Home » Creativity » On Beyond the Curtain: The Other Face

On Beyond the Curtain: The Other Face

Looking at my stats I see that after creating this post I will be ten posts away from post 2,500.  Which likely means I need to put together a special post for my bi-millennial and change post.  The thing is, I don’t know if I have anything interesting to say at this point, as it’s all been said for the most part.  Maybe I’ll huff paint on camera, which would be a bit crazy and somewhat entertaining.

I also got a critique on my mermaid story from the eleven year old daughter of a Facebook friend who, after reading the last scene which does a seven year time jump, says she wants what happened to my little mermaid while under the sea.  Needless to say there wasn’t a lot of singing and dancing.  Though I hadn’t considered it, I’m going to do some flashback scene to get that part of the story out there.  And…  it also looks like I’ll be doing scenes on this into June.

There was also over seven hundred words written into the current novel, and believe it or not, Kerry verbally smacked the shit out of someone.  It was an interesting conversation, but in the end Kerry finally told someone off and then did a Bye Felicia on them.  Will that be the end of it?  Well…

While you consider that, let’s continue with Phee doing her best to give my kids their own unhealthy coping mechanisms?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry had been working hard to avoid The Phoenix’s gaze, but with this last statement is eyes locked with her as he threw back a nearly malevolent stare. “Why don’t you just leave me alone?”

The Phoenix squared off in front of Kerry, not looking away for a second. “You’re gonna be looking at this face in the mirror one day—”

“Yeah, no shit. You keep telling me so it’s hard to forget.”

“’Cause you need reminding that this is a part of your future, of your life. And you know it’s coming because you can feel it. All that unease and emotional vulnerability you’ve been feeling of late? You know your hormones are in flux, which means you know transition is coming sooner than later.” She stepped up closer to the half scared, half angry boy. “Did you ever mention to anyone your biggest fear of transitioning over the summer?”

 

It’s no big secret that The Phoenix started out this little adventure by attempting to trigger the hell out of Kerry by putting a future event on display for him to relish, and seeming to twist that “Hey, this is gonna be you one day” knife a little harder at every chance.  She knows he’s going through a bit of hormonal stress at the moment and seems to feel that The Big Change is sooner than later.

And what of this biggest fear?  Well–

 

Kerry’s frown deepened as he turned and stared off over the astral image of Selena’s Meadow. Nearly five seconds past by before he answered with a single word. “No.”

“I thought so.” The Phoenix took a single step toward him. “Because I hadn’t seen anything that tells me you are discussing this matter with anyone.”

He continued staring out across the meadow. “I didn’t want to talk about it.” There was no anger in his voice: his tone was soft and unemotional. “It’s something I have to deal with alone.”

Though she took another step closer to Kerry, The Phoenix seemed as if she was cognizant of not getting too close. “Are you sure?”

He was about to answer when Annie stepped up from behind him and wrapped her left arm around his shoulders as she took his right hand. “Are you sure?”

Kerry gazed at the floor as he shook his head. “I don’t know, Annie. I don’t know that you can do anything for me.”

“There’s only one way to know that for certain.” Annie stepped around and faced him, taking each of his hands in hers. “That’s for you to tell me. Or tell Deanna, or tell Coraline, or Jessica, or, Erywin. But we can’t ever begin to help you, none of us can, as you tell us what’s troubling you.” She kissed him gently on the cheek. “The Phoenix is right about one thing, my love: we’re wife and husband. And I hate to see my husband suffers.”

Kerry bowed his head for a few moments, his eyes closed as he mustered his thoughts. “You sure you’re not gonna think this is kind of stupid when I tell you?”

He has to be especially afraid of something to ask such a question. “I’m here to support you, my love, not make fun of you.”

 

Annie has been by Kerry’s side ever since his second Gift was unveiled and she’s still there.  And what does she have to support this time?

You can probably figure it out, but I’ll post just in case you can’t…

4 thoughts on “On Beyond the Curtain: The Other Face

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

