Home » Creativity » On Beyond the Curtain: After All That

On Beyond the Curtain: After All That

It was such a long… weekend.  Seriously.  It seemed to take forever to get in everything, and last night it felt like I was constantly going from six in the morning until ten last night.  But that’s all done and it’s Monday–

Which means I’m right back at work.

Seriously, I need one of those retreats where I just sit and write and relax.  Maybe next year?  At least find something on the ocean where I can set the laptop and listen to the waves crash while I figure out how to torture my kids.

But I’m not torturing them anymore–at least not in this chapter.  Seems Phee has a few words to say on that subject–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

The Phoenix stood silently for a moment then slowly clapped her hands. “Bravo. I’m impressed.”

Annie’s face twisted around into a half smirk, half smile. “By?”

“When one says some of the things I’ve said to you to other kids your age, the common response is to deny everything I’ve said, because who wants to admit, at least at your age, that they’re not nearly as perfect as they’d like to believe? But not you guys.” The Phoenix gave a soft smile as she shook her head. “You both might’ve been pissed off and upset by what I said, but you never once denied my words. That’s a sign of maturity, being able to know when you have flaws and that you can work towards correcting them.”

 

Going all the way to the early days in Russel Square, what has been the ongoing mantra?  “It feels like we’re being tested.”  And when you get to school, who’s the biggest tester around?  I mean, getting into the school requires having to get your shit messed with by this old spirit, and who knows what else she does when she’s bored?

Really, though:  the whole conversation has been all about the button pushing.  And those they didn’t like it, Annie and Kerry never felt back on the, “That’s not true!” line.  Got a problem?  Sure do.  And I know it, so let me work on it.  And she likes to hear that.

This means she has but a few last things to say…

 

She stepped closer to the couple before turning to Annie. “I know how you feel about your parents, and it’s safe to say that one day you and your father will resolve your differences. It’s not going to happen overnight, but…” She playfully tossed her head to one side. “Eventually it will happen.

“As for you—” She turned towards Kerry. “I’d like to tell you everything is going to work out to your satisfaction, kiddo, but I can’t. It’s likely to get worse before it gets better—but just like with your significant other, in time you’ll work everything out.” The Phoenix patted Kerry on the shoulder. “Just remember: when you look like me, don’t forget the people you can turn to for help.”

He gave Annie’s hand a squeeze. “I won’t.”

“And with that—” The Phoenix half turned to her left and looked out upon Selena’s Meadow. “My business here is finished, Seer.”

Deanna took two more steps before stopping just short of the entrance to the ghostly pavilion. “As soon as I was brought here that became my immediate assumption.”

The Phoenix nodded. “They’re all yours, Deanna. Take care of them: you’ve got a couple of good students here.” A moment later the spirit winked out of sight with nary a sound.

Deanna joined her students in the pavilion. “Are you okay?”

Annie nodded slowly. “I’m fine.”

Kerry mimicked her actions. “As am I.”

“I’m glad.” Deanna sat on one of the long, translucent benches. “Now, if you wouldn’t mind, would you care to tell me what actually happened?”

Both kids looked at each other and started laughing, leaving Annie to respond. “Not at all, Deanna. It’s good to talk of these things…”

 

It’s not many kids at Salem who can say they’ve had a talk with the School Protector and walked away with only hurt feelings.  Before you know it they’ll be hanging out and telling tall tales.  Or not.  More likely the later.

Anyway, start of a new chapter tomorrow and all sorts of fun is about to go down…

2 thoughts on “On Beyond the Curtain: After All That

  1. All’s well that ends well. I guess the Phoenix just wants Annie and Kerry to tell the truth, and what exactly are on their minds. I hope Kery realizes now there is no problem. He should care more for Annie’s feelings , rather than his mother’s who never cared for him, anyway.

    • He does care for her, but when you have psychological issues that have been put in place by years of abuse, it’s hard to get those out of you head and leave them behind easily. Trust me, I have some experience in this area.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

