Those Necessary Astral Steps

Hello, hello.  I’m at a place called Vertigo. Well, not really, but I am listening to a U2 song of the same title, so I guess that counts.

It’s been a pretty good morning.  I’ve written just over eight hundred words this morning and managed to finish up the first scene of Chapter Eleven.  I was even a bit surprised when I realized that I had pressed some control keys in Scrivener and everything had turned pretty colors.

See? Pretty colors everywhere.

I sometimes surprise myself when I do these things.

My day at the GSA Leadership Summit went well.  Met a lot of interesting people and, as always, whenever I’m on a college campus it always reminds me of an experience I missed out on and wish I could’ve went back to at some point.  I hate to say it, but as I get older I regret those moments that have been left out of my life.  I shouldn’t, but I do.

Anyway, I felt it went well.  It was a new experience for me and I enjoyed it a great deal.

Here I am, the first in the room–as usual.

If anything I got down on myself because I felt I could have said more, but didn’t.  Apparently the high school workshops found the kids asking a lot more questions, and I asked the people in charge of the summit to include me in those workshops next year.  I feel I have things to say and I’d like to help those who need help before him no longer around to say anything.  In my way, perhaps this is how I see to it that no one lives the life I lived.

But enough of this bummer shit, it’s get on to the story–

This part of the story with Annie, Kerry, and Deanna seemed nearly relaxing comparison to what’s coming next.  The kids are getting already to learn about what happens beyond The Curtain and Deanna is more than ready to teach them.  Of course, before we get to that point, the kids have to get comfortable with their surroundings…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry was aware that Annie and Deanna spoke from time to time and that there were occasions, while he was off flying for Advanced Flight One, that she visit the seer at Memory’s End. She didn’t always tell him what was discussed, though he had been pretty certain she discussed their dreams. This was the first confirmation he’d received on that matter as he had never discussed the field where they often sat in the dreams and talked.

The only time he could recall ever mentioning that location was back during their A Levels when they met with Erywin and Annie discussed how she developed her plans for marriage not long after meeting him. He thought it could be possible that Erywin had passed this information along to Deanna, but he figured it far more likely that Annie had spoken about this.

Kerry looked around the room as Deanna waved the door shut. “I do like this.” He turned Annie. “What do you think?”

She gave the room a quick glance and nodded as well. “It’s a good place to study.” She spun around and faced Deanna, who was now only a meter away. “We are going to study, yes?”

“That’s the idea.” Deanna pointed to a group of pillows just to her left. “Why don’t we sit and get started?” She waited until Annie and Kerry were comfortable before she continued. “I was considering using this year to teach you more about Dreamwalking, but based upon what I’ve heard—or, I should say, what Annie has told me—it’s apparent neither of you are in need of additional instruction there. I don’t want you trying to Astral Project or Astral Walk on your own, so as I indicated to Annie when I met her for lunch in Bulgaria, I think it’s wise that we begin instruction now on the subjects.” She smoothed her jeans and sat on a large pillow in the Lotus position. “We all know you’re both ready to take this step.”

There was one question that had been on Annie’s mind for a while, and she felt now is the time to ask. “Did Helen ask you to do this?”

 

Kerry isn’t exactly stupid and he knows that Annie and Deanna have spoken.  He’s also figured out that Annie had likely spoken with Deanna about his dreams the year before even if she hadn’t come to him and said so.  So just as Annie suspects there are things that Kerry has kept himself, Kerry now suspects that there are things that Annie is kept to herself.  In other words, they act like a married couple.  Gee, talk about starting out on the right foot…

Deanna’s comment reminds us that during the B Level novel she told Annie not to practice Dreamwalking on her own.  We saw where that went, didn’t we?  This is the primary reason for you Deanna conducting this class: as she says, she knows both kids have reached the point in their education were they probably feel they’re ready to move on to Astral Spells and would likely start learning them on her own if no one tells them otherwise.  Deanna is right now telling them otherwise: she knows they’re ready and she wants to teach them.

Annie, however, has a sneaking suspicion that the Guardians may have had a hand in setting up this class.  Deanna isn’t afraid to tell her the truth–

Deanna’s face remained nearly motionless. “Are you suggesting the Guardians have somehow pushed me to teach you a bit of advanced magic that you may be more useful to them?” A slight grin broke out upon her face. “The idea to do this has been all my own, though I will admit I have spoken with Helena on a couple of occasions about the special instruction.”

“I wasn’t certain if the Guardians had anything to do with this activity.” Annie hadn’t been all that concerned that the Guardians were behind Deanna’s actions, but she was somewhat relieved to discover that this was an idea Deanna had put together herself, possibly with input from Helena.

“They may not had any input, but I’m certain they now know that you’re going through this training. After all, I wouldn’t suspect Helena would keep this information to herself.” A coy smile began to form upon Deanna’s face. “Then again, maybe she would. I’m certain she doesn’t want the Guardians to know all your little secrets.”

 

So the guardians haven’t had anything to do with this class, but Deanna’s comment is rather strange: she seems to imply Helena may be keeping secrets of her own from the other organization for whom she works.  This shouldn’t be surprising as, when Mr. Gabriel came calling back in the A Level novel, he knew things that Helen also knew but hadn’t reported–pretty much an affirmation that Helena doesn’t tell the Guardians everything about her two best students.

Sure, it’s implied that Helena is keeping secrets; no one knows for sure.  But Deanna is a coven leader and she has access to school reports that some of the other instructors don’t, and it’s possible she’s read some of the reports that Helena has filed on Annie and Kerry. If so, then she would know that Helena is keeping things away from San Francisco.  And why would she do that?  I’m sure Helena has her reasons…

Perhaps we’ll discover those reasons soon.

Then again, maybe I’ll keep those secrets secret.

