Home » Creativity » Interview With a Vampire Lover

Interview With a Vampire Lover

It’s been a long time since I’ve sat down and did an interview with another writer.  I don’t know why that is; maybe because I spent so much time writing I just don’t have time to ask other writers about their writing.

But this case is a little different.  I’ve known April Marie Canavan for a few years now through the somewhat famous HodgePodge Crochet(tm) Facebook group, the same one I’ve spoken about on more than a few occasions here.  The amazing thing about our crocheting group is that we not only have hookers–yes, that’s what they call themselves–we have various kinds of artists who hang out there as well, including writers like me.

April is a bit new to this game but since she’s hanging out with people like me should get used to the insanity rather quickly.

I told her a few days ago I’d be happy to interview her so she could promote her new book, and because a girl of my word–most of the time–here is said interview.  So kick back, read, and enjoy.

Let’s have some fun.

Let's give it up for April!

And let’s give it up for April!

 

Cassidy

I don’t get to interview other authors very much: most the time of just doing my own promoting. But today I’m interviewing a friend of mine from Facebook and an author who has her own novel coming out here real soon. Her name is April Marie Canavan, and we are talking live! Welcome to my blog, April.

April
Hi Cassidy! Thank you so much for being your awesome self
Cassidy
Well, we don’t want to get into a discussion of how awesome I am. Remember, this is all about you today. And with that in mind, how are you feeling? How does it feel to have your first novel coming out?
April
I don’t feel like it’s real. Every day I wake up and it’s a brand new experience. I’ve never felt so euphoric and horrified at the same time, unless I count the first time I spent the night away from my son.
Cassidy
Why don’t you give us a little rundown on the book itself. What’s it called?
April
It’s called Path to the Key, and is the first in a series called Destruction of Magic.
Cassidy
Will anyone who reads my blog knows I love series, though Destruction of Magic–my series tends to use magic to destroy things. Give us a little run down on the plot. I mean, based upon the title I’m gathering it’s a fantasy, am I correct?
April
It is! This series will focus on the magical realms and how they deal with an ever changing world that is losing magic. Path to the Key introduces you to the world by dipping a toe into the vampire court. Sarah, a new vampire whose ex-husband turned her without her permission, is trying to use their part-human son in order to gain more power. Sarah has to learn not only how to control her powers, but also how to maneuver in the magical world.
That isn’t to say that there isn’t a romance and yes, sex. Because there is.
Cassidy
Given that there is a vampire court, I’m assuming were going to see witches and werewolves and a few other fantasy creatures as well?
And I should say, that I see nothing wrong with sex in a fantasy book. In my first and only published novel, I had a lovely lesbian vampire in a relationship with my sorceress, and they had a very hot time.
April
You’re on fire with the guesses! There is a feisty character you’ll meet in the prologue who is my favorite supporting character that I’ve ever written. We see both the fae and shifters as well in this book, although the focus is definitely on the vampire aspect. Future books will each focus on different magical beings.
Cassidy
I love fae: there should be a lot more books written about them. And I love that you’re going to get into the different realms. It’s nice to focus on vampires, but let’s not forget all those other fantasy creatures out there.
April
Exactly! In fact, I know I shouldn’t stray from the topic at hand but the second book in this series focuses on the fae. I have a soft spot for the light and dark fae courts that I don’t think I’ll ever be able to get rid of.
Nor do I want to.
Cassidy
There’s nothing wrong with that: we all have our favorites in the genre. If my novel would allow it I would have a lot more fae.
Since you said this is going to be the first novel in the series, how many books are we looking at? It sounds like you’ve got more than trilogy at work here.
April
Yes, I have a handful of characters right now on the storyboard who are demanding their own stories be told. I don’t want to limit it to the ones who are plotted out now, but there is a lot of room to grow!
Cassidy
So tell me a little bit about how you go about writing a novel. You say that there’s a lot of room to grow and you don’t want to limit the ones of the been plotted out. Does this mean you do extensive plotting on your stories, or do you do a lot of meta-plotting and just fill in the blanks?
April
 When I first started writing I would fly by the seat of my pants. But as I went on, I realized I couldn’t do that. I’m building an entire universe for my characters, and it’s important to me that there are no continuity problems. I don’t want to break my own rules for vampires, or let something that really shouldn’t work, happen. Now, I have every group of magical beings on their own page with rules specific to their realms. That’s one board. I also have boards with all of the characters and how they interact with one another. I guess to answer your question–I’m an extensive plotter. Occasionally, my muse will tell me to figure out a way to make something random fit, and I work it around like a rubix cube to make everything perfect.
Cassidy
I know what you mean: I do extensive plotting as well and I rely on a couple of different programs to help keep me straight. Which leads to my next question: what sort of software do you use for writing, and do you use any additional software to do things like brainstorm or create timelines?
April

I do, actually. You turned me onto Scrivener a while ago, which I utilize on a daily basis. But I do most of my writing in Word, and then copy it into Scrivener for the scenes. I also have hard copies of all of my characters from Scrivener that are kept on pinboards and documented in hard-backed notebooks. (I’m okay admitting that I’m paranoid and that I’m horrified my computer will just die and I’ll never be able to recover anything)

Cassidy
One of the things I do is make sure I have my Scrivener project backed up to two external hard drives. Have you worked out any timelines for your stories?
April
 Do you mean a timeline as far as the story goes, or a timeline for release dates of the stories?
Cassidy
Timeline for the story.
April
I do have one for the stories themselves, but I do not have one for the release dates,
Cassidy
While we know one release date is very soon and you have a special event coming up for that. Would you like to tell us about it?
April
Yes! To celebrate my very first release date, I’m having a giveaway on my facebook page. As long as you’ve liked my author page you are able to participate! There will be a post for the giveaway that you have to like, comment on, and share publicly to your personal page. Once you do that you will be entered to win one of three signed copies of Path to the Key, as well as a box of goodies and swag that I will ship to you. It will start on the morning of 3 March–today–and will end at 11:59 P.M. tonight.
Cassidy
I’m going to have the link to your authors page on Facebook below so that anyone reading this can come in and join the fun. Where else will they be able to purchase the book once the release party is over?
April
 It will be available on Amazon.
Cassidy
Once you have that link make sure to send it to me so that I can pass the link along to people I know. After all, most novels nowadays gets old due to word-of-mouth and I have a pretty big mouth, so you may as well use it.
April
I’ll make sure to send it over to you as soon as possible. You’re stunning!
Cassidy
Oh, you’re just saying that.
April
Pshaw, it’s the truth.
Cassidy
Okay, so how about a couple of quick personal questions. If I’m correct, you live about thirty miles from Bangor, Maine.
April
I do, yes.
Cassidy
So, do you ever get over there to hang with Stephen and Tabitha King? Or at least hang out in front of their house–which I was just looking at on Google Streetview before I started this interview–and bother him when he heads to the store?
April
I would absolutely love to do that, but no. I have gone to the house and taken the public tour. And as much as I want to meet either one of them.  I know that I’d probably end up like a character out of The Stand if I bugged them!
Cassidy
 Does any of your first novel take place in fictionalized areas like where you live, sort of like what Stephen is done with the towns of Castle Rock and Deary?
April
Funny story, when I first started writing this story, I was living in California. And a large chunk of the story takes place in a fictional area based around there.
Cassidy
But no fictionalized areas in Maine?
April
No not this story
Cassidy
Have you ever gone down to Lovecraft Country in Massachusetts? Or have you read any H.P. Lovecraft?
April
I have!
Cassidy
Visited or read? Or both?
April

I grew up on the Call of Cthulhu, and when I was driving across country to move to Maine I made the detour to Lovecraft Country just to say that I had gone!

Cassidy
Even though my current novel series takes place very close to Lovecraft Country, the closest I’ve ever gotten to that area is Cape Cod. One these days I have to make a trip there.
April
You definitely do!
Cassidy
Is anything else you like to say before you go?
April
I just wanted to say thank you to you. I know you don’t have a lot of authors stop by and it means a lot that you made the time for me. I can’t wait to share Path to the Key with the world.
Cassidy
Well were all looking forward to it coming out, because if there’s anything authors love to do it see their fellow authors get their work out there for others to see.
Thank you for coming and spending time with me, April.
April
It was a lot of fun Cassidy! I’ll see you around cyberworld as I stalk your blog.

 

So there you have it: my first interview in quite some time.  I actually had a fun time with it and I hope to do something like that again with the other authors I know.  (Hint, hint.)

The giveaway can be found on April’s Facebook Authors page.  Click on the link below and you’ll find.

April’s Facebook Author’s page.

Or if you want to go directly to the source, below is the link to the Amazon page for the novel and below the link is the cover shot.

Amazon page for Path to the Key (cover below).

april-interview-book-cover

 

If nothing else, stop by and tell April “Hi!”, and make sure she knows you’re out there giving support.

That’s all for today.  See you all around the blog!

2 thoughts on “Interview With a Vampire Lover

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

