Home » Creativity » Getting Through the Day…

Getting Through the Day…

After all the fun that was my big post yesterday–and the two post I also did to catch up on my mermaid story–I neglected to point out that I’ve gotten through the first scene of Chapter 13 and I’m into the next–

Because of course I am.

After this it’s Samhain and meetings with parents and dancing and all that fun stuff.  But before we get there we have some other biz to follow up–and it involves Kerry.  Actually, it involves Kerry having a hard time coping during Wednesday breakfast.  Good thing he has a patient wife…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

It was the Wednesday before the Samhain Races and Dance, and Annie was worried about Kerry. Not worried in the sense that she thought he wouldn’t be able to make the races on a he be unable to attend the dance, but worried in the sense that he wasn’t quite himself this morning.

Ever since greeting him as he left his room this morning, she found it impossible not to notice that he was moody, with his range of emotions seeming to hover somewhere between sullen and disgruntled. Except for those moments, however, when he not only seem to be back to his old self, in appeared to be somewhat over-exuberant. And just as soon as he would act that way, he returned to Sullen Kerry and stayed that way from the coven tower to the Dining Hall.

Though she hadn’t said anything at the time, Annie had noticed him starting to act this way while they were having breakfast last Saturday. She expected that some of his behavior was due to it being the second Saturday of the new race season and their coven would compete against Åsgårdsreia for the first time, but as the morning progressed Annie felt there was something else affecting his mood—something that had nothing to do with racing.

Seeing him the same way this morning, and knowing they weren’t facing anything out of the ordinary for the entire day, only one thing could account for his current mood—

She wiped her mouth after swallowing a spoonful of berries and yoghurt, then use the napkin to cover her mouth as she leaned slightly toward Kerry. “I think you need to see Coraline.”

His head whipped around quickly before he could take a bite of the corned beef hash he was quickly consuming. “WHY?” Once he realized he’d nearly shouted out the question, he set down his fork and spent a moment composing himself, so that when he spoke the next time his tone was calm and much softer. “Why?”

“I think your initial reaction should sufficiently answer that question.” She placed her right hand atop his. “My love, you’re not yourself. You been overly emotional since we left coven—” Annie leaned in close. “We both know why.”

 

Oh, boy, do we know why!  I like to joke that I enjoyed puberty so much I went through it twice–and if you think about it, once you start on a hormonal regiment for transitioning, that’s exactly what happens–so I know a little of what Kerry’s going through.  I had days where I would grow so angry I was ready to punch holes in walls and then run off to cry for a while because I felt I was totally worthless–and that all happened within the span of five minutes.

So Kerry is getting hit with the double puberty whammy here and he’s not dealing with it well.  And he’s well aware of what’s happening once it’s pointed out…

 

Kerry drew in a breath as he rolled his eyes. “I wish to hell this would just end.” He gave Annie’s hand a squeeze as he took a sip of his juice. “I know that’s what’s causing me to act this way, but I’ve got a learn to deal with this. I mean, could be stuck like this for another three, four months, right?” He gave his head a quick shake. “I can’t go running the Coraline every time I start feeling moody.” He patted Annie’s hand. “I mean, you learned how to handle this on your own.”

Annie snorted. “Not always on by own. When I entered puberty Mama came to me more than a few times with something to help with the mood swings and the—” She glanced down toward her stomach. “Cramping.

“Which means I didn’t learn how to adjust to these things on my own: I had help from my mother. And since your own mother isn’t here—not that I think she would help you if she were—there are others here to take her place. And Coraline is one of those people.” Annie looked into Kerry’s eyes with a playful yet stern look. “Which is why I think you should go see her.”

 

Could you imagine if this were happening at Casa Malibey over Yule, when Louise and Kerry are at home alone?

(Louise)  “Kerry?  Kerry?”
(Kerry?)  “WHAT?  What, MOM?”
(Louse)  “There’s no need for you act that way, young man!”
(Kerry)  *Begins crying*  “I’m sorry!  I didn’t mean it!  Why are you yelling at me!?”

 

So much fun.  And it’s not like Kerry could say, “Mom, I have girl hormones driving me crazy!” because Louise would probably think this was the result of some witch bullshit on the part of her son and withdraw even more.  Poor kid just can’t win.

After having it pointed out that Kerry’s on the verge of losing it, this means he’s gonna go see Coraline–right?  Right?

Right?

2 thoughts on “Getting Through the Day…

  1. Cassie, does this mean he’s about to transition ? I mean, it’s female period we’re talking about here, right ? So, that means his maleprivates will turn into female privates….. .. Oh,man.

    By the way, if he transitions into full-pledge female, is it possible that he will begin liking boys now ?

    • Liking boys? Like I did? 😉 It doesn’t work that way, though there is always a possibility that his sexual preference *could* change. It’s unlikely, however.

      Actually, he’s been going through these hormonal shifts for a couple of months. It’s likely they’re varying in intensity.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

