Home » Creativity » Walking With Spirits: Messing With Humans

Walking With Spirits: Messing With Humans

The summer recapping season has begun and I’m about to get into my stuff in a heavy way here soon.  Between setting up a recap, writing over a thousand words on my MerMay story, and then about another five hundred and fifty with this one, I had a busy night last night.

Which brings us to this morning and the continued escapades of Kids Beyond the Curtain.  And the nice spirit who chased away their instructor is having a great time playing tour guide…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

She turned and looked back across the meadow. “No matter what you want to call them, there have been all varieties of creatures and people who have died on the spot.” She pointed summer off near the center of the meadow as she stared at Kerry. “Do you want to see where one of the last kills occurred here? I think you’re familiar with the circumstances.”

Kerry shook his head. “I’d rather not if you don’t mind.”

The Phoenix nodded slowly. “I can understand that.” She jerked her head to her right. “This way.”

They walked the grass of the astral meadow until they reached the outline of what Kerry knew was Toft Pavilion. Kerry knew this place well: it was here Annie and he came their first full day at Salem, Orientation Day, when they went around meeting the teachers they were going to have for the first year, as well as stopping to see Deanna at Memory’s End. This place was familiar to them for another reason, also…

It was also familiar to their tour guide. “You remember this place, don’t you, Kerry?” The Phoenix turned Annie before he had a chance to answer. “Did Kerry ever tell you this is where Vicki and Nadine saved him from the Abomination?”

Annie considered not telling the truth, but she knew The Phoenix would know in an instant if she were lying. “He’s never talked about what happened that day. At least not specifics.” She looked about the landscape around the pavilion. “Since it’s well-known he killed the Deconstructor somewhere near the center of Selena’s Meadow, and that Vicki and Nadine saved him from the Abomination, I suspected this place may have played a part in his rescue.”

 

It’s pretty normal to not want to relive the moment when you were almost killed and eaten by a monster when you were eleven.  Kerry probably has a touch of PTSD over the event, and when you set that on top of all the other negative stuff he’s go going on in his life, he really is a bit messed up.

As I’ve said, The Phoenix loves to push buttons–and right now she’s pushing Kerry’s buttons.  Which means she’s about to turn up the heat on him just a bit:

 

The Phoenix nodded she glanced at Kerry. “Don’t like to talk about it, huh?”

Kerry not only didn’t like being questioned about what happened to him during the Day of the Dead, he was growing to dislike the appearance of the person asking the questions even more. “Well, no duh. I was almost eaten that night; can’t imagine why I don’t want to talk about it.”

Hum.” Crossing her arms The Phoenix locked an icy stare on Kerry. “You don’t like the way I look, do you?”

He stared right back, figuring he had nothing to lose. “Finally catching on, are you?”

“Yeah.” The Phoenix’s chuckle was loud, almost a laugh. “At some point you’re gonna have to get used to looking at this in the mirror.”

He crossed his arms. “It hasn’t happened yet—and you’re not a mirror.” He glanced at Annie and shook his head. “You’re just doing this to screw with me.”

“Well, no duh.” This time The Phoenix did laugh. “Lighten up, kiddo. I’m like this all the time: I screw with everyone comes in here. I mean, what also I gonna do?” She nodded toward the pavilion and headed in that direction. “If you think I’m screwing with you, wait and see what some of my sisters would do.” She stopped and half turned back toward the kids. “A few of them are not nearly as nice as me.”

Something The Phoenix said caught Annie’s attention immediately. “May I ask a question?”

The Phoenix shrugged. “I don’t see why not.”

Annie drew in a deep breath before asking. “Are you one of the Seven Sisters?”

 

That last expression is a rather famous term in our world, so it’s likely that it has an even more significant importance in The Foundation world.  And it won’t be long before we find out what that is…

10 thoughts on “Walking With Spirits: Messing With Humans

  1. Cassie………

    I’ve been reading the exerpts where it seems the main character is Penny. Now Penny is one of Annie’s and Kerry’s buddies, right ? While reading, I wondered why Penny, as a side character in the novel, was getting a back and side story. It didn’t occur to me that it is another novel that you’re writing simultaneously with The Foundation’s The Chronicles.

    I ‘d like some clarification, please.

    • You have to go all the way back to Scene 1 of “The Calling” and read what I said at the start of that manuscript. It’s a separate story that has nothing to do with Annie and Kerry.

      • Okay…. I got to read that.

        But she is the Penny of Salem ? I don’t remember Penny’s last name though. Anyway, it looks like it’s a different story.

        So this story is only for May ? and not beyond it ?

        I’ve been insanely busy these past few weeks,and I think I’ll post about this, with pictures.

          • Reading these exerpts had me totally confused. I was like, what’s going on, Cassie ? I mean, I thought having a Penny back and side story does not feel like it ‘s driving the Anie and Kerry story forward, unless, Penny being a mermaid will be used at some point.

            Well, it’s totally independent, as you pointed out. Cool.

          • Yeah, I pointed out at the start of the story that it was something I was writing separate. Also, the mermaid Penny is white and living in NW, and the Salem Penny is black and living near London. Hard to get that mixed up. 😉

          • Actually I never said she was black: I mention that both sides of her family are from Barbados, giving the assumption that she’s black, as the country is 92.4% Black. She also jokes that her family knows Rihanna’s family:

            “Penny lived outside Canterbury, England. While her parents were born in the UK, both sides of her family were from Barbados, and on the train ride out to the stadium she joked that her father’s family knew Rihanna’s family. She was slightly distressed because over the summer she’d experienced a growth spurt, and she’d went from one hundred fifty-seven to one hundred sixty-seven centimeters, and she was worried this was going to affect her performance on the track. Annie, who stood one hundred fifty-five centimeters—the same as Kerry—wondered if she would ever be that tall; given that both her parents were close to one hundred and eighty centimeters, it was highly possible.”

            It’s hard to believe I wrote that two years ago. And I see I should maybe declare for a fact Penny’s black, or I’ll be accused of doing a Hermione on her.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

