantasy » The First Madness: Lines Not Blurred

The First Madness: Lines Not Blurred

Remember how I said yesterday I was going to get another post out?  Well, I did but it wasn’t the sort of post people were expecting.  In other words, I sort of fibbed.  After the long drive to Jersey to watch The Walking Dead when I returned home so I could put in my two cents in recap and then I went out to a political meeting.  Busy, busy girl, I know.  But by the time I got home I didn’t feel like writing, so I sat and watched a movie instead.

You’ll be happy to know, however, that my doctor says my labs are boring.  She jokes that I’m just too healthy and there’s nothing wrong with me, which is one of the reasons why I only need to see her every six months.  But now I don’t have to get labs for another year and the chances are good that when I go back again next February, I’ll be just as boring.  At least that’s what I hope.

But now, let’s talk about something that isn’t boring.

In the last excerpt a couple of days back any once more gave Kerry a bit of castigation over who was really at fault about any bad times they had in Paris.  Needless to say, she doesn’t feel it was his fault that he was treated like a total shit before he left home, so we know where she believes the fault lay.  And it seems that it’s about time for the truth about that event to come out…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Since returning to Salem they had avoided discussing his abandonment by his parents, but Kerry sensed that Annie remained upset by their action. “Let’s not discuss this, okay?”

She nodded slowly. “I agree. We’re here to enjoy ourselves tonight, not discuss those two worthless cretins.”

He couldn’t prevent himself from chuckling. “Man, I guess you don’t like them a lot more than I imagined.”

Annie spun on her seat, tucking her right leg under her left so that she could face Kerry. A cold fury radiated from her eyes and it could be heard in her voice when she spoke. “I will say this just this one time and then I will speak of it no more. What they did to you was deplorable; it was mean-spirited and petty. Your parents spent all summer pushing you away from them, then two weeks before you leave for school, feign shock and surprise once they discovered just what you could do magically is a witch and a sorceress.

“They not only had all summer to speak with you, but they could have also used the time to try and understand what you were and who you had become. They didn’t do that because they couldn’t control the conversation, mostly because your mother is a sadistic control freak and your father is afraid to stand up to her and tell her she’s wrong in the way she treats you.”

 

So Kerry basically pretty much triggers Annie into speaking after they both agreed he didn’t want to discuss the events leading up to Paris.  But let’s face it: in a way, Kerry wants to know how Annie feels.  I mean, after all this is the girl he’s gonna marry in a few years and eventually they’ll produce a gaggle of baby witches together.  No matter how hard you try to hide your feelings for your in-laws, at some point they come out, just as your parents feelings about your spouse always seem to come out as well.

Now we know Annie has strong feelings about her future in-laws.  And how strong are those feelings?  Why, let’s find out.

 

She reached over and took his left hand in her right. “You are my friend, my soul mate, my husband, and one day you’ll be my lover. And I do not like anyone hurting you. I’ve learned to control my actions when it comes to other people doing this because I’m can’t step in and fight those fights for you. I would never hurt your parents and I would never take any physical action against them, but you have to understand it’s not just a case of not liking them.” She drew in a deep breath and closed her eyes as she shook her head. “Right now I hate them.”  She opened her eyes and turned to him.  “I simply fucking hate them.”

 

And I expect this to be the look on some faces while they do.

“ANNIE!  WHAT DID YOU SAY????”

So, let’s review words counts:

A For Advanced:  425,226 words.

B For Bewitching:  331,320 words.

And C For Continuing, up to the antepenultimate word in the above paragraph:  123,881 words.

Total for all this:  880,427 words.

Eight hundred and eighty thousand, four hundred and twenty-seven words until the moment when one of my kids drops their first “fuck”.  I am definitely not George R.R. Martin, as in his world this would’ve happened a long time ago, along with a few rapes and murders as well.  But I have been hinting for a while that it wouldn’t be long before one of my kids dropped the F-bomb, and it won’t be their last.

The reality is I wasn’t planning on this event happening just yet.  The way I had planned this out–and yes, I actually plotted out when I thought my kids would swear this way the first time–it was going to be Kerry who first said fuck.  But then I thought, Annie has swore before–something which is about to come up in conversation–and am certain she’s heard some colorful language around the house once her father’s off the track.  There was also the incident in the Paris hotel where she told Kerry that his parents are treating him like shit, so she was kind of leading up to the moment when she was going to drop a big one on him.

Therefore, I felt this was the perfect moment to let Annie Cross the Rubicon and be the first to let fly with that ultimate of curse words.  Because if there’s one thing Annie isn’t, it’s a demure snowflake who is protected from the rest of the big bad world because it might be too much for her to handle.  No, she’s the girl who killed her first two Deconstructors when she was twelve, so telling her soul mate that she fucking hates his parents isn’t that big of a deal.

And yes: Kerry will also drop an F-bomb or two, maybe three, before the end of this novel.  And it is very likely that Annie will drop another before the end of the novel as well–actually, I know she does because I know exactly where happens, and I know she’ll do the third time because I know exactly where that happens, too.  My kids: they’re growing up fast.  And they’re bringing their little potty mouths with them.

And being that he’s only thirteen years old, Kerry is somewhat amused by this:

 

Kerry didn’t allow any shock to register, though a slight smile began forming upon his lips. “Well, if you’re gonna drop a f-bomb you must really be pissed at them.”

Annie snorted. “You know I swear from time to time.”

“Yeah, but you usually swear in Bulgarian.”

“I swear in English when I want you to know what I’m saying.” She turned towards him with a bit of mischief in her eyes. “And this time I wanted you to know without a doubt.”

 

Annie, however: not so amused. She is not amused at all.  Her amusement has gotten up and left the building as well as the state of Massachusetts.  In short, she is pissed off at his folks and she wanted him to know that.  When Annie doesn’t want you to know what she’s saying she’ll mumble in Bulgarian, and like she said she’s already cursed a few times in her native language.  I should go back to the books and gather all the curses that she’s said in Bulgarian so you can see for yourselves, because you know I have them translated.

And now that we’ve got the cursing out of the way, something is about to happen that’s going to bring a blush to people’s faces…

10 thoughts on “The First Madness: Lines Not Blurred

  1. I’m surprised Annie dropped the Fbomb first. I expected it would be Kerry, seeing that he’s American, and has been watching American and British movies all his life.. Ahhhh, the Brits. They have the foulest mouths in the world. Ha ha ha

    Yep, Kerry’s mother is a hateful human being. Worse, she’s been hateful throughout Kerry’s formative years. I don’t know where the heck Kerry gets his beautiful heart genes from. His father’s an idiot,,, and to think he works at BBC.

    • Annie knows some good curses: I mean, her father is a auto racer and those guys know ALL THE SWEARING. But I’ve found that fuck is pretty much universal so it makes sense. (In Bulgarian “ebi si maikata” is pretty much “motherfucker” and I’m guessing Annie knows that one.)

      But given that Annie is a bit more mature and advanced than Kerry, I thought she’d be the first to let it fly. Particularly when it comes to expressing her feelings about Kerry’s parents. She doesn’t want them mistaken.

      Kerry doesn’t want to be like his parents: he’s loving and wants love and never wants to hurt anyone. Hence his statement the one time about being afraid that he was going to be a bad father. You know he’s gonna love Annie so much, and when the kids comes he’s probably going to be a great father.

      • He’s going to be a great father…. there’s no doubting about that….. I just hope he doesn’t overcompensate , and dote on his kids too much it will turn the kids into spoiled brats. Although, with witches as parents, he he he…. ” Do that again and I’ll turn you into a cockroach ! ! ”

  2. Huh. It surprises me that you originally thought Kerry would be the first to curse. Annie is very aggressive, more-so than Kerry, so it doesn’t surprise me she would drop the F-bomb first. She’s also well versed in expressing her feelings, and I concur with her attitude towards her future in-laws. I fucking hate them too. Go Annie. It amuses me that Kerry’s taking it so easily and even chuckling about it, but maybe it’s because it’s actually really easy to see Annie feels this way. I think he even knew without her saying it aloud.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

